We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average place”
Review of Splendour Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Splendour Resort
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Firostefani
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An average place”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My stay at splendour was a last minute booking as our other hotel cancelled our earlier reservation
We took a room with a private pool and were a very disappointed as there was no privacy in the pool at all .The wifi was a big problem as it didnt work anywhwre apart from thw reception
The best part about the hotel is the location .its close to immerovigli and fira . Also there is a bus stop at 100 metres walk .
Overall it was an average decent hotel .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tanisha86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    127
    86
    34
    44
See reviews for
75
226
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel is amazing. Not far out of town, a short walk.
Room was spacious with a beautiful view.
We found the staff friendly and very helpful, particular one of the bag handler who provided us assistance one night in town when he was off duty.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenna o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed a couple of days in May 2014, I would not call it a Resort, even with all their swimming pools. The room was fine, except the bathroom has a glass wall facing the room, it has a "privacy" blind which doesn't give privacy at all, especially when the light is on. You cannot drink the water and the drains smell because of the water. Our shower needed scrubbing, but otherwise it was clean, we had to ask for a toilet roll and to have the amount of water from the sink tap adjusted-it was just a dribble.The view is lovely but it is of the Agean sea and not on the Caldera side. Quite a few steps to the lower rooms as it is on a hillside. The most disappointing thing was the breakfast. Tasteless!!! We did try dinner at the restaurant-only customers that night-and the meal surprised us as it was quite nice. Staff need more training and management seems to have not worked out how to achieve a resort status. :ynandLes Sydney

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LynandLesSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is almost there . In a good location . The hotel is very knew but not yet completely finished , the fine tuning element of some rooms was still on going .the rooms are of good size and all have new furnishings . The food served was simple but of good quality and presentation , the staff are all courteous and helpful . Couldn't understand why there was no tea&coffee making facility in room but expressed upon leaving this anomaly for a 4* hotel it's nice but could be really good with a little fine tuning.
P.s the views don't get the caldera or sunset but there only a short 5min walk away to enjoy
.Loved Santorini you will too !

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkj_jj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We had our booking changed to here from the Aressana Spa in the town centre, with about 2 days notice! Initially annoyed, we were pleasantly surprised. We had a huge room (possibly too big) with sea views. Robes and slippers supplied, great The hotel is split into various dwellings. A very nice pool, which could, however, do with some heat in early season. The hotel rating on the gate is 5 star, but think this is slightly 'optimistic'. Breakfast was plentiful, but definitely not 5*. The staff were very friendly and at the end of our stay, although we had to change rooms, the hotel gave us all rooms to use till our pick up at no extra cost (about 6/7 couples) as we had very late flights out.
Although the hotel is not in the town centre, the walk into Fira centre was fabulous, with views of the caldera to exclaim over. It is also brilliantly situated for walking towards the other end of the island and Ia. If we had been based in the town proper I doubt we would have walked out this far, and would have missed a treat, especially the views and sunsets. Thoroughly recommend for stay of a week.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view 2nd floor. You don't need a private pool, certainly not in early season. So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santorini, Greece
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This hotel markets itself as a 4-5 star but is lacking some of the features you would expect for such a rating. It has some nice touches, with most rooms having a lovely sea view and "individual pools" in the junior suites, however don't be fooled into thinking that these are "private" - a row of about 8 pools with low sections of dividing glass means that privacy is seriously lacking. When this is added to the poor finishing of the rooms (wonky plug sockets and other fixtures), a fridge that sounds like it is about to go into orbit the whole time and a serious lack of sound-proofing such that you can hear the snoring and flushing toilet from the room next door, this hotel really cannot be recommended for the price they are charging. It has a further disadvantage of being some way out of the town, which means getting to restaurants in the evening requires a drive, unless you are feeling particularly energetic.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 98Nic0la85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We were booked to stay at Splendour in late April. Granted it is the beginning of the tourist season but this hotel looked like a ghost town in more ways than one. None of the services were up and running...no resturaunt, no bar etc. They had construction going on in the main areas. At night, the outside lights did not work and it was extremely dark and eery.
The rooms were horrible!! They were dirty with chipped and peeling paint. The towels were dingy and grey...nowhere near white!
In my opinion, the hotel was in no shape to host guest.
After 7 hours of haggling with our travel agency, we were finally moved to another hotel. We simply could not stay here for even one night :(

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DocNita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Firostefani hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Firostefani
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
0.1 mi away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#2 of 21 in Firostefani
816 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belvedere Santorini
Belvedere Santorini
#9 of 21 in Firostefani
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
#4 of 21 in Firostefani
975 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Renos
Villa Renos
#4 of 80 in Fira
796 reviews
1.0 mi away
Astro Palace Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendour Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendour Resort

Property: Splendour Resort
Address: Firostefani 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Firostefani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Splendour Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Priceline, Southall Travel, Bookgreece.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Splendour Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendour Resort Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing