We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent - highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Homeric Poems

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Homeric Poems
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Firostefani
Certificate of Excellence
Ondon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Excellent - highly recommended”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Would recommend to friends - first firostefani is perfectly placed to stay in - can walk to thira / imeroviglin easily. Oia is higher end to stay in but it's always heaving and everything is pricey - better to visit. Was a bit nosy in other hotels and in my opinion h.p. Is best hotel in firostefani and can easily compete with those in oia.so best of both worlds. Other things to recommend it 1. No one overlooking you (quite common around santorini) 2. Rooms to suit all purses ( ours was Penelope - apartment / shabby chic wife cried when she saw it but she is pregnant!) 3. The vie is beautiful and again nothing in the way 4. Breakfast in terrace is awesome 5. Staff cant do enough really - just friendly chilled and very helpful. 6. Much more interesting vie than from oia as oia is at the end of the island and this is in the middle - so 5 stars suitable for honeymooners baby mooners groups young old they're all here and all seem to be loving it!! Would definitely recommend for location; decor atmosphere views - everything. To be balanced pool area is a bit smallish but were halfway up the side of a volcano! Look at the view have a cocktail and chill out!

Room Tip: Penelope has kitchen and big terrace which we enjoyed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CassiusClayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    39
    7
    9
    5
See reviews for
41
221
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Borgosesia, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We choose this hotel to spend our honeymoon and everything was perfect!
The view is the best of Firostefani, Thira is just few minutes away by feet, there is a bus stop just behind the hotel if you want to reach Oia or any other place in the island, the food they serve is really excellent, the rooms are gorgeous and the staff is kind and helpful... There is really nothing that was less than amazing!! We will have forever our memories and our heart in that place!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Filippo975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
335 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed here for one night, only because our amazing hotel in Oia only had room for us for 3 nights and we were staying 4 nights in Santorini. I decided to try another hotel in another town, closer to port, that had a pool and was cheaper, etc. So we stayed here. We checked in a bit earlier than the 2pm check-in time and our room was ready. Very nice. We had a welcoming drink and bruschetta dish delivered to us which was nice. Room was good, pool was good, views were good. Only negative here is that the views are so much less than those from where we were in Oia. When I was booking, everyone said Oia is best but you can stay anywhere - but I disagree completely - Oia is SO MUCH more beautiful!
One of the best things about this hotel is that the pool allows you to bring your own food and drink down there to use. We later stayed in Mykonos and were not allowed to do this.
The hair dryer is adequate, but not great. The pool area is large enough in my opinion. We enjoyed the sunset from our balcony at the Hector room tremendously. I requested it based on other TA reviews here online, and was happy to get it. The staff was good and we had a good time. Firostefani is small, but a good base to walk to either Fira or walk the coast to Imerovigli and then Oia. We walked to Imerovigli the 2nd day and it was nice and easy from this hotel. They have porter services to take your luggage from the taxi stand to your room and back again - which is a blessing! The men doing this are wonderful!

Room Tip: we picked the hector room based on other reviews and i had no problems with it. But, I didn't s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandiUKLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Homeric Poems offers an amazing view of Santorini's caldera! We stayed from the 9th to the 15th of September and woke up each day to stunning views that just made you grateful to be alive. We spoke to some gorgeous couples staying there and they too said the views could not have been better. Even the lovely town of Oia (pronounced 'ee-yah') loses to Firostefani when it comes to views as it's right in the centre of the caldera offering a panoramic view of the whole island.

The staff are a bit hit-and-miss. Sometimes they were lovely, sometimes it felt like they didn't want to be spoken to, but always helpful and you can tell they are making an effort to at least be polite. The bartender is not very personable considering it's a boutique hotel.

We stayed in 2 different rooms - the first few nights in one of the Captain's House which had 2 beds, one overlooking the sea. My comments are that (1) the second floor (it's split level) is not very secure. There's a rope that serves as caution but it won't really break your fall if you slipped; (2) the ceiling is very low even for a short woman like me and I kept accidentally banging my head; (3) the bath tub had unfinished "hydro-massage" holes. They were covered with embossed metal and felt bumpy, and (4) the drain plug had no string so you couldn't really drain the water after your bath.

The good news is that the room is cosy, it's designed as well as can be and furnished to a good standard, you get to have your own terrace, and the cleaners pay a lot of attention to detail. We always came back to a clean crisp room. The bathroom has his-and-hers wash basins, and bath water is soft as compared to the UK.

We also stayed in one of the Grand Suites (Gaia) and WOW, not a single negative comment. I guess you get what you pay for. We had a private pool with good temperature - we went swimming late on a foggy night and though cool, not freezing. There was a jacuzzi inside the room with LED-lights sprinkled like stars above it and the beddings were made of Egyptian cotton. There was a "secret" balcony at the back of the room which was a lovely surprise.

The food was decent and servings are generous. There's a restaurant next to the hotel called Mama Thira, I think it may be owned by the same people as Homeric Poems, and food is ok - not the best but not offensive either. Stay away from the touristy offerings and try their Catch of the Day. Finish the meal with Greek yogurt and honey - it's SO soooooo good. And I don't even like yogurt OR honey! The ambience in the restaurant is relaxed and romantic.

From the hotel you can watch sunsets that will make you smile. At any day at any given hour, the sky has a different colour. 8 out of 10. Memorable.

***

If you're staying only for a few days, I would recommend 2 things: (1) Santorini Sailing - they offer island tours including a dip in a sulfur spring plus lunch on a private beach and; (2) visit the archeological site in Akrotiri where an ancient city is (still) being excavated from it's first discovery in the 1960s. Researchers believe it could be Plato's Atlantis. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Gaia - Grand Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan_Leung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

They had the nicest staff. It was one of the best service we had in Europe. The rooms were spotless clean! The view is to die for. Infinity pool over looking the sea and volcano. Only 15 mins stroll to Fira town. Definitely recommend this place to anyone coming to Santorini.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yananoor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed here for two weeks and had a great experience.
The hotel is spotlessly clean and staff friendly and efficient.
The view from every terrace in the hotel are stupendous and the sunsets magnificent
Our one small complaint were the stairs, we had 70 to get down to our room and then climb again to get out of the hotel everyday!! But to be honest we were forewarned after reading other reviews.
Be warned, Santorini is very expensive and this hotel is not cheap.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elspethuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Just home from a 2 week trip to Greece with included a 4 day stay at Homeric Poems. If only all hotels were like this - elegant, exquisitely decorated, sensation customer service and with a stunning view of the caldera.
We celebrated our 2nd anniversary here - enjoying a meal on our terrace (we stayed in Paris) and indeed my wife received a lovely gift from the management.
The staff were knowledgeable and helpful when it came to restaurant recommendations (i'd recommend La Maison in near by Imerovigli) but also discrete enough to only appear when you needed them - a great skill.
I can't recommend Homeric Poems highly enough - we will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Firostefani
0.1 mi away
Anteliz Suites
Anteliz Suites
#4 of 82 in Fira
570 reviews
0.0 mi away
Belvedere Santorini
Belvedere Santorini
#8 of 21 in Firostefani
444 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#2 of 21 in Firostefani
770 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#15 of 48 in Imerovigli
237 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aressana Spa Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homeric Poems? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homeric Poems

Property: Homeric Poems
Address: Firostefani 84 700, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Firostefani
#3 Luxury Hotel in Firostefani
#4 Family Hotel in Firostefani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Homeric Poems 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homeric Poems reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homeric Poems Studios Firostefani
Homeric Poems Studios Hotel Firostefani
Homeric Poems Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing