We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just excellent!!!!!!”
Review of Smaro Studios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Smaro Studios
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Firostefani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2010

better than we expected.
Staff is very healpful and the service superb.
as i am a professional of tourism go ahead i highly recommend it

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KYRIAKIAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2010

Santorini in July can be very expensive. We wanted to stay within working distance of the town but still had comfortable and clean accomodation with mod cons. Luckily we found Smaro. Situated on the edge of the Caldera, the view is more than satisfactory and some of the nice touches like sliipers, dressing gowns, some free drinks in the fridge, and breakfast on our balcony. There isn't a communal dining room but breakfasts are prepared individually. There were boiled eggs, OJ, pastries and pancakes as well as TV or Coffee, certainly enough to get you started and eating it on the balcony with a view of the volcano was even better. The walk to the town is either via a road or along the edge of the caldera - you are talking between 15-20 minutes walk depending on the route.

The room was on the small side but that is typical of the architecture of the houses and most importantly, things that you want to work like things being cleaned properly, hot water (you turn on a water heather in the bathroom for 15 minutes) and aircon all functioned well.

oh and I almost forgot, in the room a bottle of Santorini dessert wine - vinsanto

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelosLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

The Smaro Studios had beautiful rooms- all unique and with balconies. The breakfast was served on our balcony each morning at the time we selected. The hotel was quiet, but a quick walk into Fira. Would definitely recommend this to others.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank americanabroad54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

We have chosen Smaro studios (Katerina suite) for our vacations reading all the previous reviews. I was afraid that we created high expectations and in reality it wouldn’t be so good….
Staying there for 7 days all previous reviews passed my mind. Starting from the views that were magnificent. From our balcony we could see the sea, Thirasia (opposite island), and most important all the sunsets. Believe me it’s frustrating and very costly to run and see the sunset from various café, bars & restaurants. Location: Quiet location with mini market, travel agency (for any trip to arrange), café, and some restaurants near. Taking the rocky pathway from where you can enjoy the view and the amphitheatric build houses, you need 10-15 minutes to reach Fira center where all entertainment is.
The whole Smaro complex is in a very good condition, well maintained in detail. Rooms are nice and cleaned every day. This is important to me as we all know what conditions exist in hotels. Breakfast is served on balcony every morning! I couldn’t believe it till I saw it. A very satisfying breakfast that kept us till afternoon.
Mrs Maria! What to say? The A-Z of all this beautiful experience at Smaro and Santorini. Her positive energy starting from breakfast was the best start of the day. Friendly, approachable and willing to help in all we needed. Her contribution was vital to arrange our activities. Thank you for your effort to make our holidays special! If I visit Santorini again, this is the place I will be staying.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renos_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

Nothing negative to say about Smaro...it was in a perfect location...firostefani a quiet spot away from the hustle and bustle of fira....A family run business with much history....their hospitality was just wonderful....we lost a bag & virtually had no information to give them to find the bus we left it on...or a driver....nevertheless they made some phone calls and tracked it down for us. breakfast was served every morning on a balcony with a magical view...no need to go anywhere else to look at the sunset either, its perfect from Smaro...worth every penny...can't wait to go back one day...we stayed in the Katerina honeymoon suite, but there are many more apartments to choose from, most have a view....highly recommend smaro !

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eleni72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2009

Smaro Studios is top notch. The owner/manager, Maria, is helpful, friendly, always accessible and hospitable and greeted us each morning with a simple and lovely continental breakfast of home baked pastries, hardboiled eggs, breakfast sandwiches, fresh oj...it was so plentiful we saved the pastries for snacks later.. The place is spotless and roomie and is well designed..using the space well considering space on the caldera is a premium. The view from our balcony was spectacular! We put the hot tub to good use after walking and walking and walking.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bermbroro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2009

My partner and I and my two teenage children stayed at this Inn in June 2008. I can't say enough good things about this property! The beds were comfortable, the bedrooms were spotless, the staff helpful and accomodating with suggestions on local restaurants, the breakfast amazing, and of course the views, spectacular.
I read a lot of reviews on Trip Advisor before selecting Smaro Studios. This Inn is a GEM!!
By the way, we stayed for four nights. We rented ATV's on the first day and travelled everywhere on the island. We parked the ATV's about two blocks away from the Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACN5341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Firostefani hotels
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
0.1 mi away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#1 of 21 in Firostefani
851 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belvedere Santorini
Belvedere Santorini
#8 of 21 in Firostefani
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
#6 of 21 in Firostefani
1,035 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mylos
Hotel Mylos
#13 of 21 in Firostefani
111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ira Hotel & Spa
Ira Hotel & Spa
#4 of 21 in Firostefani
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smaro Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smaro Studios

Address: Firostefani 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Firostefani
Price Range: £74 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smaro Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Smaro Studios. Smaro Studios in Santorini is on the Caldera cliffs. A small hotel with a big history, Smaro Studios has a wonderful view of the Caldera, the volcano and the gorgeous Aegean Sea. The hotel is located in Firostefani, a peaceful village just above Fira town. Smaro Studios combines hospitality and relaxation with the enchanting traditions of a beautiful Greek island.Guest Services. Smaro Studios has 6 apartments with a small equipped kitchen, air conditioning, free WiFi access, TV with SAT channels, telephone, hair dryer, safe box and private veranda to enjoy the view of the Caldera.- Heated outdoor Jacuzzi for up to 5 persons with views of the Caldera- Upon arrival a bottle of Vinsanto wine, fresh seasonal fruit & mixed nuts- Breakfast is inclusive- Reception is open from morning till midnight- We are here to assist you with island information & tips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Smaro Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smaro Studios Santorini/Firostefani
Smaro Studios Hotel Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing