We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place and really warm hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Firostefani
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
1 review
“Great place and really warm hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2009

We found the Blue Dolphins apartments by chance strolling by Firostefani after having an awful nigth at the Sunset Hotel (do not go there!). We stayed at the Romantic suite, that have a wonderful veranda and view to the sea and the Volcano. Enjoy the sunset resting in the deck chairs while drinking a glass of wine, is something that you cannot miss. Breakfast with home-made bread, cakes and mermelade were wonderful! And last but not least... the hosts are very warm people, really helpful and kind. Hope to see them again in a next trip to Santorini :-)

Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MyriamDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    593
    98
    18
    7
    3
See reviews for
99
416
26
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2009

We booked this hotel through a travel agent and it was amazing. Santorini is beautiful and this hotel offered a great view of the Caldera and Fira. The staff were all very friendly and they even sat us down to show us all the main things to do on the island and where to eat as well. Our only problem was that we had asked for two beds and could only get one plus a cot.

Our room was spacious and very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was served outside each morning and the quality and variety of the food was excellent. Laundry services are available. The hotel is a short walk to the shops and restaurants of Fira. There is an ATV and scooter rental office across the street with very friendly staff as well. The bus stop is not far. Overall, this hotel was well located and very nice!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2009

We stayed there end of Sept for 3days, I search it on line and compare with lots of other cliff hotels before I chose them as 1)they offer me a special deal for the cave house (with private garden but no balcony); 2)Firostefani is a bit off the bustle & hustle of Thira (10mins walk down, 20mins walk up) but not as distance as Oia (half hour by overloaded bus).
I didn't order ferry transfer (too expensive - Eur20!) but they came picked us up so I thought it's free. Driver dropped us at the main road and we had to carry our 25kgs luggage to walk down 50steps of stairs. We didn't go straight for check-in as we were captured by the stunning view of the Caldera on the balcony. When we got our keys and walked into our cave house, it was again stunningly nice. It could fit in 6 people, with a master bed and 3 big sofa beds, 2 bath rooms and a small kitchen area, not to mention the big garden. We just love it! What's even better is there breakfast, food not bad but with the view, it's priceless! We enjoyed every minutes of our breakfast.
Finally we had to leave and we were charged on the pick up (Eur20) and we decided not to use their transfer back to port rather we walked down to Fira bus station (only Eur2/pax) which took us almost an hour under the firing sun at noon time as the stone road not really a good friend of luggages wheels. I honestly regret!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andysiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2009

The accommodations at Blue Dolphins were great and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for an intimate and elegant destination!!!!
We totally recommend Blue Dolphins for an amazing experience in Santorini.

Lia V.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreeceLia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egypt
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, my wife and i, end of August, 2009. The owner Alexis is a very courteous and welcoming person. His assistant Dionisos, is also a very freindly and helpful person. On checking in, he handed us printouts ha prepared himself for the islands best restaurants, activities, attractions, with rating, and locations. As well as a map for the island.
We stayed at one of the best rooms in the hotel: Jacuzzi honeymoon suite.. It's at the top level of the hotel, and it has one of the best views of the volcano, the sea, the island. The suite is very suitable for family or small group. It consisted of a small patio, with a small refrigerator, kettle, and a jacuzzi. A sleeping extension with a large bed, A LCD TV. When lying down on this bed, you are facing directly the sea, and the volcano. Awesome view. And an inside room with two single beds, A/C, TV, Window with sea view. The bath is nice, with all accomodations needed.
The hotel itself is small, more like a pension, very clean. It is situated to the north of the island 's capital (main town) Fira, about 20 - 30 minutes walk, You reach it through steps going down from street level (43 steps) , and then climbing 50 other steps to reach our room - Those were the most inconvinient part of our journey, specially with our heavy luggage. there is a car rental shop exactly across the street from the hotel. We rented a Hyundai - Atos for 2 days, including all possible insurances, and a drop down at the airport for 100 Euros (but that was at another shop).
The hotel offers a decent breakfast on the balcony overlooking the best view on the island.
I would recommend this hotel for any one, but take care of the steps.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramelki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London (South African)
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2009

We booked the studio at Blue dolphin in May and then closer to our trip, there was a few reviews that caused me a bit of concern and I was wondering whether we made a mistake, but we didn't and we had a wonderful time. Our studio was on the first floor and although the room was very small, it was spotless and we had a wonderful view of the caldera and even a small table and chairs just outside our room. The studio rooms at Blue Dolphin is a wonderful answer if you are on a bit of a budget. For the same price you can probably get a larger room in town, but having a caldera view is a must when visiting Santorini. Yes, there are about 40 plus steps, but this is the caldera and the majority of hotels will have steps and lots of them. The hotel is in Firostefanie and not Fira and that may be why one of the reviewers felt it was far from everything. It is about a 20 minute stroll along the caldera to Fira and it is such a beautiful walk, you would not mind doing it twice a day! It is also a nice (uphill) walk to Imerovigli. We hired an ATV to explore the island and pop to the beaches on the other side.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GHNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2009

We stayed in May at this beautiful hotel!!
The service was excellent and the view was so grand....
I can only say we missed it and wish we were there..
Alexis the owner is always there to help and answer questions..
The rooms are clean and the breakfast is a nice buffet with the best greek yogurt and homemade jam..from his mother :)

We are going back next year..
We highly recommmended....
A romantic place ..quiet and luxirious!!

Stayed May 2009
Helpful?
Thank BenitoParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Firostefani
0.1 mi away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#2 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
#3 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ira Hotel & Spa
Ira Hotel & Spa
#7 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#15 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.6 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#4 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
0.6 mi away
Evgenia Villas & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments

Property: Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
Address: Firostefani, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Firostefani
#2 Family Hotel in Firostefani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Dolphins is situated in the village of Firostefani, which is a 10 minute walk from the capital village of Fira (through a beautiful pedestrian path on the caldera). We have the privilege of being at a magical location in terms of view and peace of scenery, but also close to the restaurants, bars and nightlife of Fira, the capital of Santorini. Blue Dolphins is also connected to the picturesque village of Imerovigli which is also just a 10 minute walk through a pedestrian path on the caldera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments Hotel Firostefani
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing