We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cliff Side Suites, Santorini.”
Review of Cliff Side Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cliff Side Suites
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Firostefani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The hotel and staff were excellent, albeit a touch basic. The resort of Santorini is charming and full of character, and we spent many a happy hour walking the narrow streets, and drinking in the fantastic views of the caldera.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

Amazing view over the caldera which is what we travelled to Santorini for. All staff at hotel very helpful, easy walk into Fira. The room wasn't basic by greek standards. There are a lot of steps but you wouldn't have the views without it. My 13th time to Greece and by far the best location.

Room Tip: Our room was 105, no-one had to use our terrace for access to their rooms and the terrace was right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights, paid. 20euro from airport to a taxi to get dropped off. Important you get hotel to get taxi to collect you, as taxi driver will get porter to meet you and run bags down the stairs. (Tip porter as many stairs to carry your bags around)

Check in at 230pm however our room was not ready, we had to pay for lunch by the pool. Room was ready just before 4pm.
We got a room with a day bed but no view, we paid about. $470aud a night and were very sad not to have a view from our room. TV is very limited, no wi Fi in here. Bed was king size, cleaned daily and air con that works. Being under the stairs we can hear the bags being delivered.

Downside is bathroom ceiling is very low. Hit head getting into bath tub, spa not working, and no place to mount shower head so no fast showers here. Was a shame that they did not have a shower in the bath as well that was fixed.rm 108.


Great view from the pool and common balcony to use wi if and relax on. Hotel staff are friendly. Breakfast is basic.
Watch the sunset it is a must.

Towel to beach is euro 10 deposit, refund on return.

Hotel staff will book your exit transfer for you.

Easy walk on caldera to town square. Good food around the Clifton suites. Sunset cafe great creeps. Try ginger sushi but can be expensive if you are big sushi eaters. Mini market near by for post cards etc.
Walk to town and take cable car to old port or a donkey each is 5 euro each way.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Icook123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed at Cliff Side Suites for a week in July to celebrate our honeymoon so we wanted it to be extra special. Cliff side didn't let us down. Our transfer dropped us off in a cobbled car park where we were met by hotel staff who carried our luggage to the suites round the corner and down some steps. The receptionist was soooo helpful and made us feel at ease straight away.

The room was basic with bedroom, bathroom and kitchen but the balcony was luxurious, having table and chairs and 2 loungers overlooking the amazing view of the volcano and Caldera coast lines. Every night we watched the sunset from the balcony and will never forget the experience.

The hotel is set in the cliff side so therefore tiered and there are steps leading down to the pool and back up and out of the hill, all the hotels are like this in the area due to the environment.

The breakfasts were by the pool and there was a great choice and variety, not much fruit which was disappointing.

The receptionist recommended a few trips which we booked, the first was a boat trip to the volcano and hot springs, 15 Euro's each this was a bargain. I would wearing trainers for this excursion as there is quite a bit of walking around the volcanic rocks and flip flops are not suitable. We also did a sunset cruise on a sailing boat which was just out of this world, 115 euro's pp but completely worth the money, 8 to 10 people are on the boat and you get looked after throughout the 5 hours..jumping of the boat into the glass like waters, hot springs, eating fresh seafood just cooked on the BBQ and watching the sunset are just some of the highlights.

The rooms were spotless and cleaned everyday, fresh bedding and towels daily too.

We would definitely recommend this hotel to couples.

Room Tip: Choose a room with its own hot tub, don't worry about having a 'volcanic' view as all of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenniferRedcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I have mixed feeling about this Hotel...!!!
I chose this Hotel for two nights for our Stay at Santorini. Santorini as a place is beautiful... Paradise would be a better word...!!! Blue Aegean Sea and white houses, suites, hotels, apartments... its picturesque...!!!! We were dropped by the port transfer service near our Hotel. The Hotel potter was present at the spot to take our luggage to the Hotel, which was a few meters away from the drop point. The Hotel is to be reached through a flight of stairs which is actually connecting stairs of other Hotels, Apartments etc. Our room was more of a Standard Room and less of a Suite. The view of the Santorini Caldera from the room was beautiful but the room was small. We did request for an upgrade but the Hotel was completely sold out. The bathroom was a little dingy, I felt there could have been a little more light. The breakfast was served by the Pool and the serene view was just the thing which one would need to start a beautiful day...!!! The breakfast buffet was not very extensive, nonetheless was fresh and tasty.
Fira Town is walking distance... loads of options for shopping and eating around the place.
Hotel staff is extremely helpful and warm... The room and the bathroom was clean.. I think just because the room was standard and small I wasn't too happy about it... but the view from the room was magical especially during the sunset. Also, as we were there only for 2 nights, the time spent in the room was not much as we were busy exploring the Island. So in the event one is planning to stay for more than two nights, I would suggest take a bigger room.
Wifi around the hotel works fine but was patchy in the room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank priyadeepsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This hotel was suggested by our travel agent for Santorini. We checked out the website and the TA reviews. Both are fair assessments.

Our hotel room was more of a standard hotel room and less of a suite. The hotel staff were polite and worked very hard to help guests. Our rooms were clean, with just one problem. A terrible wind/rain storm hit the island one afternoon and water leaked under the door and through the windows. The staff brought extra towels and helped clean up the mess.

Breakfast was served by the pool. The view of the Santorini Caldera is breathtaking, and you could literally feel your stress/tension from the trip melt away. The breakfast buffet was not extensive, but was always fresh, excellent quality and well maintained. If you needed something special, you only have to ask. They have a bar by the pool in the afternoon and early evening, It's a great place to unwind and plan your next day's adventure.

The Cliff Side is literally on the side of a cliff, so there are lots of steps: mostly irregular steps. Those steps are mentioned in many reviews. If you're physically challenged, then perhaps you should consider a different hotel in Santorini. If you're physically able, then the beauty of the location is well worth the effort.

Many reviews mention weddings. A neighboring hotel was a 'destination wedding chapel' while we were there. When a hotel staff member was asked 'what's the most weddings you've seen in a day', the answer was six. We saw three one day in the limited time we were on-site. I suppose they might be considered annoying by some, but they were charming to us.

Wi-Fi was sketchy in some spots of the hotel, especially if you were in the back of your room that had been dug into the cliff. Outside in the public areas, it was adequate.

Cliff Side is in Firostefani, which is a distance from Firo where many of the cruise ships dock. Firo can be very busy at times when cruise ships are in town. We had no trouble getting restaurant seating, but we tended to eat a little early.

Our travel agent didn't steer us wrong. It's a clean, well-run hotel in a fabulous location.

Room Tip: Standard rooms may be a bit small. Suites might be a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DairyAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

we stayed here a for a week very recently and i must say what a great hotel very clean and excellent staff that will always try to help whatever the problem superb views and lovely and quiet also an excellent breakfast..there lots of restaurants very near by you will be spoilt for choice there are also a couple of small shops/supermarkets that sell almost anything you might need ...its also a very nice walk around into thira about 15 mins approx prices locally are maybe a little high a regular 3 course meal costs an average of around 50 euro for 2 with a small karafe of wine..... beer and wine in the supermarket is reasonable compared to bars and tavernas santorini i would say is fabulous and very photogenic well worth seeing

Room Tip: some terraces are shared if you like privacy ask for a room with its own terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beeantin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Firostefani hotels
0.1 mi away
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
#6 of 21 in Firostefani
1,050 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belvedere Santorini
Belvedere Santorini
#8 of 21 in Firostefani
521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mill Houses Elegant Suites
Mill Houses Elegant Suites
#5 of 21 in Firostefani
804 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#1 of 21 in Firostefani
864 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ira Hotel & Spa
Ira Hotel & Spa
#4 of 21 in Firostefani
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Side Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Side Suites

Address: Firostefani 847 00, Greece (Formerly Grotto Villas)
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Firostefani
#9 Family Hotel in Firostefani
Price Range: £173 - £379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliff Side Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a selection of 23 open plan cave-like studios and suites, ranging from the intimate to the truly magnificent and all ideally mix tradition with contemporary facilities. All rooms are newly refurbished in beautiful vivid tones, conveying a sense of comfort, warmth and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cliff Side Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Side Hotel Firostefani
Cliff Side Firostefani
Cliffside Suites Santorini
Cliff Side Suites Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing