We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTSTANDING VIEWS AND SERVICE!!!”
Review of Cliff Side Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cliff Side Suites
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Firostefani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I recently spent 3 nights at Cliff Side, the views of the Caldera are spectacular.
The views are better than the actual rooms. Breakfast next to the pool
was very nice!! The people that work there are very welcoming, friendly and helpful!!
The accomodations are on the rustic side, like sleeping in a cave. It is clean.
I stayed in room 109, there were not as many steps!!
Ilene

Room Tip: Rooms in the middle have less stairs to climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

I came to Greece with a friend of mine and we saved Santorini for the last stop on our 3 week tour. It was absolutely the best part! We stayed at Cliff Side Suites for 5 nights and had a wonderful time. The views, especially of sunset, were beautiful!! You could sit on the patio of your room and enjoy the serene beauty of the island. I will warn you, as others have said, that there are many steps down to the various rooms. But you will find that with most hotels on the cliffside (after all they are on a cliff!!) The view was worth the stairs! The accomodations were modest and simple, but very clean. It is centrally located and we walked along the path on the cliffside to both Fira and Oia (which were ambious walks) but there are scooter and 4 wheeler rentals close by as well.

One side note, this hotel is easy to pick out in pictures of the Santorini cliff side, because it is next to the bright blue building... makes it fun to point out "that is where we stayed" to friends and family!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizzieLou22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed for one week at this hotel. Staff were great, rooms clean and comfortable. Views are tremendous. Lots of steps so be prepared particularly if you find steps difficult! Our room 115 had a decent sitting area, bedroom and bathroom all perfectly suitable and comfortable. Our balcony was however a 'thoroughfare' for people which was some what frustrating at times because there was limited privacy. We should have requested to change rooms but this really is our only observation so it is worth asking when booking. Good breakfast each day, pool side snack choice a bit limited but so many restaurants nearby, it really was no issue. Road noise at times was noticeable and be prepared to see lots of weddings as there are three wedding gazebos just below the suites. Take a travel kettle if you like to get a drink because there are none in the rooms. A good place to stay with Fira and Imeroviglia within easy walking distance. Check out Pirouni's and Remvi's both offering great food although wherever you eat the standards are good.

Room Tip: Ask about your room. Is there a balcony and is I private? Do you have a caldera view? It really i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluesportloveskenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Our family recently spent 3 nights at this hotel. The view over the Caldera is stunning, we were lucky enough to have perfect weather. Your calves get a workout, my wife counted 100 steps from reception to our room. My wife also wants our bathroom renovated to copy the one we had. Breakfast next to the pool each morning was very nice and returning later in the day as a pool side bar was just as good for a couple of drinks. The service was friendly and efficient with assistance provided to lug suitcases to and from the room. There are a number of good restaurants and places to drink within easy walking distance. Overall we loved our Santorini visit and the Cliffside Suites were integeral to that.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Oh well what can I say.. It's always like a dream to me to visit this picture perfect place i saw at the postcard. The fact is.... The real view is 10x better than the picture itself! I thought staying for a week there would be too much, little that I know.. It feels too short for me. My room was one of the smallest room out of the 25 that they have, however.. i didn't mind coz eventually with that spectacular view that I have outside the room.. who would need a fancy big room??? I only need it to sleep and shower. I spend most of the time outside..watching the breathtaking view from the balcony oversee the caldera..and also the picture perfect sunset is not to be missed every evening. The other experience added to my stay is... of course the hotel staff. They make you feels like home and very welcoming. They'll help you in anyway to get you all the information you needed around the island. That's the sweet part of traveling no? The people you met along the way. Everything could be arrange.. even for the pick up from/to the airport.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dizz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We went for our honeymoon last July, and we were amazed by the place, but what made the difference was the kind and nice staff. They made our staying the most comfortable ever, and made us feel like home. I recommend the place also for the strategic position within the isle. I hope we will be able to return again

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Madam167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

What an experience, the whole concept of going to Santorini didn't appeal to me at first but my wife was 100% that we were going to enjoy it. Don't use this phrase much but "OMG".
Landing at the small airport then quickly through passport control into a taxi and off to the hotel, then arriving at the square your greeted with the view WOW must say socks blown off.. waiting for around 20 or so minutes taking in the sights before even going to the hotel, which after the view was brilliant we were lucky to have a private balcony in room 101 just above reception, extremely clean very comfortable ok basic but never the less well maintained, clean towels every day plus sheets and mats. The ever smiling face of the radiant Sia greeted us and explained with Anthe all that we needed to know about the area such as shops and local amenities, various other reports said it was expensive which yes it is if you go to the top restaurants going off the beaten track you can find my taverna where the food is good and wholesome not the squirly meals painted with sauce. In Thira (Fira) which ever on cruise day the prices go up which we found was everyday this is only 10 to 15 minutes away downhill (uphill back), the hotel is built on a cliff as the name so expect lots and lots of steps or calf crackers as we renamed them, all in all the experience was good cant fault at all many thanks Sia we miss you all ready, chilled to the bone and well rested. Enjoy the pleasure it will take your breathe away 10/10...........................

Room Tip: all have great view, watch for weddings!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dek06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Firostefani hotels
0.1 mi away
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
#6 of 21 in Firostefani
1,050 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belvedere Santorini
Belvedere Santorini
#8 of 21 in Firostefani
521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mill Houses Elegant Suites
Mill Houses Elegant Suites
#5 of 21 in Firostefani
804 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#1 of 21 in Firostefani
864 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ira Hotel & Spa
Ira Hotel & Spa
#4 of 21 in Firostefani
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Side Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Side Suites

Address: Firostefani 847 00, Greece (Formerly Grotto Villas)
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Firostefani
#9 Family Hotel in Firostefani
Price Range: £173 - £379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliff Side Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a selection of 23 open plan cave-like studios and suites, ranging from the intimate to the truly magnificent and all ideally mix tradition with contemporary facilities. All rooms are newly refurbished in beautiful vivid tones, conveying a sense of comfort, warmth and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cliff Side Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Side Hotel Firostefani
Cliff Side Firostefani
Cliffside Suites Santorini
Cliff Side Suites Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing