We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santorini Hotel Ira”
Review of Ira Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ira Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Firostefani
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Santorini Hotel Ira”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Beautiful island, lovely hotel. Almost a cliffside room, small balcony looking over the whole bay/crater, and down the sides of the island. Well appointed, all the basics you could want. Excellent breakfast, fresh and hot. Short walk to the town centre and many excellent restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    80
    17
    6
    6
See reviews for
26
354
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We spent four nights here and it was bliss. Hotel Ira is in a great location - in Firostefani, which is outside of the chaos of Fira (don't go to Fira when there are two or more cruise ships docked - the town is overrun by cruise ship passengers!), yet close enough to walk there.

We were upgraded on arrival to a junior suite, which was a nice surprise. Our room was on the top floor over looking the pool deck and caldera rim, with fantastic views of the island. It was a bit of an awkward set up, with the entrance and bathroom on the bottom floor, then up a sharp flight of stairs to the living area, with another 3 steps to the bed. Comfortable, and can't beat the view though!

Breakfast was great, with plenty of options to choose from, and of course you can head up to the terrace nearby for breakfast with a view. Maria at reception was fantastic, providing helpful suggestions of things to do (must do a catamaran tour round the island!) and and places to eat (Aktaion and Il Cantuccio - just off, and on, the square of Firostefani, respectively. Don't eat in Fira!).

But the best thing for us, was simple the pool deck with sun lounges and the pool with spa. We spent most of our days just relaxing, reading, going for a swim, looking out at view, watching the sunset; I never left a place feeling so relaxed!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a caldera rim view - waking up to that view in the morning is priceles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank empress_joanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2013

What a great place! We hadn't been initially sold by the pics of the rooms and were VERY pleasantly surprised by how beautiful IRA was. Our room was lovely with a lovely balcony and VERY cute and clean!
The location was PERFECT! Very close to Fira but not too close to feel like we were in the middle of (what we deemed) the unpleasant overly touristic area. But with plenty of restaurants nearby and just 10 mins from Fira and very close to Imerovigly.
The hotel was also very private and had AMAZING views of the caldera. I really don't think we could've picked a better location.
The only thing to mention is that there wasn't much of hospitality from hotel... No drinks served by the pool and the managers didn't seem to acknowledge us much. That was totally fine by us and didnd't bother us one bit. But in case you look to be pampered by hotel staff, this will not be the case here..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sylviagoulart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We spend five days at Ira hotel. It is an amazing hotel, with very friendly and helpful staff. The place is very beautiful with attention to detail and exceptional views. It is super clean, the breakfast is good and they always add something new to the buffet everyday so if you are there for long you will not get bored of it. The location is great because you can just walk to fira but still have a calm place. Our room was spacious with nice decoration and a big bathroom. Just the hotel you need for a wonderful place like Santorini!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DimitraF F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beirut
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We spent a week in the hotel, the staff were very friendly and the place is clean and cozy. Perfect for honeymooners, in a calm part of santorini just 5 minutes away from busy area of fira yet very calm and romantic. And doesn't have too many stairs.

Room Tip: choose the room with the private balcony and have your own private view of the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jad m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My GF and I travelled to Santorini for a week (27th July - 3rd Aug), after much deliberation we booked Hotel IRA due to the good ratings. We were not disappointed. We stayed in the Zeus room - junior suite i think and it was excellent with wonderful views of the Canderra. The breakfast served was plentyful with a good range of cereals, pastries and fruit. Fresh OJ and coffee everyday as well, which was great.

the Staff are very attentive and we had no issues with securing a lounger every day. Perhaps we had a lucky week and not many of the guests were too worried about the pool.

The hotels best attribute (IMO) is the location. Firostefani is a beautiful town with many restaruants (we recommend Garini room top bar for sunset drinks and Saltsa for local Greek food with a twist.), based there you are only a 15-20 minute stroll in to the capital Fira, which is fantastic in its own right but a lot busier/touristy. the Walk from firostefani to Fira is beautiful with breathtaking views. North of the hotel (2.5 hr walking or 15 mins in a coach/taxi) os Oia. We walked it, which was fun but hot. recommend leaving 9am or b4 otherwise the heat can be unbearable (depending on time of year of course). Oia again is beautiful but pretty hectic, best place for sunset if you don't mind crowds. Personally we preferred Firostefani for the sunset as not as [--] but still fantastic views.

only slight grips was a very week WIFI connection, intimitant in the room, better by the pool. not a major problem though.

all in all we had a wonderful holiday and we are looking forward to visiting Santorini and possibly hotel IRA again (good to try new places too, right).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Couchysing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We spent four days at the Ira Hotel. A really splendid place with absolutely stunning views. We had the Ira room - a lovely large room with a private balcony. Breakfast was very good and all the staff were really helpful and friendly. And the views! From our room we could see not only the Caldera and othe small islands but also both ends of Santoini itself - from Oia to Akritiri. Santorini is an island to visit at least once and this must be the hotel to stay at and the one place to visit on the island is Oia. We'll certainly be going back to Santorini and the Ira Hotel.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room with a balcony - it's well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Firostefani
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
0.1 mi away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#2 of 21 in Firostefani
802 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#14 of 50 in Imerovigli
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Belvedere Santorini
Belvedere Santorini
#9 of 21 in Firostefani
460 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
#3 of 21 in Firostefani
953 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sun Rocks Hotel
Sun Rocks Hotel
#8 of 21 in Firostefani
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ira Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ira Hotel & Spa

Property: Ira Hotel & Spa
Address: | Santorini, Firostefani 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Firostefani
#4 Luxury Hotel in Firostefani
#5 Romantic Hotel in Firostefani
#6 Family Hotel in Firostefani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ira Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find yourself in between the clear skies and the eternal blue of the Aegean Sea! Relax and enjoy one of the world’s most amazing places! You are here: in Ira Hotel & Spa swimming pool area where caldera’s beauty meets summer’s loveliness ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Ira Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ira Hotel Firostefani
Ira Hotel & Spa Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing