We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW to the extreme”
Review of Cliff Side Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cliff Side Suites
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Firostefani
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“WOW to the extreme”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Ditis (the awesome luggage guy) met us as we stepped off the bus, hoisted All of our bags and delivered us to our Splendid cliffside suite -- definitely as Advertised! The manager, Sia, took care of all our requests, wants, needs, etc in an efficient and courteous manner. Litsa, the maintenance lady, was called to change our a light bulb, and was there in 2 minutes -- with the job completed shortly thereafter. The staff was superb, views even more so. Quiet, serene. Be ready to walk up and down a few steps though: hey, it's built on a steep hillside, after all. Buffet Breakfast by the pool is a Real treat: Very yellow egg yolks which you can actually taste!

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have cave-like bathrooms. I would request such a room, though my girlfriend thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJM-Springfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    93
    23
    6
    8
See reviews for
34
168
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
plymouth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Spent 2 weeks here in early May. The holiday was meant to be a total chillax and that was exactly what it was. The hotel is very quirky and unique with all rooms differing from each other. All have living, kitchen, sleeping and bathroom spaces which are well appointed and are kept immaculately clean. Daily cleaning, sheet and towel change takes place. Each room has it's own balcony but some are shared with others, which isn't ideal, and some have plunge pools. The pool area is situated at the bottom of some fairly serious steps, it is also where breakfast is served. The pool is very small and there is only a handful of sun beds so the hotel isn't ideal for sun worshipers. For those who are less physically able the hotel is probably not for you.
Despite these few slightly negative points the staff at the hotel really are superb and nothing is too much trouble for any of them but what really makes this place what it is, are the views from everywhere.Simply breathtaking. If you are staying in Santorini you wont beat this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a private balcony when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank royalPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights as a group of 4 couples in early May and had a great time. The rooms all differ in layout and are quite quirky as they are cut into the hill. Rooms were large with kitchen, lounge area, bedroom and separate bathroom, although some of the doorways are quite narrow and very low as you have to duck your head to get through. But it’s all good fun. Don't worry about the steps - if you don't like steps don't go to Santorini.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finally_kid_free
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The hotel was like a little cute cave. I fell in love with Santorini and the hotel views were priceless. that staff helped me get a cab and carried my luggage to my room with the lengthy steps. amazing time, breakfast was good such a relief to have free breakfast. would recommend to everyone!!!

Room Tip: Get a room with Jacuzzi I saw some that had it, we didn't get one but that would have been super...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
on course
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Decided to go to the Cliffeside Suites last October. Picked this hotel because of its location and it lived up to our expectations. Absolutely stunning. Yes, lots of steps but you get used to them and if you stop for a rest then just sit down and take in the incredible views of the caldera. Breakfast, great scrambled eggs, bacon, (on one day fried eggs), coffee, fruit juice, greek yoghurt and peaches, fruit, cakes, croissants, - lovely.
We travelled as couple and loved the island visited the volcano, Kamari and Qia. Excellent local buses cost only Euro 1.6 per journey. Great selection of excellent restaurants. If you want a typical local taverna then a must is Nicolaes in Fira, great food, music, atmosphere and value for money.Yes Santorini can be expensive, but there are some excellent lower priced options available. In the alley just above Cliffside is a great take away selling pitta Gyros which for a snack at lunch are unbeatable at euro 2.5.
Would I go back to Cliffside, absolutely, very clean, NOW IT HAS SUN LOUNGERS ON EVERY TERRACE, great location, and very helpfull staff.
Met some lovely people, and had a great time.
A must visit place for all travellers.

Room Tip: 106 is very nice, we had 103 which is near the reception and can reduce the number of steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrgolf54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

I emailed the hotel 10 months in advance requesting a room and upon arrival the room was ready. Sia the manager was very helpful, the rooms were clean and modern and the views breathtaking, breakfast was great and on our 2nd day each room had been given 2 reclining deck chairs to relax on and catch the sun which finished the rooms off perfectly. My partner was 5 months pregnant and they helped with an extra pillow and let us have a late checkout till 7pm for free. First class customer service and I can't recommend this hotel enough, amazing location and a must visit

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank craggyhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
231 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

A very unique and well kept hotel. Built into the cliffs of Santorini each room is actually a cave. Beautiful rooms painted in the brilliant colors of the Greek islands. Views from the balconies are breath taking and sunsets are the best in the world. The staff is very helpful and speak English perfectly. The breakfast is traditionally Greek and if you are American you will find it limited. But then again you are in Europe. The pool is small but perfect for a quick morning dip or a cool down after a day of sight seeing. Would return here to stay in a heart beat.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bolte59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Firostefani
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
0.1 mi away
Belvedere Santorini
Belvedere Santorini
#9 of 21 in Firostefani
460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#2 of 21 in Firostefani
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
#3 of 21 in Firostefani
953 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sun Rocks Hotel
Sun Rocks Hotel
#8 of 21 in Firostefani
377 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aressana Spa Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Side Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Side Suites

Property: Cliff Side Suites
Address: PO Box 91, Firostefani 847 00, Greece (Formerly Grotto Villas)
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Firostefani
#7 Luxury Hotel in Firostefani
#9 Family Hotel in Firostefani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cliff Side Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a selection of 23 open plan cave-like studios and suites, ranging from the intimate to the truly magnificent and all ideally mix tradition with contemporary facilities. All rooms are newly refurbished in beautiful vivid tones, conveying a sense of comfort, warmth and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Cliff Side Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Side Hotel Firostefani
Cliff Side Firostefani
Cliffside Suites Santorini
Cliff Side Suites Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing