We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Smaro Studios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Smaro Studios
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Firostefani
Certificate of Excellence
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 5 July 2010

The Smaro Studios had beautiful rooms- all unique and with balconies. The breakfast was served on our balcony each morning at the time we selected. The hotel was quiet, but a quick walk into Fira. Would definitely recommend this to others.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank americanabroad54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    25
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
101
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2009

We have chosen Smaro studios (Katerina suite) for our vacations reading all the previous reviews. I was afraid that we created high expectations and in reality it wouldn’t be so good….
Staying there for 7 days all previous reviews passed my mind. Starting from the views that were magnificent. From our balcony we could see the sea, Thirasia (opposite island), and most important all the sunsets. Believe me it’s frustrating and very costly to run and see the sunset from various café, bars & restaurants. Location: Quiet location with mini market, travel agency (for any trip to arrange), café, and some restaurants near. Taking the rocky pathway from where you can enjoy the view and the amphitheatric build houses, you need 10-15 minutes to reach Fira center where all entertainment is.
The whole Smaro complex is in a very good condition, well maintained in detail. Rooms are nice and cleaned every day. This is important to me as we all know what conditions exist in hotels. Breakfast is served on balcony every morning! I couldn’t believe it till I saw it. A very satisfying breakfast that kept us till afternoon.
Mrs Maria! What to say? The A-Z of all this beautiful experience at Smaro and Santorini. Her positive energy starting from breakfast was the best start of the day. Friendly, approachable and willing to help in all we needed. Her contribution was vital to arrange our activities. Thank you for your effort to make our holidays special! If I visit Santorini again, this is the place I will be staying.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renos_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2009

Nothing negative to say about Smaro...it was in a perfect location...firostefani a quiet spot away from the hustle and bustle of fira....A family run business with much history....their hospitality was just wonderful....we lost a bag & virtually had no information to give them to find the bus we left it on...or a driver....nevertheless they made some phone calls and tracked it down for us. breakfast was served every morning on a balcony with a magical view...no need to go anywhere else to look at the sunset either, its perfect from Smaro...worth every penny...can't wait to go back one day...we stayed in the Katerina honeymoon suite, but there are many more apartments to choose from, most have a view....highly recommend smaro !

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eleni72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2009

Smaro Studios is top notch. The owner/manager, Maria, is helpful, friendly, always accessible and hospitable and greeted us each morning with a simple and lovely continental breakfast of home baked pastries, hardboiled eggs, breakfast sandwiches, fresh oj...it was so plentiful we saved the pastries for snacks later.. The place is spotless and roomie and is well designed..using the space well considering space on the caldera is a premium. The view from our balcony was spectacular! We put the hot tub to good use after walking and walking and walking.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bermbroro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2009

My partner and I and my two teenage children stayed at this Inn in June 2008. I can't say enough good things about this property! The beds were comfortable, the bedrooms were spotless, the staff helpful and accomodating with suggestions on local restaurants, the breakfast amazing, and of course the views, spectacular.
I read a lot of reviews on Trip Advisor before selecting Smaro Studios. This Inn is a GEM!!
By the way, we stayed for four nights. We rented ATV's on the first day and travelled everywhere on the island. We parked the ATV's about two blocks away from the Inn.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACN5341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2008

I just came back from Greece and would like to share my experiences, since I had partially selected the hotels based on reviews from this site.

Smaro Studios was great... I stayed at the "Giorgos" for 4 nights with my boyfriend and wished that I could stay there longer!!! Maria, the person who runs the hotel was very warm and she allowed us to check in earlier, since our ferry arrived in the wee hours. In fact, she even served us breakfast for the day itself at o extra charge. It was really sweet of her.

The room was very clean, and there were complimentary drinks and even Santorini wine given by the hotel. We had our homemade breakfast served to us every morning, at the timing we desired. What was awesome was that I get to change my normal coffee to Nescafe Frappe, which is a Greek speciality.!

We caught 2 sunsets by our own private balconies at Smaro Studios. The sunsets were awesome, and I thought it was even better that what we saw at Oia on one of the evening.

Smaro Studios was within walking distance to Fira and we walked there everyday, to catch our bus to the beach, or just to do some shopping.

Overall, it was a great experience staying at Smaro Studies and I would definitely recommend for you to stay there... :)

  • Liked — The beautiful sunset view from the private balcony
  • Disliked — The cleaning lady kept hurrying us on 1 of the morning, so that she can clean our room.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ariel311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2008

We were brimming with excitement and had high expectations when we touched down on Santorini. As we got into the taxi, and headed towards Smaro Studio, we soaked in the scenery - not that there is much, as it is just a road from the airport to Firostefani. Very quaint and Greek-like, lots of development and dirt going around.

Upon our arrival, we discover that Smaro studio had stuffed up our booking. We booked for the Katrina - to celebrate our wedding anniversary, but this was given to someone else. Apparently they've lost/forgotten our booking, even though we had an email confirmation from them with our credit card details given to them.

We then spent 3 very frustrating hours trying to look for another accommodation, which is not the easiest thing to do. We are definitely not amused despite the fact that the lady at Smaro Studio did ring around to look for similar accommodation. We were lucky to arrive around midday, if we've arrived slightly later in the afternoon it would be a lot harder to get any accommodation.

We eventually managed to get a room next door, which was owned by Bellonias Villas.

I do give her a few points for providing us with free breakfast and allowing us access to the Jacuzzi spa. But overall the experience has left a sour taste.

On the whole, the island itself is truly beautiful. Firastefani is about 5 minutes walk to Fira but I would truly suggest anyone to stay at Imogrevli or Oia because the views there are spectacular. It's definitely worth paying a lot more for that. At Firastefani, you get cables lines and accommodations are a lot more clustered and there isn't much privacy if you are thinking of sunbathing on your balcony.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Reservation was not recorded despite confirmation was received from hotel.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Firostefani hotels
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
0.1 mi away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#2 of 21 in Firostefani
820 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
#4 of 21 in Firostefani
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mylos
Hotel Mylos
#14 of 21 in Firostefani
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manos Small World
Manos Small World
#8 of 21 in Firostefani
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belvedere Santorini
Belvedere Santorini
#9 of 21 in Firostefani
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smaro Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smaro Studios

Property: Smaro Studios
Address: Firostefani 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Firostefani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Smaro Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Smaro Studios. Smaro Studios in Santorini is on the Caldera cliffs. A small hotel with a big history, Smaro Studios has a wonderful view of the Caldera, the volcano and the gorgeous Aegean Sea. The hotel is located in Firostefani, a peaceful village just above Fira town. Smaro Studios combines hospitality and relaxation with the enchanting traditions of a beautiful Greek island.Guest Services. Smaro Studios has 6 apartments with a small equipped kitchen, air conditioning, free WiFi access, TV with SAT channels, telephone, hair dryer, safe box and private veranda to enjoy the view of the Caldera.- Heated outdoor Jacuzzi for up to 5 persons with views of the Caldera- Upon arrival a bottle of Vinsanto wine, fresh seasonal fruit & mixed nuts- Breakfast is inclusive- Reception is open from morning till midnight- We are here to assist you with island information & tips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Smaro Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smaro Studios Santorini/Firostefani
Smaro Studios Hotel Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing