We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful and Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Agali Houses

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Agali Houses
Ranked #3 of 15 Firostefani B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Agali Houses are a classic Santorini experience. It looks like they used to be actual homes (each staircase down the cliffside has a street name) and so they are quite spacious by European hotel standards. We stayed in a Studio Sea View, and it was amazing. Little front room and kitchenette, then a back bedroom and large bathroom. Our semi-private balcony opened up to an incredible view of the caldera.

Be prepared to get some exercise going to and from the hotel, as they are located a good ways down the cliff. The porter will meet you, hoist your bags like they are nothing, and make you feel like a ridiculous fat tourist by scampering up and down some couple of hundred steps with your luggage. The hotel staff meet you with fresh juice and walk you down (and down, and down) to your room where you'll get a nice half-bottle of wine.

The wi-fi extends to the rooms in theory but not in practice (at least, not for us), so you'll just have more time to gaze at the sea. Breakfasts are very nice, with table service. Their pool area is lovely (and where the wi-fi is strongest, hilariously). The whole hotel is gloriously quiet and peaceful.

We loved it and would go again in a heartbeat, assuming we spend some time saving up first. You definitely get what you pay for here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crankin79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    45
    11
    0
    4
See reviews for
27
157
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boucherville, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

That's the number of steps to our very nice room (#116) from the main road or boardwalk to Fira. A fabulous balcony very close to the swimming pool only 10 steps away, however without the customers being able to see us. My take is that most room and balcony offer privacy.
You get what you pay for with nice, attentive and dedicated staff, view to dream the day away and enjoy a good cocktail, good breakfast on a fabulous terrace and a nice and quiet room. We did Dana Villas in 2007, also very nice, but preferred Agali with a lower price as a bonus.
Trip Advisor reviews helped our choice and overall found them accurate. Many many photos to remember our 3 nights vacation.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mickey06Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

Loved this hotel. All the prior reviews were very accurate. The staff could not do enough for us from the moment we arrived and gave us great advice on places to go and renting cars etc. Breakfast was very good too but don't expect the full American buffet style. Overall great hotel in the perfect location in Firostefani

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank degbof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

We stayed at this incredible hotel in June 2013 and could not have been more blown away by the views, the property itself and most of all the people who work there. They helped to arrange a transfer from the airport and when we arrived we were greeted by a gentleman who kindly carried our luggage down the stairs (and there are a lot of them) to our room, which was very much appreciated considering we'd just traveled 23 hours to get there. Sophia and Vaso at the front desk were so helpful, pointing us in the right direction in terms of where to go and what to do (they even helped to arrange our rental car and had the company come to the hotel to do the paperwork). We enjoyed a delicious breakfast each morning thanks to the ladies at the snack bar/cafe and they even learned and were catering to our preferences.

We booked a superior apartment and could not have been more impressed with the facilities - a living room, kitchenette, bedroom and a huge terrace overlooking the caldera - some of the most incredible views on the island.

The location is perfect - a quick (10 minute) walk into Fira and far enough down the cliff to offer complete and total privacy. There are A LOT of stairs, but the work to get up and down is all worth it once you're there.

We really could not offer a more enthusiastic recommendation to stay here if you ever visit Santorini. The place itself is amazing, but the people who work here are all so kind and helpful that they make the experience even that much better. We will most definitely be back!!

Room Tip: We booked a superior apartment and felt that the value was well worth it because of the huge rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

We stayed here in July 2012, and my girlfriend and I can say that it's best we have been too. The location is great: close to Fira, but far enough no to meet thousands of tourists from the cruises. Th staff was very warm and dedicated us a lot of time to explain all the necessary information in Santorini, and the breakfast was incredible.
But the magnificent views this hotel has were the best of trip.
I hope to go back one day!
=)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PabloMadrid80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

We stayed here over the summer and there is truly nothing I could fault about the Agali House. Right from the word go, you were not only treated to some magnificent views, but also by some really friendly and welcoming staff. The bottle of wine is another example of the small little things that make this a great hotel to stay in. The room we were assigned was clean, spacious and very tastefully done, not to mention the magnificent views you get the moment you step out of your room into the little balcony area. It's in an excellent location with plenty of good quality restaurants nearby with authentic Greek food and not the usual touristy fare. Breakfast is generous and of good quality and the dining area it's served in is just the perfect way to start the day with glorious views of the caldera! Of course has to fine with the steps it takes to get down to the hotel, but this would be the case with all the hotels along the stretch.

It's a perfect hotel to stay in with that special someone. You can just laze around at the hotel all day and / or take short trips to the sights nearby. The Agali Houses was recommended to us and we would definitely recommend it to others. To us it seemed like the best of all the hotels on the strip. We will definitely be going back at some point :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bosch311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

We stayed at this hotel in July of 2012. It was absolutely wonderful - I cannot say 1 negative thing about the hotel or the staff.
All the rooms face the caldera - so the views are wonderful! The pool area is great as well - super quiet and very clean. The breakfast was also excellent - and it was super clean everywhere!
We had a Superior 1 Bedroom - as it was my husband and I and our 2 kids. The room was very nice - with a small kitchenette as well.
The best part of the hotel was the staff though - from Vasilli at the front desk to the bellman who carried our (heavy) suitcases up and down the 100 stairs!
I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: The Superior Suite was great - and had a very nice, large verandah
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank parveen50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Firostefani
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
0.1 mi away
Belvedere Santorini
Belvedere Santorini
#8 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#2 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ira Hotel & Spa
Ira Hotel & Spa
#7 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anteliz Suites
Anteliz Suites
#4 of 80 in Fira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mill Houses Elegant Suites
Mill Houses Elegant Suites
#6 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agali Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agali Houses

Property: Agali Houses
Address: Firostefani 84 700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Firostefani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Agali Houses 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Agali Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agali Houses Hotel Firostefani
Agali Hotel Firostefani
Agali Houses Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing