We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santorini's best”
Review of Homeric Poems

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Homeric Poems
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Firostefani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed with our 3 kids (10 and up) - not recommended for young kids as the clientele are couples looking for a getaway from kids but everything about it was perfect. The view is amazing and each suite is private so the tourists on the promenade can't see you in your deck or the pool which is amazing - endless pool. The staff is hardworking and attentive - meets our standards and beyond. Treated each morning with breakfast on our deck overlooking the caldera. Food is better than the tavernas around although a limited selection what they offer is very nice.
We had an early flight and the staff looked after us for our early morning departure with breakfast and other goodies for the road.
So friendly so kind the best of Greek hospitality. Plus the rooms were tastefully and artsy decorated with the homers heros in mind. All around A+++!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minjeewalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

201 - 207 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

We just returned from a 3 night stay at Homeric Poems and it did not disappoint. You know that when you stay at one of the cave rooms of a hotel with the view of the caldera, you will pay a price however it was worth every penny. Waking up to a gorgeous view of the clear blue sky and caldera every morning and settling in to witness the blazing colors of orangey yellow sunsets every evening, provides that "zenful" feeling of peace and harmony. There is not a care in the world during those moments. You feel lost in time.

With Fira only a 10 minute walk (depending on how fast you walk) and Santorini being such a commercialized area with group tours and cruise ships docking, Homeric Poems is a perfect place to relax by the infinity pool, take in the view and avoid the crowds. Every room has its own terrace with a view. It was truly a gem.

The staff was very accommodating. Yanis, who carried our luggage down all those stairs works so hard. Panos made delicious mojitos. Maki provided great restaurant tips. George is the man who wears many hats and is so helpful.

Our entire experience at Homeric Poems was unforgettable.

"A guest never forgets the host who had treated him kindly." Homer

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank chaufun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We have just returned from another holiday at Homeric Poems. This was our third visit in as many years, so it is obvious that we regard it as a very special place. As with a number of top class hotels in Santorini, Homeric Poems is unlike most other hotels. You approach it from a cliff top path and go through a small gate into the small reception office. From there the hotel apartments tumble down the lava cliff side to the infinity pool and bar at the bottom. The rooms themselves are simply and imaginatively furnished. Each one is different and is named after a character in Homer's Odyssey, so expect a tasteful Greek nautical theme. The apartments consist of a bedroom area, a bathroom and a lounge/dining area with a fridge, hot plate and kitchen utensils. Every apartment has a terrace with the most stunning view over the caldera, as good as any on the island. There are also a number of more expensive and more luxurious suites.

There is no restaurant but meals can be served at the bar area or on guests' terraces. Indeed one of the joys of the hotel is to open the door in the morning and find an exquisite breakfast laid out on the patio table, where one can enjoy the view as well as a leisurely al fresco meal.

What also makes the hotel so special is the genuinely warm welcome and excellent service provided by the staff, most of whom seem to have been there for a number of years.

The hotel is perfectly situated near a number of reasonable restaurants in Firostefani. It is also close to the main village of Fira, which can be reached via a beautiful cliff top walk of around 15-20 minutes. Because of its layout, the hotel is not suitable for those with young children or those who would have difficulty negotiating the many steps. However, it is perfect for couples.

We don't often visit hotels more than once, but Homeric Poems is a rare exception. So yes, we will be back!

Room Tip: Every apartment and suite is different and very comfortable. Some have beds against the wall, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seagull5758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Yes, the views are amazing and, yes, customer service is great, but I was completely unimpressed by the rooms and especially hated the bathrooms.

While in Santorini, my husband and I stayed at the honeymoon suite of the homeric poems. First of all, the decor at this hotel is outdated and uncomfortable. I understand that they're going for a rustic feel but they can do a far better job! Second, the room retained moisture causing our clothes, the bed spreads, pretty much everything to be damp. There were puddles in the bathroom that wouldn't budge for hours (thank goodness we thought to bring our bathroom slippers!). Third, the bugs! We shouldn't have to shake our clothes before wearing them or shake our towels out before using them to get the bugs out. It's just terrible! Forth, we happened to be in here while the cleaning people were here and I was completely unhappy with the fact that the bathroom and room floors were cleaned with the same rag. Again, thank goodness we brought slippers to walk around in! Lastly, be prepared to walk up and down 80 steps to get to your suite! If you aren't a generally fit person, you are in trouble!

Overall, the views weren't enough for me. I honestly don't understand how this hotel landed on Conde Nast's top 10!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wanderlust1289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Firostefani is now our favourite village in Santorini. It really is perfectly located, splitting evenly the hustle and bustle of Fira and the restaurants at Imerovigli. Homeric Poems is perfectly located with stunning views across the Caldera. It's a great place to watch the Cruise ships coming into port and the wonderful Santorini sunsets. The hotel staff are without exception very friendly, courteous and helpful, and the breakfasts, served on our private terrace, a match for anywhere we have stayed before. Thank you Homeric Poems, we hope to see you again next year.

Room Tip: Cosmos (Room 19) is a wonderful choice for those seeking to splash out on a larger room or suite. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bauer_boz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

One of the loveliest places that we have been to..... Amazing experience with surreal views ..... Very friendly staff and a lovely host ..... The theme and design of the hotel is truly unique and one of a kind ...... The views of the sunset and the caldera are the best ..... Better than Oia...... Will surely be going back ..... This time for longer ....

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Rupesh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Everything was perfect!

The hotel is extremely beautiful, the location very good,the room was really great. The daily breakfast was outstanding. We had dinner twice, and again, everything was outstanding. The service by all was exceptional. The front desk helped to arrange anything we could think of, including a day trip .I can not emphasize enough the quality and constancy of polite, attentive and efficient service throughout the property.

Thank you we will be back soon !!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gcoupon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Firostefani
0.2 mi away
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
#6 of 21 in Firostefani
1,059 reviews
3.8 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.3 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mill Houses Elegant Suites
Mill Houses Elegant Suites
#5 of 21 in Firostefani
806 reviews
0 mi away
Belvedere Santorini
Belvedere Santorini
#9 of 21 in Firostefani
521 reviews
3.8 mi away
Andronis Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homeric Poems? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homeric Poems

Address: Firostefani 84 700, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Firostefani
#1 Romantic Hotel in Firostefani
Price Range: £280 - £408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Homeric Poems 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Homeric Poems reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homeric Poems Studios Firostefani
Homeric Poems Studios Hotel Firostefani
Homeric Poems Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing