We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad out weights the good”
Review of Splendour Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Splendour Resort
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Firostefani
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We just spent 3 nights here when our tour operator made an unannounced decision to change hotels on us. This property is under renovations and it was not very pleasant. The rooms do not look like the pictures!! All of the furniture is not in the rooms yet. Our sink had no hot water. It was fixed the second day. We were given no directions about the room or the property. Towels were wet and the property is not fixed up nicely at all. No plants or pretty surroundings. The beds were comfortable and some of the staff were very nice. One was very rude to me. The breakfast was fine but nothing special. The view is country side and the sea at a distance. No Caldera view. The view surrounding the pool includes a parking lot and rough looking space on one side. Location to town was good but with all of the negatives including being awakened by construction noise I would not recommend this hotel if you are looking for five stars as it is promoted. It looks nothing like the pictures.

Room Tip: Maybe rooms up top are better than below where we were in the construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jo-jp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

256 - 262 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

My stay at splendour was a last minute booking as our other hotel cancelled our earlier reservation
We took a room with a private pool and were a very disappointed as there was no privacy in the pool at all .The wifi was a big problem as it didnt work anywhwre apart from thw reception
The best part about the hotel is the location .its close to immerovigli and fira . Also there is a bus stop at 100 metres walk .
Overall it was an average decent hotel .

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tanisha86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel is amazing. Not far out of town, a short walk.
Room was spacious with a beautiful view.
We found the staff friendly and very helpful, particular one of the bag handler who provided us assistance one night in town when he was off duty.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jenna o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed a couple of days in May 2014, I would not call it a Resort, even with all their swimming pools. The room was fine, except the bathroom has a glass wall facing the room, it has a "privacy" blind which doesn't give privacy at all, especially when the light is on. You cannot drink the water and the drains smell because of the water. Our shower needed scrubbing, but otherwise it was clean, we had to ask for a toilet roll and to have the amount of water from the sink tap adjusted-it was just a dribble.The view is lovely but it is of the Agean sea and not on the Caldera side. Quite a few steps to the lower rooms as it is on a hillside. The most disappointing thing was the breakfast. Tasteless!!! We did try dinner at the restaurant-only customers that night-and the meal surprised us as it was quite nice. Staff need more training and management seems to have not worked out how to achieve a resort status. :ynandLes Sydney

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LynandLesSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is almost there . In a good location . The hotel is very knew but not yet completely finished , the fine tuning element of some rooms was still on going .the rooms are of good size and all have new furnishings . The food served was simple but of good quality and presentation , the staff are all courteous and helpful . Couldn't understand why there was no tea&coffee making facility in room but expressed upon leaving this anomaly for a 4* hotel it's nice but could be really good with a little fine tuning.
P.s the views don't get the caldera or sunset but there only a short 5min walk away to enjoy
.Loved Santorini you will too !

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dkj_jj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We had our booking changed to here from the Aressana Spa in the town centre, with about 2 days notice! Initially annoyed, we were pleasantly surprised. We had a huge room (possibly too big) with sea views. Robes and slippers supplied, great The hotel is split into various dwellings. A very nice pool, which could, however, do with some heat in early season. The hotel rating on the gate is 5 star, but think this is slightly 'optimistic'. Breakfast was plentiful, but definitely not 5*. The staff were very friendly and at the end of our stay, although we had to change rooms, the hotel gave us all rooms to use till our pick up at no extra cost (about 6/7 couples) as we had very late flights out.
Although the hotel is not in the town centre, the walk into Fira centre was fabulous, with views of the caldera to exclaim over. It is also brilliantly situated for walking towards the other end of the island and Ia. If we had been based in the town proper I doubt we would have walked out this far, and would have missed a treat, especially the views and sunsets. Thoroughly recommend for stay of a week.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view 2nd floor. You don't need a private pool, certainly not in early season. So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This hotel markets itself as a 4-5 star but is lacking some of the features you would expect for such a rating. It has some nice touches, with most rooms having a lovely sea view and "individual pools" in the junior suites, however don't be fooled into thinking that these are "private" - a row of about 8 pools with low sections of dividing glass means that privacy is seriously lacking. When this is added to the poor finishing of the rooms (wonky plug sockets and other fixtures), a fridge that sounds like it is about to go into orbit the whole time and a serious lack of sound-proofing such that you can hear the snoring and flushing toilet from the room next door, this hotel really cannot be recommended for the price they are charging. It has a further disadvantage of being some way out of the town, which means getting to restaurants in the evening requires a drive, unless you are feeling particularly energetic.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 98Nic0la85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Firostefani hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#1 of 21 in Firostefani
864 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
0.1 mi away
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
#6 of 21 in Firostefani
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mill Houses Elegant Suites
Mill Houses Elegant Suites
#5 of 21 in Firostefani
804 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ira Hotel & Spa
Ira Hotel & Spa
#4 of 21 in Firostefani
511 reviews
0.3 mi away
Homeric Poems
Homeric Poems
#3 of 21 in Firostefani
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendour Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendour Resort

Address: Firostefani 84700, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Firostefani
Price Range: £84 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Splendour Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Splendour Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendour Resort Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing