We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, wonderful staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Firostefani
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect location, wonderful staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Villa Ilias made for a wonderful stay on Santorini. The location is perfect, direct access to the main road, and right on the foot path to Fira and Oia (no steps!). It is located in Firostefani, a small town with a little grocery and a handful of good restaurants. Fira, a big tourist town with many shops and restaurants, is an easy 10 minute walk. Villa Ilias is right where you want to be, but away from the crowds. Oia is a beautiful 3 hour hike to the north, or an easy bus ride. The bus station is just a few blocks from the hotel.

The staff really made our stay enjoyable. They were so welcoming and helpful. They helped us plan our itinerary, gave us a copy of all the bus schedules, rented a car for us (40 euro, with baby seats, much cheaper than a tourist company), and even ordered us gyro delivery to our room one night when the kids went down early. We were two adults, a 2 year old, and a baby. We had booked a triple, but they upgraded us to two doubles, one with a balcony, and provided a baby bed. The view from our balcony was amazing!! Breakfast was really good, homemade breakfast pies and breads, yogurt, fruit, sliced meat and cheese, cereal, boiled eggs. The rooms were very clean. The shower was small and poorly designed, and got water all over the bathroom floor, but overall the rooms were comfortable. They all had a nice wardrobe, safe, refrigerator, and a few dishes and wine glasses that we used while enjoying the views from our balcony and by the pool.

Santorini was beautiful! We spent a little time in Fira, and hiked to Oia, and took the bus to Oia a different day to see the sunset. We rented a car one day to go to the south part of the island to see the ruins, visit the red and black beaches, and stop by a winery. We were there at the end of April, which is a great time to go if you want to avoid the heat and crowds (but Fira did get a little crazy on the mornings when a cruise ship was docked). It was warm, though not warm enough to swim. It was windy, and I hear it is windy all year round, so take a jacket for evenings.

Room Tip: Be sure you have a balcony! The side caldera view was beautiful, and a little less windy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachgirl636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    568
    167
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
116
449
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed in a Cave Studio with amazing view. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Mary made sure we got picked up from the port and arranged our drop to the airport. Not too much breakfast option but was good enough. We had a great view of the sunset from our room. We enjoyed our stay so much. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Armie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Absolutely LOVED our cave apartment that we stayed in for 3 nights at the end of April. I traveled with my best friend (both of us females, late 20s) and we rented one of the traditional cave apartments. It had 4 beds in it (1 double bed and 3 twin beds). Obviously we didn't need that much room but having the private terrace and amazing views is why we booked it. Our flight from Athens to Santorini was canceled and by the time I called the hotel to inform them that we wouldn't need the transfer from the airport, Georgios answered the phone and as soon as I said "I'm calling because my flight got canceled in Athens and..." and Georgios replied "Is this Jessica?" he knew immediately who I was and said it would be no problem to arrange another transfer in the morning. (This is something that would NEVER happen in the USA, such kindness and attention to detail!)

When we arrived, the driver was waiting for us with my name on a sign. He drove us the hotel (about 10 min drive from airport, if that) and we were met by Georgios in the lobby. It was about 8:00am and they had just put out breakfast so he suggested we have a seat and enjoy breakfast before checking in. Food was great! Homecooked quiche, breakfast meats and cheese, chocolate cake, hard boiled eggs, and the most delicious peach juice I've ever had! After that, Georgios walked us down the apartment. It was about a 2 min walk from the main hotel, down some stairs. The room was PERFECT! Had a very good size kitchen, bathroom, and amazing views of the caldera from every room! Pictures attached.

Georgios also arranged a transfer to our ferry boat which cost 10 Euro each. Such a good deal considering how long it takes to get to the ferry dock.

The hotel is perfect if you want to stay out of the craziness of Fira but close enough to walk into town when you want. It was about a 7-10 min walk into Fira...but that was with crazy winds blowing. You could probably do it faster during the summer months when the weather is better. The walk is a lot of cobblestone and stairs and hills, so I wouldn't recommend the walk for anyone who has health issues. But I'm sure Georgios could arrange drivers for you if you'd like!

All in all, I would DEFINITELY stay at Villa Ilias again and am already missing our amazing view from our cave apartment. Thank you Georgios and family!

Room Tip: Stay in the cave apartment, you will NOT regret the views! AMAZING! Best sunset I've ever seen f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
473 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We are presently staying at the Cave House and the Cave Studio and are liking every moment.
Mary is great help to plan all our visits and any thing we need.
The place is well located and comfortable enough for our visit.
Breakfast is quite good and the view is spectacular.
Nice and clean in general.
I would say its an excellent return for what you are paying for.
Very happy to be here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xochitl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Very friendly n helpful owners were mostly themself at the reception very humble.. v chked in at 3 am in the morning the place amaizes me with the amount of trust n cleanliness standards in the whole island aswell ..excellent view from our room and the pool area .. room itself was small but cute(bathroom with toilet was too tiny you cant take a shower without wetting the whole bathroom ).. location was excellent jus out and you are in to fira stefani .. with the best of eating shopping options n amaizing view for sunrise sunset and moonrise too if u can.. breakfast is a very small /basic spread at the reception area itself .. overall v happy with the experience :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sheetal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed at Villa Ilias for three nights in April. We had a cave studio and it was delightful. The rest of our family was next door in a larger apartment with an adjacent patio. We watched the sunset every evening, sometimes wrapped in blankets since it was early in the season. We can't recommend this hotel enough, everything was perfect. The rooms are plain but the view and location are the best. George and his staff were wonderful, recommending places to go and things to see. Breakfast was delicious, all homemade and yummy. It is located on the main footpath to Fira and Imvoregli, and we walked everywhere. Would recommend renting a car for at least a day to see the whole island. We loved it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gugi9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

I stayed in a standard, pool level room at Villa Ilias. Although a bit windy & cool in early April, the view across the Aegean Sea is spectacular. The room, though small, was clean & very comfortable. In addition to a large clothes closet, the room features a mini-bar & small cupboard complete with dishes, a safe, coffee maker, TV, wifi & good selection of toiletries in the bathroom.

All the staff are friendly & helpful, especially Maria the receptionist, also the cleaning person & the woman in the breakfast room.

Villa Ilias offers complimentary ferry pick you & delivery.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gloriainmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Firostefani
0.0 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
0.6 mi away
Evgenia Villas & Suites
0.0 mi away
Ira Hotel & Spa
Ira Hotel & Spa
#7 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aressana Spa Hotel and Suites
3.8 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
0.0 mi away
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
#3 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel

Property: Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Address: Firostefani 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Firostefani
#3 Romantic Hotel in Firostefani
#3 Family Hotel in Firostefani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Damigos family has been a part of Santorini history for over a century. Villa Ilias is the former residence of one of our ancestors, George Ilias Damigos. It is built on this specific location to capture breathtaking views that are unique only to Villa Ilias and perched 1,000 feet above the Aegean Sea and the most famous volcano in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Ilias Hotel Firostefani
Ilias Hotel Firostefani
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing