We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing gem of a hotel - recommended!”
Review of Ira Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ira Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Firostefani
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Stayed here in October for a week with my boyfriend - what a special place! And the view - just incredible. we got upgraded to a caldera room with a patio overlooking the pool- our room was called aphrodite and well furnished with bottle of wine upon arrival (great for a daily sundowner sitting back and soaking up the amazing view) and mini bar. The pool area is great - so peaceful and more often than not we had it to ourselves. Service was great - we got complimentary airport transfers and manos & his team were really helpful and gave lots of insight into he island. We also got a free caldera trip and visit to the hot springs in with the price of the hotel which was an added bonus.
We enjoyed breakfast each day; it did vary slightly day by day and a couple of days we ate
On our patio which was lovly.
The hotel is located in firostefani which we loved as a 20 minute walk to the cpital Fira but only a short walk to nice restaurants if we didn't want to venture too far- definitely one to recommend is vanilla - a gorgeous garden restaurant which is literally 2 minutes walk away and the beautifully designed cafe galini.
We took a cliff top walk to Oia one day which was quite strenuous but worth it for the breathtaking views and famous sunsets. The best restaurant we ate in was also located in Oia - kandouni - so romantic with candles, hanging flowers and antique furnishings and the food was amazing too. All in all santorini is such a beautiful island and well worth a visit. All in all a perfect holiday...,

Room Tip: Get a room with a caldera view - you will never get tired of the view, it is just incredible!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simmone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
There are newer reviews for Ira Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

223 - 229 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2012

This place was the best. The rooms are beautiful, the caldera view is unbelievable and the staff is the greatest. We had such a wonderful time here. The location is in a quiet area away from where all the cruise ships arrive but it is only a 10 minutes walk to the center of town. My wife and I are already planning a trip back here. I cannot talk enough about the staff. They are very helpful and go out of there way to make you feel at home. This hotel is a must stay!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a Caldera view, it is worth the extra money.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjc2279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

This hotel was everything we wanted! it is perfect place to stay and rest with perfect view of the balcony, beautiful room and amazing stuff, very close to the city!! everyone was very nice, polite and helpful. It was an unforgettable stay and if we ever come again to Santorini, we will definitelly stay here again, no doubt!!:-) Thank you for the perfect honeymoon!!:-)

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jelena J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

What a wonderful Hotel! Great location, spotless clean, beautiful large room, (2 rooms) in our Hotelroom.Good breakfast, absolutley amazing view from the poolterasse over the "Caldera"!! So relaxing and beautiful we just couldent get enough of it!! Lovely terasse as well with little tabels on top of the Hotel where we couldenjoy a bottle of wine and watch the breathtaking sunset.. Got the free bottle of wine as well on arrival in our room,very nice! Loveliest friendliest staff you could ever imagine! Picked us up at the airport and drove us down to the port on our leaving day. They care for you to have the best time at their hotel and the breakfast ladies to!
Wonderful place and I would higly recommend it to anyone that want a realxing beautiful place to stay.Thank you for a wonderful stay and we wish so much we can come back next year!!

Niclas and Erica from Sweden

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

What a fantastic surprise, we had high expectations due to trip advisor ratings but even these were surpassed. The location is perfect for walking into the main town and the hotel itself is perched on the edge of the caldera with magnificent views across the sea and for the sunsets.
The room we had called IVI was superb being very spacious, quiet and with a lovely bronze tiled shower area. The staff were supremely friendly and helpful and the breakfast was slightly different each day being made fresh.
All in all for the money this must be the best value / quality hotel on Santorini and the Firostafani area is a great location with its own selection of bars and restaurants without the madness of the main Fira town.

Room Tip: All rooms look superb, we had the standard room and still had a sea view. Email the hotel directly a...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oxonpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

This was our second time staying at the Ira. Three years ago we were here for a week, but this time we chose to end a beach holiday in Kamari (on the South of the Island) with one night to watch the sun setting. If you can imagine sitting on a beautiful balcony set on a cliff face, drinking chilled rose wine as the sun sets... then this is the place for you. This time, we also had one of the local cats join us as we all waited for the sun to go down.

The Ira is located in Firostefani, a short walk from the capital Fira. The hotel has a modern feel to it, exquisitely decorated, with a high quality service. The owners really get to know you, and because we were returning to see them again, we were treated with genuine warmth and the familiarity of old friends. We will be returning again. This hotel is perfect.

Room Tip: It is certainly worth paying the little bit more for the view of the caldera and your own private sp...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingTardis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Stayed at Hotel Ira for 4 nights, after a 5 night stay in Perissa and it surpassed all expectations. Our room was Ivi, which is an upper floor courtyard room, ideal if you don't want to pay quite as much as the front caldera view rooms. Ivi has a private balcony and partial sea view and was a lovely room to stay in. The rooms are nicely decorated, beautiful mosaic shower which was very spacious and a small mini bar / fridge which you can store drinks in. Rooms also have air con which is nice in the summer heat!

Breakfast is lovely, lots of choice and a different hot item every day and you can sit out in the courtyard to eat in the morning sunshine. The piece de resistance of this hotel is the pool and the view of the caldera and volcano - it is STUNNING!!! The pool area has been well designed so you can sit on your sunlounger and look straight out over the volcano through the glass panels. Pool area was generally quiet, no issues getting sunbeds, and the hotel provides pool towels.

Hotel staff were so friendly nothing was too much trouble, booked a boat trip for us, and arranged a transfer back to the airport, and always available to offer advice. The only thing to note is that the hotel doesn't really have a bar as such, so for drinks in the day we stocked up our mini room fridge. This suited us perfectly as it was cheaper, but if you want to be waited on hand and foot for drinks/food, this may not be the place for you. Finally, location also perfect. Ira is the last hotel at the top of firastefani, has car parking which is a real plus, and is a short walk down to firastefani or fira for dinner.

Had an amazing time, didn't want to leave. Would definitely go back and would recommend Ira to anyone going to Fira. It is absolutely idyllic and is also not overly expensive or pretentious. A lovely friendly place with five star service and setting.

Room Tip: Caldera view rooms look amazing but we thought best value was the upper floor courtyard room - Ivi.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lou2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Firostefani
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
0.1 mi away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#1 of 21 in Firostefani
840 reviews
2.5 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
#5 of 21 in Firostefani
1,019 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anteliz Suites Santorini
0.2 mi away
Belvedere Santorini
Belvedere Santorini
#9 of 21 in Firostefani
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ira Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ira Hotel & Spa

Address: | Santorini, Firostefani 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Firostefani
#4 Luxury Hotel in Firostefani
#5 Romantic Hotel in Firostefani
#6 Family Hotel in Firostefani
Price Range: £96 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ira Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find yourself in between the clear skies and the eternal blue of the Aegean Sea! Relax and enjoy one of the world’s most amazing places! You are here: in Ira Hotel & Spa swimming pool area where caldera’s beauty meets summer’s loveliness ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ira Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ira Hotel Firostefani
Ira Hotel & Spa Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing