We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Unforgettable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homeric Poems

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Homeric Poems
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Firostefani
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Unforgettable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

My wife and I booked the Apartment room for 7 nights late June early July for some chilling out after a hectic work year. Had been to Santorinin before so knew mostly what to expect as far as the island itself goes.
Even though this property was pricey we really wanted perfect views in a small exclusive location where we could prepare our own meals if we wanted. We like eating out but not EVERY night. We also wanted somewhere which is not a loud party location. Finally somewhere NOT in Fira but not too far away either. From the website Homeric Poems ticked most of the boxes.
Firstly, let me say that by most international hotel standards HP would probably not be classed as a 5 star property. The bathroom certainly not, though clean and neat fairly basic. The room itself was OK without being wow. Each rooms configuration, including balcony, also varies to each one.
Our apartment, HECTOR, did have a large and fairly private balcony (which we specifically wanted) but some others were smallish and either near the stairs down to the pool/bar area so people on the way down looked in on you, or you had another balcony right next to you. Like sitting at a restaruant next to another table.
Also, the kitchen included was very basic. 2 hot plates, no microwave, toaster, or oven plus the fridge was the smallest I've seen. As a 5 star property you would have expected some tea/coffee and milk to be there as you arrive.
Offsetting all this, the view was absolutely breathtaking 24/7. We ended up having dinner on the balcony most nights watching the sunset. Absolutely breathtaking and at least 10 stars. Pool area lovely. In addition the staff, to a man and woman, were fantasic. From the Hungarian guy in the pool bar area, the lovely girls in reception, they all made an effort to make our stay enjoyable (and they suceeded totally). I see some other reviews said otherwise but we could not fault them and the owners should be proud of how they look after their guests.
I recomend Nauossa (spelling) restaraunt in Fira for home cooked Greek food in a family run establishment. People line up to get in most nights. Also try the sunset cruise which goes out to the hot spings first (recomended by reception). Finally hire a cheap car to explore the island. There is quite a lot to see.
So, in conclusion, not 5 star, pretty pricey, but great location in a nicely maintained hotel.

We didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    39
    7
    9
    5
See reviews for
41
218
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2009

My husband and I stayed here during our honeymoon. We had the pleasure of being there five days. Yulli, the hotel manager, and her wonderful staff did an amazing job of being some of the best hosts and hostesses we've come across. They always greeted us with a smile, answered all of our questions, and recommended places to go. The hotel is not in the center of town but it is only a short 10 minute walk into Fira. We didn't mind it at all and enjoyed sort of being away from the action in Fira. There are also some shops and restaurants in Firostefani. Hotel rooms are amazing! We first stayed in a captains house our first night and then were moved over to the honeymoon suite. Both rooms were spacious and clean. The bathrooms alone are amazing! We found the beds to be very comfortable too. And the views are AMAZING! We would definitely return here in the future.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Italy72381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2009

This was our second stay at this place. We have 3 teenage kids and we all just adore everything. Sure the shower has a little to be desired but the rest makes up for it. The staff couldnt do enough for us to the point of inviting us to a traditional Greek dance (bouzoukia) The pool is magical with views to die for. The bar staff were very entertaining. It is a short walk to the main shopping area which we had no problem doing each day. We will definatly return.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — The shower
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rtbea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2008

Beautiful view and pool but stuff very rude and over priced.

  • Liked — Pool and view
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank KikiPhiladelphia_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2008

A place you hardly want to leave. The view is fantastic. People are very nice. Perfect place to chill out in front of the Caldeira.

  • Liked — The view / La vue splendide
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank franck_chartier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southeast
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2008

I stayed 5 nights at Homeric Poems while island hopping with my new husband on our honeymoon! Simply put - Homeric Poems was incredible! The staff members were the most friendly we had in Greece even compared to the staffs at more expensive hotels in Athens and Mykonos! The staff helped us with every travel need we had. They set us up on sunset cruises...with ferry tickets, airport transfer, etc. The front desk even allows guests to use a laptop to get online if needed...all other hotels charge you for this!

Having a honeymoon suite was great...one minor drawback is the older accessories and kitchenette in the suite. The hotel also has a sometimes overwhelming climb up the stairs but what do you expect when the hotel is on the side of a volcanic cliff? Regardless, the views, friendly staff, and location of the hotel make up for these trivial details. The hotel is within an easy walk to Fira. It is also close to Firastefani square where you can easily catch one of the overly crowded public buses to venture to other areas of the island. The pool and bar area of the hotel were as good as any hotel on Santorini. Although we experienced the sunset from Oia, we enjoyed it more sitting on our private balcony in the Achilles suite! (See attached photo!) Our suite offered a jacuzzi tub with a window offering Santorini's spectacular views. (I do recommend visiting Santorini before September because the seasonal weather changes create intense fog that took away our views one evening!)

The cost of the hotel is pricy especially considering the weak US dollar. However, you get what you pay for...I can't wait to go back! Next time, it will be one of their grand suites with a private swimming pool! You won't be disappointed staying at Homeric Poems!

  • Liked — Staff and views
  • Disliked — Fixtures in suite needed upgrading.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lawyer70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2008

Me and my friend visit Santorini last year and when we checked out that place make a promise to our selfs to come back just to visit it. We try to book it for August from April but hotel was already booked, so we visit it at September. The weather for 2 days from our total 7 day stay wasn't so good, was rainning and it was cold too. This hotel is the onlyone we have visit that gave us raincoats without charge and let us keep them too. Unfortunately, we read the reviews before we go there and for a moment we had a few doubts for our trip. But since our arrival, we realize that we will not regret our money there. First person we met was Peggy at the reception. She was so helpfull and realize with a smile any request we had. Her professionalism was marvelous. Our room was perfect. Great view from our private balcony, lovely truly traditional furnitures, very clean room and perfect room service. We had our breakfast everyday in our room. Stairs were good excercise too!!! The day we had to leave, Pigi let us stay in the room for extra two hours without charge. All the staff in this hotel is always polite and always happy to please you. Every cent we spend there, was a good memory to have for the rest of our lifes.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, views, happy people
  • Disliked — Bar and restaurant closes very early
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Desson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Firostefani
0.1 mi away
Anteliz Suites
Anteliz Suites
#4 of 79 in Fira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
#5 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
0.0 mi away
Belvedere Santorini
Belvedere Santorini
#8 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
0.1 mi away
Mill Houses Elegant Suites
Mill Houses Elegant Suites
#6 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dreams Luxury Suites
Dreams Luxury Suites
#5 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homeric Poems? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homeric Poems

Property: Homeric Poems
Address: Firostefani 84 700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Firostefani
#1 Romantic Hotel in Firostefani
#4 Family Hotel in Firostefani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Homeric Poems 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Homeric Poems reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homeric Poems Studios Firostefani
Homeric Poems Studios Hotel Firostefani
Homeric Poems Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing