We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop Searching, Go here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Firostefani
Certificate of Excellence
NewBrunswick Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stop Searching, Go here”
Reviewed 28 September 2008

We just returned from a 12 day vacation in Greece, during which we spent 7 nights on Santorini Island, 3 nights on Paros, and 2 nights on Mykonos. In booking our accomodations, we relied heavily on Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed.
While in Santorini we stayed at the Villa Ilias and it was easily the highlight of our trip! George, Pauline, and Lise went out of their way to make us feel welcome, from the moment we arrived until the day we (sadly) had to leave.
If you are searching for great value, clean rooms with fantastic views, and warm hospitality, the Villa Ilias has it all. It is located in Firostefani about a 10-15 min. walk to Fira. The rooms are exceptionally clean with great views. You can enjoy the wonderful views from your balcony or from the pool area with your cocktails. If you reserve the Exclusive room, you can see almost the entire island from your balcony and the large rooftop area, as well as the sunset right on your balcony.
The hotel offers dinner to guests (you need to sign up in the lobby). We took advantage of this 6 of our 7 nights. The food is traditional Greek cooking and is absolutely fantastic! The Greek salad is to die for and the Moussaka was the best we have ever tasted.
The hotel has a breakfast which includes lots of choices. We especially enjoyed the Greek yogurt and spinach pie. There is also toast, cereal, fruit, eggs, sliced meat, cheese, and baked goods. The coffee is very good at the Villa Ilias too.
The hotel has a computer in the lobby with free internet access so you can check email, stay connected with those at home etc.
Each room has a little clothesline on the balcony which came in very handy for drying small items. There is a mini mart about a 2 minute walk away where you can get water, beer, snacks, film, etc.
In summary, the Villa Ilias met all our needs. Great location, fantastic views, very clean rooms, and above all, warm and friendly hospitality. We will definitely be returning to the Villa Ilias. (already saving my money for next year)!

  • Liked — location, views, hospitality, cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryandRosalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    177
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
130
480
34
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2008

We have just returned from a four day visit to Santorini, and had chosen to return to this hotel where we had stayed many years ago. We were not disappointed!

This hotel has a lot of value for the stay with the included breakfast, and dinner options, and access to the internet, and the internet phone, which made our getaway all that much better. The hotel is very clean, and safe, with beautiful views. We opted for the superior rooms, to enjoy the privacy of our own balcony with a view.

The hospitality is out of this world as Pauline, George, and Elise went way out of their way to ensure that our stay was absoutely the best. Plenty of suggestions of what to do in the case of inclement weather, flexibility, and efficiency in making travel arrangements, and car rental easier. They are genuinely good people who love to make everyone feel at home as they enjoy visiting this highly romantic island.

We were very active during our stay, preferring to hike to Oia for the famed sunset stroll ( 3 hours along the caldera side...spectacular!), climbing to Ancient Thera from Perissa, and from Ancient Thera to the monastery, as well as scuba diving in the volcanic caves.....incredible...thanks Vasilis and Jurgen!

There is a fantastic restaurant in the local area called the Vanila restaurant...where we ate twice....it was that good! Mussels Saganaki there are the best on the island, and the view is nothing short of amazing, whether inside or out.

We highly recommend this hotel, and are planning to return again at some point for a third honeymoon!

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank familydiversCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vlissingen
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2008

We've experienced excelent service during our stay in the accomodation.
Not only room, breakfast, view, pool and location were top-class, but the welcoming, helpfull, relaxed and almost sweet attitude from everyone of the entire staff towards us made us feel great.

We'll have great Santorini memories forever.....

  • Liked — The staff, they make you feel welcome, they b\are just relaxed and friendly
  • Disliked — No negative aspects on our behalf
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Osito1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2008

Great location on the top of the cliff in Firostefani which is about 10 minutes walk from the main town of Fira and is alot quieter and more picturesqe in my opinion. Just what we wanted. Hotel has amazing views and a great deck and pool for chilling out. Worth getting the superior room rather than the standard if you can afford it as you get alot more privacy (4 of the standards are by the pool), your own balcolny and amazing views from your room.

  • Liked — Views and the pool
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank taylortravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2008

Being our first time in Santorini, we were not sure where to stay and based on the fact that we wanted to explore the island, we decided to be near Fira as it was the most convenient spot. There are hundreds of hotels to choose from so you always are a bit doubtful where you choose. We decided on Villa Illias and were beyond pleased with our choice.
1) The location is perfect. Out of Fira but an easy 15 minute walk to get to it. We rented a motor scooter to go around and got to see all of the island
2) The Hotel is not fancy but is very clean and very well run. The breakfast is a great value with a bit of something for everyone. Our room had a nice balcony overlooking Firostefani which was nice for a quick lunch as well as dinner. (there is a small refrigerator and some kitchen basics in each room). The bathrooms are small but not inconvenient. The rooms were very clean. There is a TV and DVD. There are no channels but there is a stock of DVDs in the reception area that you can borrow (as well as books) if you get back early.
3)The people who work there are very efficient, attentive and helfpul. We asked them for a bunch of recommendations and they were always more than willing to help. We stayed at 5 star places for other parts of our trip and Villa illias's team trumps them in terms of hospitality. They even rescued my jacket for me when I left it in a cab and mailed it to me.
3) You may think you do not need a place with a pool but in the case you get back early or feel like chilling out before you go somewhere, a pool is a necessity (no beach in Fira). Villa Illias's pool has an amazing, amazing sunset and caldera view (something you would expect to pay a huge premium on). Every night we had a bottle of champagne while viewing it. It beats going to Oia which is full of people. Note: The pool area is small but again, great for just chilling out for a bit.

In conclusion, this is a great and incredible value for what you pay--especially with such a wonderful sunset. Definitely visit Villa Illias in your travels to Santorini.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dmana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2008

We recently stayed with Villa Ilias in their Superior room for 3 nights and loved it. The staff was knowleable, kind and patient. The location was great as there was an amazing view from our own balcony and it was a short walk away from Fira, not making it noisy. If we have the chance to return to Santorini, we will definitely stay again. Suggestion: we didn't realize the island was quite small at the time we planned our trip and reserved another hotel in Oia for the rest of our stay. We now know that we should have stayed here the whole time and just planned day trips throughout the island.

  • Liked — Location, staff, price and view
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sbcutie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2008

We were recommended Villa Illas through a friend and we were not disappointed.

The locaton is stunning and Firo Stefani is like a hamlet from a by gone era. I felt like I had stepped back in time. The walk into Firo is 15 minutes and the view onto the Caldera is amazing.

The hotel itself is run by a young couple, local man and his French partner which gives the place a really international feel. They are friendly at the same time as respecting your privacy. The breakfast was included and was an informal buffet which you could eat outside on the terrace.

All in all we had a really relaxing and peaceful holiday and I would really recommend Hotel Villas for the location. Perfect for a 1 week "getaway".

  • Liked — The location & views
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank OrangeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Firostefani
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
0.5 mi away
Evgenia Villas & Suites
0.7 mi away
Villa Renos
Villa Renos
#4 of 80 in Fira
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
0.4 mi away
Anteliz Suites Santorini
4.7 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#5 of 75 in Kamari
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel

Property: Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Address: Firostefani 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Firostefani
#3 Romantic Hotel in Firostefani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Damigos family has been a part of Santorini history for over a century. Villa Ilias is the former residence of one of our ancestors, George Ilias Damigos. It is built on this specific location to capture breathtaking views that are unique only to Villa Ilias and perched 1,000 feet above the Aegean Sea and the most famous volcano in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Ilias Hotel Firostefani
Ilias Hotel Firostefani
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing