We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Views and a Very Friendly/Helpful Staff”
Review of Homeric Poems

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Homeric Poems
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Firostefani
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Views and a Very Friendly/Helpful Staff”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

So, I'll go with Pros and Cons:

Pros:
* AMAZING views. They're on the Volcano side of the island, and from what we saw, it's definitely the side to be on for breathtaking views.
* Great location. We were walking distance to anything we wanted to get to in Fira, and were we really motivated, we could have made it up the hill to Imerovigli too. (Though the hills going up that way were pretty intense for the casual non-hiker kinda person. You'd better be in shape if you wanted to walk up there!!)
* Very Helpful staff. Everything we asked of them, they took care of right away, and the porter kinda guy that carried our bags to and from our room was GREATLY appreciated given the number of stairs (which there's a lot of, as all of the hotels are on the side of a cliff essentially).

Cons:
* Room size was a little smaller than I expected from looking at the online pics. We were in a Captain's House room, and when I walked in my immediate reaction was...huh. I mean they weren't so small that it was a problem, and now that I'm going back and looking at the web site again, I s'pose I should've looked a bit closer, but still, despite the name of them... "house"... the Captain's House rooms are definitely not really large, so don't expect a huge suite style room. Captain's Cabins might be a better name for them...
* The "private" terrace was not at all private. I mean, it wasn't shared like the pool area is, but it IS shared with the other two Captain's House rooms, and there's a set of stairs that goes right through the middle of it that people come and go on fairly often. So there isn't really a lot of privacy to be expected.

All in all, the pros definitely out-weigh the cons. It's a great place to stay, and I would definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank squish88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    41
    8
    9
    5
See reviews for
46
233
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We (4 women) read reviews previously and stated that the view from Homeric Poems was much more breath taking for sunset than the view in Oia. For one it's private, no elbows digging into your sides. It's peaceful, the receptionist and maids were extremely friendly. It was a relaxing feeling to just dip in the infinity pool. We all took beautiful pictures thanks to the tremendous view of the sail boats, ocean, mountains, clouds, and the sun! More abut the hotel: very clean, quality of service was superb, hotel amenities excellent (had everything you needed), the location was great because it is hidden away from the main roads and the car sounds. We stayed in the Captains House and it was perfect loft style, spacious room, and very modern bathroom (a plus for girls). It's a 7-10 minute walk into Fira (stores/bars/restaurants). (10-15 min cab ride to Oia - view from the road is awesome).

Room Tip: Want the famous view experience of Santorini... Stay at this hotel! You won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ondon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Would recommend to friends - first firostefani is perfectly placed to stay in - can walk to thira / imeroviglin easily. Oia is higher end to stay in but it's always heaving and everything is pricey - better to visit. Was a bit nosy in other hotels and in my opinion h.p. Is best hotel in firostefani and can easily compete with those in oia.so best of both worlds. Other things to recommend it 1. No one overlooking you (quite common around santorini) 2. Rooms to suit all purses ( ours was Penelope - apartment / shabby chic wife cried when she saw it but she is pregnant!) 3. The vie is beautiful and again nothing in the way 4. Breakfast in terrace is awesome 5. Staff cant do enough really - just friendly chilled and very helpful. 6. Much more interesting vie than from oia as oia is at the end of the island and this is in the middle - so 5 stars suitable for honeymooners baby mooners groups young old they're all here and all seem to be loving it!! Would definitely recommend for location; decor atmosphere views - everything. To be balanced pool area is a bit smallish but were halfway up the side of a volcano! Look at the view have a cocktail and chill out!

Room Tip: Penelope has kitchen and big terrace which we enjoyed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CassiusClayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borgosesia, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We choose this hotel to spend our honeymoon and everything was perfect!
The view is the best of Firostefani, Thira is just few minutes away by feet, there is a bus stop just behind the hotel if you want to reach Oia or any other place in the island, the food they serve is really excellent, the rooms are gorgeous and the staff is kind and helpful... There is really nothing that was less than amazing!! We will have forever our memories and our heart in that place!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Filippo975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed here for one night, only because our amazing hotel in Oia only had room for us for 3 nights and we were staying 4 nights in Santorini. I decided to try another hotel in another town, closer to port, that had a pool and was cheaper, etc. So we stayed here. We checked in a bit earlier than the 2pm check-in time and our room was ready. Very nice. We had a welcoming drink and bruschetta dish delivered to us which was nice. Room was good, pool was good, views were good. Only negative here is that the views are so much less than those from where we were in Oia. When I was booking, everyone said Oia is best but you can stay anywhere - but I disagree completely - Oia is SO MUCH more beautiful!
One of the best things about this hotel is that the pool allows you to bring your own food and drink down there to use. We later stayed in Mykonos and were not allowed to do this.
The hair dryer is adequate, but not great. The pool area is large enough in my opinion. We enjoyed the sunset from our balcony at the Hector room tremendously. I requested it based on other TA reviews here online, and was happy to get it. The staff was good and we had a good time. Firostefani is small, but a good base to walk to either Fira or walk the coast to Imerovigli and then Oia. We walked to Imerovigli the 2nd day and it was nice and easy from this hotel. They have porter services to take your luggage from the taxi stand to your room and back again - which is a blessing! The men doing this are wonderful!

Room Tip: we picked the hector room based on other reviews and i had no problems with it. But, I didn't s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandiUKLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Homeric Poems offers an amazing view of Santorini's caldera! We stayed from the 9th to the 15th of September and woke up each day to stunning views that just made you grateful to be alive. We spoke to some gorgeous couples staying there and they too said the views could not have been better. Even the lovely town of Oia (pronounced 'ee-yah') loses to Firostefani when it comes to views as it's right in the centre of the caldera offering a panoramic view of the whole island.

The staff are a bit hit-and-miss. Sometimes they were lovely, sometimes it felt like they didn't want to be spoken to, but always helpful and you can tell they are making an effort to at least be polite. The bartender is not very personable considering it's a boutique hotel.

We stayed in 2 different rooms - the first few nights in one of the Captain's House which had 2 beds, one overlooking the sea. My comments are that (1) the second floor (it's split level) is not very secure. There's a rope that serves as caution but it won't really break your fall if you slipped; (2) the ceiling is very low even for a short woman like me and I kept accidentally banging my head; (3) the bath tub had unfinished "hydro-massage" holes. They were covered with embossed metal and felt bumpy, and (4) the drain plug had no string so you couldn't really drain the water after your bath.

The good news is that the room is cosy, it's designed as well as can be and furnished to a good standard, you get to have your own terrace, and the cleaners pay a lot of attention to detail. We always came back to a clean crisp room. The bathroom has his-and-hers wash basins, and bath water is soft as compared to the UK.

We also stayed in one of the Grand Suites (Gaia) and WOW, not a single negative comment. I guess you get what you pay for. We had a private pool with good temperature - we went swimming late on a foggy night and though cool, not freezing. There was a jacuzzi inside the room with LED-lights sprinkled like stars above it and the beddings were made of Egyptian cotton. There was a "secret" balcony at the back of the room which was a lovely surprise.

The food was decent and servings are generous. There's a restaurant next to the hotel called Mama Thira, I think it may be owned by the same people as Homeric Poems, and food is ok - not the best but not offensive either. Stay away from the touristy offerings and try their Catch of the Day. Finish the meal with Greek yogurt and honey - it's SO soooooo good. And I don't even like yogurt OR honey! The ambience in the restaurant is relaxed and romantic.

From the hotel you can watch sunsets that will make you smile. At any day at any given hour, the sky has a different colour. 8 out of 10. Memorable.

***

If you're staying only for a few days, I would recommend 2 things: (1) Santorini Sailing - they offer island tours including a dip in a sulfur spring plus lunch on a private beach and; (2) visit the archeological site in Akrotiri where an ancient city is (still) being excavated from it's first discovery in the 1960s. Researchers believe it could be Plato's Atlantis. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Gaia - Grand Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan_Leung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

They had the nicest staff. It was one of the best service we had in Europe. The rooms were spotless clean! The view is to die for. Infinity pool over looking the sea and volcano. Only 15 mins stroll to Fira town. Definitely recommend this place to anyone coming to Santorini.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yananoor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Firostefani
0.3 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
0.5 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#15 of 50 in Imerovigli
284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anteliz Suites Santorini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
2.3 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
3.8 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homeric Poems? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homeric Poems

Property: Homeric Poems
Address: Firostefani 84 700, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Firostefani
#1 Luxury Hotel in Firostefani
#4 Family Hotel in Firostefani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Homeric Poems 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Homeric Poems reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homeric Poems Studios Firostefani
Homeric Poems Studios Hotel Firostefani
Homeric Poems Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing