We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay.”
Review of Homeric Poems

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Homeric Poems
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Firostefani
Certificate of Excellence
Lynton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Lovely stay.”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We had a week here before heading off to Mykonos for a week. The staff were lovely and the hotel was very pretty. The pool was freezing, no idea why. The lady who did our room was very thorough and did an excellent job. The view was amazing and it was lovely to have breakfast on June terrace every morning. I is very well situated as there are lots of restaurants nearly and you can walk to Fira very easily.
The reason for only four stars is that it is very expensive for what the room offers. The TV was tiny, there was no ipod dock, you had to pay for water and the bed was very uncomfortable. We went to Grace Mykonos for a week after and the rooms were much better equipped and this was considerably cheaper.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Val P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    40
    7
    9
    5
See reviews for
42
224
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I'll start this review with the things I liked about this hotel:
The service - excellent service from everyone we spoke to there, from the front desk to the maids to the bartender. Very friendly and accommodating. They even arranged our rental car one day, we didn't have to make one single phone call.
The pool. Oh. My. God. That pool. We spent more time at the pool than in our room. (More to come on the room.) Unbelievably gorgeous. Don't even bother going to a restaurant on the caldera for sunset, just sit by the pool and watch it from there every night, then go out and get dinner. That's what we did. PS - you'll pay WAY more at a restaurant on the caldera then ones without the view.
The food. I only ordered one sandwich there but it was amazing. To be fair every meal we had in Greece over 11 days was pretty much the best thing I've ever eaten, but I still want to include it.
The location - about a 10-15 minute walk to central Fira. Gave us enough of a workout after all those glasses of wine and stuffing ourselves silly at dinner every night.
Now for the things I didn't like so much:
The room. It was small, cavelike and just overall not good. We were spending over $400/night US for this room and it was just not the luxury we were expecting. Especially after reading so many glowing reviews. Did we get the worst room in the house? Maybe? Our room was the closest one to the pool. I didn't mind the location, despite the NINETY steps it was from the top of the path down to our room. My husband didn't like being so close to such a public area but that didn't bother me. The room was small, the drop living room made it seem even smaller. Plus our TV didn't work the whole time we were there. During the World Cup. Husband = not happy.
Cost of transport to and from the port/airport. They really get you here. 45 euros to the port, 35 to the airport. We had to move hotels for our last night and the Agali Houses was only 18 euros to the airport. I understand they hire car services but that's quite a price difference.
Overall it was a nice hotel, great location and beautiful property overall but I did not think it was worth the cost. Would definitely stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

I was recommended to the Poems by a friend in the United States and I wasn't disappointed. The staff was exceptional, the rooms were clean and the view was amazing. You pay for what you get, pricey but well worth it. If I visit Santorini in the future I'll be staying at the Homeric Poems.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fhall67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I was excited to visit Homeric Poems, having read everyone's reviews, but was very disappointed upon arrival. Our room, Telemachos at the Captian's House is tiny dark and has a very low ceiling and unfortunately it only has one tiny window in the master bedroom (and I mean TINY). Now I was expecting a little darkness being "cave-style" rooms, but I'm only 5'4" and I hit my head on the ceiling in various parts of the room. This made it very claustrophobic, and my husband who is 6'1" simply could not stand straight anywhere in the bedroom. Needless to say this put a damper on our stay. The walkway between bedrooms (if you can call them bedrooms) was made of wood and gave the impression that it was going to give out and one was going to fall through at any minute! The bathroom is also not what you would expect from a room that costs 600 plus euros a night. Its a dark windowless room, with a pedestal tub and NO SHOWER!! There were exposed pipes sticking out of the tub (not sure what for) and a hand held shower spout that made a terrible mess in the entire bathroom every time we used it (because there is nowhere to "hang it" on the wall, or any curtain or doors). The outdoor "deck" area is open and shared with the other hotel guests (so much so that on the day we got there there where people sunbathing on the sunbeds right in front of our room door). We tried to change rooms but the hotel was full and they would not refund, and there was no space in the other hotels we called, so we stuck it out for three nights. The first night our room smelled musty and moldy, and the sheets where itchy, so much so that we had to call housekeeping to have them changed. They sent someone down immediately with fresh linens and pillows (because the ones out smelled like moth balls) and the next day deep cleaned our room which made a huge difference. That being said, Homeric Poems does have a spectacular view of the Caldera. We had breakfast with an incredible view every morning. The location is superb, tucked away from the hustle and bustle of Fira, but only a short walk from the action. We spent most of our time out and about. We walked in Firostefani and to Fira, rented a car and drove all over one day and went on an amazing boat ride another (Santorini Sailing is the best, check out the review I wrote them) so we got to explore Santorini from every angle. The staff is very nice and did what they could for us. They made excellent recommendations and helped coordinate the car and boat. Overall it was an ok experiene because we really wanted to go out and see Santorini, so the hotel location was perfect, but I would not recommend this hotel if you plan on spending a lot of time in your room.

Room Tip: Do not choose the Telemachos Room at the Captian's House -I think its the worst room in the enti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BubblyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossella R, Manager at Homeric Poems, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
First of all we apologize once again for not being able to meet and exceed your demands and expectations since we didn’t have any other suite available during your stay which could be suitable for your family. Most of our suites are appropriate for couples which want to spend a relaxing and romantic stay enjoying the Caldera view.
We have got only three suites which can accommodate a family up to 4 people but each one it is different from the other and each has its own characteristic well shown on our website. Your detailed description of Telemachos suite can be a good information for those who wants to spend their stay in one of our Superior suite, especially families with children up to five years or very tall person. It is good to know in advance that the Telemachos suite has been built inside a rock and it has the typical cave style of most of the hotel rooms built on the caldera of Santorini .
Your advices will help us to prevent any disappointed or unsatisfied guest upon arrival and to upgrade our room configuration.
Our first aim is to improve our service doing our best to satisfy our guest’s needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

One of the best hotel I have ever stayed, and I travel a lot. Away from the crowds, excellent view of Aegeon Sea and Caldera, from both the room and the balcony. We woke up and the Caldera greets us in bed. We had breakfast on the balcony with the same spectacular view in sea breeze. Situated on the cliff, it gives each room privacy as the apartments are in layers. The room is spotless and romantically decorated with candles at night. Every staff we encountered are genuine and very helpful. The idea of using Homer as theme is brilliant and makes our stay feels more Greek and fairytale like. Location is perfect if you don't mind the 10 minutes walk to Fira. There are steps and hills but the view along the way is mesmerizing. Go for the breakfast at least once during your stay, it's worth it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Occupying what might be the best location in Firastefani, the views are what you pay for - and boy are they worth it.

Homeric Poems is tucked away from the hustle and bustle of main roads, perfectly perched on Santorini's cliff. Every room at the hotel comes with a terrace and unobstructed views of the Caldera.

While the rest is gravy, it's tasty gravy and prepared by a team of expert chefs. The decor throughout is clean and tasteful: villa architecture with soft neutrals, slate greys, and Mediterranean-inspired aqua accents - charming but not distracting from the views, which are the real entrée.

The hotel itself is ten minutes walking from Fira, Santorini's touristic capital - just enough to escape the intense swarms of tourists. In the other direction, it’s fifteen minutes walking from Imerovigli, a town known for its restaurant scene. And for those finding themselves a bit too boozy after enjoying the sunset from their balcony, the immediate area is also lined with great dining options.

The staff are friendly, helpful, and accommodating - great tips and available when you need them, but otherwise leave you to enjoy the romantic atmosphere that the island and hotel inspire.

Overall, our stay was excellent and unforgettable. We will definitely go back when in Santorini.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janet X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old greenwich ct
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed with our 3 kids (10 and up) - not recommended for young kids as the clientele are couples looking for a getaway from kids but everything about it was perfect. The view is amazing and each suite is private so the tourists on the promenade can't see you in your deck or the pool which is amazing - endless pool. The staff is hardworking and attentive - meets our standards and beyond. Treated each morning with breakfast on our deck overlooking the caldera. Food is better than the tavernas around although a limited selection what they offer is very nice.
We had an early flight and the staff looked after us for our early morning departure with breakfast and other goodies for the road.
So friendly so kind the best of Greek hospitality. Plus the rooms were tastefully and artsy decorated with the homers heros in mind. All around A+++!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minjeewalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Firostefani
0.1 mi away
Anteliz Suites Santorini
0.0 mi away
Belvedere Santorini
Belvedere Santorini
#9 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#2 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#14 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chromata Hotel
Chromata Hotel
#10 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homeric Poems? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homeric Poems

Property: Homeric Poems
Address: Firostefani 84 700, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Firostefani
#3 Luxury Hotel in Firostefani
#4 Family Hotel in Firostefani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Homeric Poems 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Homeric Poems reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homeric Poems Studios Firostefani
Homeric Poems Studios Hotel Firostefani
Homeric Poems Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing