We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Mylos(Firostefani)(Great Value!)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Agnadema Apartments(Firostefani)(Great Value!)
US$264
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cliff Side Suites(Firostefani)
US$262
US$243
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mill Houses Elegant Suites(Firostefani)(Great Value!)
US$267
US$226
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Homeric Poems(Firostefani)
US$354
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Infinity Suites - Dana Villas & Suites(Firostefani)(Great Value!)
US$158
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$352
US$341
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments(Firostefani)(Great Value!)
US$303
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manos Small World(Firostefani)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Smaro Studios(Firostefani)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (871)
Filter reviews
871 results
Traveller rating
659
181
18
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
659
181
18
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquicheminute walkpool areadaily newslettereach morningthe busgreat hostsperfect locationour honeymoonwalking pathamazing viewsprivate balconypool levelmain townbreakfast was deliciousstandard roomvisiting santorini
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
718 - 723 of 871 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
211
Reviewed 10 July 2006

Villa Ilias was so wonderful that I've decided to submit my review both in Spanish and English.

Breathtaking falls short as an adjective to describe the view from Villa Ilias! It is the most beautiful and amazing view I've ever seen!

The hotel is well located, 10-minute walk away from busy Fira, in a quiet spot in Firostefani. The rooms are small, but very clean and well organized. The bathrooms are small for American standards, but functional. Everything is well kept and clean!

George Damigos manages the hotel with the help of his sister Alexia. Both are personable, well educated and always ready to make our stay comfortable and informed. They are a definitie plus to Villa Ilias. The staff is also nice and wonderful. We felt very safe at Villa Ilias, and we were never worried about our belongings.

Breakfast, simple but delicious, is served every morning at the pool terrace right in front of the caldera! In this way, the day begins with nourishing for the body and the soul!

In sum, we highly recommend Villa Ilias in gorgeous Santorini

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2006

We stayed at Villa Illias in Firostefani, Santorini for four nights from June 1st checking out the 5th 2006. We arrived by cruise ship and made our way from the port by mini bus for a total of ten Euros for my wife and I. We booked initially had booked three night directly through fax and were made very aware of any cancellation penalties, and enjoyed our stay so much that we asked and received the okay to stay an extra night.

We were in room 2 on the second floor of the hotel. It was 110.00 Euro per night and was one of the more expensive rooms in the hotel. Our room was well equipped, with a nice little balcony over looking the island towards the south and Fire. There was a table and two chairs as well as a folding rack for drying those hand washed unmentionables. As a previous report mentioned there was a nice sized refrigerator, and the room came with plates, cutlery, and a coffee pot as well as air-conditioning and a TV (which was just hooked up to antenna so received only a few Greek channels)

There were two twin beds and a large hanging closet for your bags and cloths. The bathroom was clean and serviceable, and had one of those funky half tub shower fixtures popular in Greek Hotels. Our bathroom door had a habit of not staying closed. The room was very clean and was completely free of any odors.

The west-facing window opened to let a stiff breeze into the room and offered a sunset view even into June. There is a warning to not leave the window open in a stiff breeze or risk breaking it and believe me, it was windy and there was a bit of a trick to opening and closing the right combination of windows and balcony to have a breeze rather than a storm flowing through our room. We never used the air conditioner.

We saw some of the other rooms and the less expensive ones were much smaller.

There definitely was a lot of wind while we visited, but it was breezy at most of the hotels near the top of the caldera. Hotels further down seemed to have less wind.

The pool area was small as was the pool, which was kinda cold, even my Canadian standard. We were about the only ones to brave the water; even kids found it too cold. Even though the area was small, we always found a sun bed if we wanted it. This was also the breakfast zone, Every morning a simple serve yourself buffet was set up which was okay but basically was the same choice everyday. One type of sliced cheese, one sliced meat, a choice of a few pastries, rolls, coffee, tea, and fresh orange juice (which could have used a stirring)

There is dial-up Internet available in the lobby using the hotel’s computer.

Location is what really makes the Hotel Illias what it is. Firostefani is a quieter, less touristy than Fira, the islands main town. It’s not hard to get from the cab to the hotel because it’s at the top of the Caldera, and it’s in a quiet area only a short stroll to some wonderful restaurants in Firostefani. There are several small grocery stores to stock up on pop, beer or whatever and in general prices in this part of the Island were far better than in Fira.

That said, the main town of Fira was maybe a ten-minute walk along the footpath that follows the caldera rim free of car traffic and probably the most picturesqest walkway on the planet. There are literally Kodak moments at every turn.

There is a bus that stops near the hotel and for 1.10 Euros and twenty minutes takes you to Oia and one of the most picturesque places on earth.

We’d stay again at George and Maria fine little hotel.

7  Thank Blye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
San San Diego
18
Reviewed 25 June 2006

We ended our vacation on Santorini, an amazing Island with beautiful views on every corner. Hotel Ilias was not so nice. We stayed on the pool level studio #8. From the outside the hotel is quaint. Views that are amazing. Once you go into the room a different story. Our room could not have been more than 9' * 9'. Two twin beds a 13 year old might fit in were squeezed together. The mattress was so uncomfortable I folded the comforter up to lie on it so I did not feel the springs. The bed and the room were truly mood killers. When sitting on the toilette in the tiny bathroom you rest your hands on the bathroom sink and not by choice. If you have a belly you probably could not use it. We would not stay here again.

Stay away from the Taxi's if possible. They will charge you full fare and will also pick up other travelers and charge them also full fare. Busses are quite good and frequent.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2006

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Dunedin, Florida
312
Reviewed 15 June 2006

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews