We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay if you want to be a little removed from busy fira”
Review of Ira Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ira Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Firostefani
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lorne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“great stay if you want to be a little removed from busy fira”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Firostefano was a great location for us ... hotel ira was an excellent choice as well. Lovely staff .. Very helpful (maria) ..10 minute walk into thira and the crowds! ! ... The hotel has a very nice pool area that over looks the water and volcano .... breakfast was okay .. rooms are very nice , make sure you get room facing the sea at the front of the hotel ... is worth it .... We would definitely return to the ira.

Room Tip: The hotel sort of splits the property with blue Dolphin hotel. So if you stay in the resr of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarrakechGypsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    80
    17
    6
    5
See reviews for
26
363
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

-Super friendly staff
-Decent room--although a friend came to the hotel at the same time (last minute) and paid the exact same price.. however the room was huge... king sized bed.. larger shower.. two couches.. etc etc (however ours had a slight view)
-Breakfast was good (8-11am)
-Walk to to Fira isn`t far at all and there is some decent restaurants down the road.
-Our room did although one night have freakishly loud winds
-Downside of the pool area was that there was no hot tub or heated pool.. I know its hot in Greece and all but in the winter months and May even it was pretty cool with the wind. It would have been nice to sit in the warmth amongst the windy atmosphere and amazing view.
-Had a nice lounge.. however it was kind of weird that there is a room located just inside the lounge to the left.. so i felt as if i was intruding on their privacy although it was clearly a public area.
-Lighting in our room was kind of poor.. in the bathroom for sure.. also there was not a fan in the washroom so after a shower it was all foggy! The shower itself.. was more of a low little shower head that you can pick up but not a standing shower.
-The bridges from one side to another felt a little insecure.. felt like if there was a little too much weight it would collapse.. the rails were also quite low.. so if you`re tall its even worse!

All in all, nice place.. might visit again.. but may trade up for something a little nicer with a hot tub ;)

Room Tip: Make sure you`re not in the lounge ;) Also higher floors hear the wind more.. in our case it wasnt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

a really nice holiday in a really nice hotel. fantastic views of the volcano nice spacious rooms good service. Very good value for money. a good 15 min walk to fira the capital.quiet area would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charis t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed in this hotel back in May 2013. Upon our arrival we were really impressed with the breath-taking view of the caldera and Santorini. The location is perfect, a quick walk into the centre of town and the local bus stop is near by if you wish to travel to Oia. (however the views from the hotel are just as good if not better). The infinity pool was spectacular and very quiet when we were staying here, so it was very easy to relax.

The staff at the hotel were very friendly upon arrival and helped us with all our questions. There is Wifi available at the hotel. For the money we paid, we were slightly disappointed with our room, and its location. The breakfast was very tasty, however the lack of hot food was noticeable (compared to the hotels we stayed in on other Greek islands) Just a few small improvements and this hotel would be perfect!

Overall, however this was a very relaxing location and a perfect hotel to relax in when visiting Santorini if you want to avoid the crowds.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovethesuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
382 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Hotel IRA is in Firostefani , which is centrally located in Santorini. Do not stay in overpriced and overrated Oia area. Instead try this hotel ! One of the very best hospitality ever experienced in the world. The rooms are very clean. The breakfast buffet is superb. The infinity pool area is so relaxing and has amazing views of Caldera. The owner and day time staff are so welcoming and friendly ! VERY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED ! whenever we go to Santorini, this is the place to stay. For honeymooners, they have great suites and surprises...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrington
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

This is the perfect place for couples to sit back relax & explore Santorini.
Fifteen minutes from the airport to the centre of the Island fria.
Rooms are different depending which one you choose. .we had the pool room on the main balcony...medium bed...double shower. .stocked fridge.
Breakfast was something for everyone.
Only thing missing was a bar which is why it was nice & quite later on.
Eateries in abundance on your doorstep all good if you're not fussy.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank vindeballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I stayed at Hotel Ira with a group of friends for several days. The staff greeted us by name but knew when we wanted to be alone. I felt cared for but respected at the same time. Breakfast on the patio was devine and the food was great. My room was inside the hotel and didn't have a view of the caldera. Yet, it was roomy, comfortable and quiet. The air flow through the two windows was perfect on a warm day. We had a front move through and it got chilly. The AC/heater worked well when I needed it. Location is perfect since it's away from the crowds from the cruise ships but close to restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the caldera are lovely but smaller. There are plenty of viewing platforms so d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathyadamsclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Firostefani
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
0.1 mi away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#2 of 21 in Firostefani
822 reviews
2.5 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
#4 of 21 in Firostefani
980 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belvedere Santorini
Belvedere Santorini
#9 of 21 in Firostefani
478 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#15 of 50 in Imerovigli
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ira Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ira Hotel & Spa

Property: Ira Hotel & Spa
Address: | Santorini, Firostefani 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Firostefani
#4 Luxury Hotel in Firostefani
#5 Romantic Hotel in Firostefani
#6 Family Hotel in Firostefani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ira Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find yourself in between the clear skies and the eternal blue of the Aegean Sea! Relax and enjoy one of the world’s most amazing places! You are here: in Ira Hotel & Spa swimming pool area where caldera’s beauty meets summer’s loveliness ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ira Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ira Hotel Firostefani
Ira Hotel & Spa Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing