We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Peaceful Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Firostefani
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Peaceful Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

Amazing villa, great view in a quiet area. The staff are extremely welcoming and helpful. They provide everyone with a santorini newsletter in the morning and have great honest advice about restaurants, beaches and day activities. Breakfast is a decent size buffet and has heaps of options even for the gluten intolerant like myself. Spent 6 days in santorini and 5 of those were by the pool at the villa, with restaurants within 50 meters none of which had the view to match that of the villas didn't see much reason to leave. Could not recommend this hotel more.

Room Tip: Any room most of your time will be spent by the pool anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bbarnaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    167
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
116
448
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Mary, George and all other staffs are very warm and helpful. We've reserved the exclusive room which has a perfert view faces to the Volcano, highly recommended! The hotel provided the information and activities on the island everyday, which are very helpful for us to spend the day.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed at Villa Ilias for 4 nights and boy what a view! We stayed in room number 1, which faced directly onto the caldera and was above pool level, so was also private and quiet. We also looked out over Firostefani, which was wonderful. Villa Ilias is a small and relaxed hotel. We wanted to make the most of our view so ate breakfast on our balcony everyday, which was not a problem and great! The breakfast was of continental style with plenty to chose from. The pool area is small and if I were to re-visit Santorini, I would maybe look at staying somewhere with a larger pool area. We were there in the height of season and it was so hot that you did not really do much during the hottest hour of the days. However, with only 5 sunbeds, the pool was always full and the actual pool could do with a lick of paint. Although I have to say it was very cool which was so refreshing to escape the heat for a few moments. I would recommend staying at this hotel for its location (its a 15 minute lovely walk to Thira) and Firostefani is beautiful and also for the view. I would certainly pay the extra to stay in a front facing caldera room and then make the most of your view and balcony by having breakfast and if you want dinner there. We ordered take away from Vanilia which was also great. The host George cannot be more helpful and it really feels like a family run establishment.

Room Tip: If you are willing to pay a little extra then go for room number 1 as this is the room with the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in August. The staff were fantastic! Our room was superb, I could not speak more highly if Villa Ilias.

We were only able to stay for one night due to ferry schedules. Our ferry was due to leave at about 1:00am the following morning, but the welcome we received was outstanding. Before I could even ask young lady on the desk told us that although we needed to check out we were welcome to use the facilities and the pool for the rest of the day until our transfer vehicle arrived to take us to the airport. She even told us we could have a shower after if we wanted.

Great great place!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WWQPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
143 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Booked in here for two nights and would have spent the whole holiday here. Breakfast was lovely, so much variety every morning. A great location, just along the pedestrian path and within walking distance of everything. The pool and view were breathtaking, every morning I came outside thinking I was in a holiday brochure. Well worth the booking. The staff were excellent too, so helpful and informative!

Room Tip: Stay by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly_Mackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

In short: great, friendly and helpful staff, from the people at the reception to the cleaning ladies, fabulous location and view from the hotel! I'm already planning my next trip back to Santorini and definitely staying at Villa Ilias!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatalieAnitaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Amazing views from this great location. We really enjoyed relaxing by the pool. 15min walk to Fira. The staff were all excellent and gave useful recommendations. They booked transfers, boat tour and hire car for us very efficiently. The bathroom is small and awkward but the room was otherwise very adequate.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Firostefani
0.0 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
0.0 mi away
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
#5 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ira Hotel & Spa
Ira Hotel & Spa
#7 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Afroessa Hotel
Afroessa Hotel
#8 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.6 mi away
Evgenia Villas & Suites
0.2 mi away
Manos Small World
Manos Small World
#3 of 21 in Firostefani
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel

Property: Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Address: Firostefani 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Firostefani
#3 Romantic Hotel in Firostefani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Damigos family has been a part of Santorini history for over a century. Villa Ilias is the former residence of one of our ancestors, George Ilias Damigos. It is built on this specific location to capture breathtaking views that are unique only to Villa Ilias and perched 1,000 feet above the Aegean Sea and the most famous volcano in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Ilias Hotel Firostefani
Ilias Hotel Firostefani
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing