We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Good; The Bad”
Review of Agali Houses

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Agali Houses
Ranked #3 of 15 Firostefani B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Throw all of the American notions about what a hotel is like out. Agali House is built into a cliff and thus it is comprised of several levels connected by stairs. You will climb lots and lots of stairs, but that's just the way it goes. First the Good: Agali Houses is beautiful from an architectural and design standpoint. The colors, the design just makes you feel good. The pool seemed small to us, but turns out, it is one of the bigger pools. Each room is like it's own condo and you have your own patio. The location is excellent. It's far enough way from the hub of town (the bus terminal is twenty minutes away) but close enough to get to everything. Also, some of the best restaurants in town are at the top of the steps. Also, the bus stop to Oia is right at the top, as well. It was also very quiet. The bad: Breakfast is not great. There is a small selection to choose from, and the hostess brings you a basket of breads and meats. I saw a lot of it go to waste. Seems to me, it would be more cost effective and convenient to have a full buffet like other hotels with more variety in cereals, fruit, etc. While it seems most rooms are awesome, ours wasn't and it wasn't what I was booked. We were told we were "upgraded" to an apartment, but when I saw another room that was what I had originally booked, I felt like it was more of a downgrade. We didn't need a kitchenette, and it was so far away from the pool, etc. It had a funky smell. Many of the rooms had shade covers over the patio, ours didn't, and it was very hot and made it uncomfortable to hang out on the patio. The curtains don't really block out the sun in the morning. Finally, our room did not have a shower. After a long day on the beach, etc, it would be nice to take a shower, but there was just a sprayer in the tub. When I asked to change rooms, I was told they were fully booked, but it was still only 2 pm in the afternoon. Ultimately, I think this is a nice place, we just had an off experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michaelann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
There are newer reviews for Agali Houses
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

Great hotel
great staff
amazing views,
Helpfull in everyway possible.

15 min walk to the hussle n bussle of fira.

Hotel is amazing.

The staff are friendly and are willing to help you in anyway.

The rooms are spotless.

And the most important thing the views from every room are breathtaking.

I would recommend anybody to give this great hotel a go.

Thanks Agali for your hospitality

Harris & Marie

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hfroux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Breathtaking view and a perfect location in Firostefani for watching the sunset. 15-20 minutes walk to city centre and 3 minutes to the bus station in Firostefani. Passionately decorated, beautiful and clean rooms with a very good size for Santorini. Reasonable prices at the hotel snack bar, good breakfast. Best greek hospitality, very professional, friendly and helpful staff always with warm smiles on their faces. Thanks to Vasiliki and Jota who made our stay so comfortable. We'll definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ipexs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed here for three days 11-14 June and we could not have picked a better hotel to start our anniversary week on the beautiful island. Vassiliki and her staff could not do enough for us and were always on hand to advise and recommend places of interest and restaurants to eat at . That saying everything about Santorini is fantastic, from the food to the people . The views from every room of the beautiful Caldera are fantastic and to relax by the pool or your balcony to watch the sun set will have you 'wanting not to go home'. Breakfast on the balcony you must do, no rush , no pressure, fantastic views and totally invigorating which sets you up for the day. Go there , you will not be disappointed and wonder why you never came before!

Room Tip: room 114 excellent though all are of sea view.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roy o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Ww stayed at Agali Houses as part of our honeymoon trip. The hotel is beautiful, we had an apartment close to the pool. Staff was helpful, the place is calm and the view is absolutely breathtaking. My only complaint would be the breakfast, it's sufficient but rather simple with a small variety of food, e.g. store-bought joghurts.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ssw223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed 4 days and everything about the place was great. We arrived before our room was ready and staff made us welcome with seating drinks and snacks overlooking Caldera. When we were shown room it was out of this world. Compact but room for all you need to do and a generous balcony. Breakfast great and staff so helpful. They booked us a table at top seafood restaurant and organise pick ups and taxis to meet all our needs. Steps are a killer. 140 from our door to roadway above. You want a spectacular location and unrivalled views. That is the price. Thank god for the porter. We left at 5 am. He carried bags up the steps ahead of us. Seen him do it for two older travellers from States with 2 x 30 kg plus bags. Like Popeye. I trust they tipped him. We did. It would have spoiled our trip if we had to handle our two light suitcases. Enjoy your stay in paradise. Respect the porter.

Room Tip: If you want a quite time ask for one without too much passing traffic. Ours was great but some peopl...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fivemile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We were originally booked and (stayed for two nights in La Maltese in Imerogivili.) We were really unhappy with our room so were given the choice ,by the lovely staff to be upgraded to Agali Houses for 3 nights.
There are a number of steep steps down to the property... but it is more than worth the climb.
We were given a suite overlooking the volcano with our own private balcony and sun loungers... it was fantastic!! After the disappointment we had experienced at La Maltese we felt unbelievably lucky to be at Agali Houses.
The view is out of this world and the location is excellent. There are some great bars and restaurants just at the top, ( Onar being our favourite for excellent food and service and a perfect place to watch the stunning sunsets.
Firostefani is an easy and beautiful walk into Fira. I'm not a person that goes on holiday to walk miles along bumpy tracks, which seems to be the norm in Santorini, so this location was perfect for us. Please note tho ladies, they is no point packing any sort of heels for day or night... sparkly flip flops all the way!
The breakfast area outside is lovely with breath-taking views again.
The hotel is immaculately clean, with a gorgeous pool. All the staff are very friendly and will help you with anything you need.
If you are visiting Santorini then this is the place to be If we ever return then I will 100% book this hotel.
. You do pay more than staying in Kamari or Perissa etc, which are the beach resorts, but if you want to stay on the 'beautiful' side of Santorini, then you get what you pay for at Agali Houses.

We hired a jeep for the week and travelled round the whole island, you can easily drive from top to bottom in a day.
We certainly preferred the Caldera view side of the Island and can imagine people being quite disappointed staying at the beach resorts... Kamari is by far the better resort than Perissa ,with a lovely walk along loads of beach front restaurants and gorgeous little shops. The beach is black stones, and for me too hot and uncomfortable to walk on bare foot but my husband braved the sea ( bit chilly in May) and said it was nice once in!? If you eat in one of the beach front restaurants then you get a free sun lounger and waiter service which is great!
We visited Oia twice and loved it, and also Ammoudi Bay below Oia. Fira is also gorgeous with an amazing atmosphere, absolutely packed, and we visited in late May, its hard to imagine how crazy it becomes in the high season! But its beautiful. We walked all the way down the mountain to the harbour and came back up in the cable car. Food and drink were expensive but we had some lovely meals in the most beautiful settings and it was worth every penny.
It was always an absolute pleasure to return to our hotel room after a day sight seeing to catch the last few hours of sun, Agali Houses give you luxury, beauty and relaxation all rolled into one.
Santorini is an experience we will never forget and is one of the best holidays we have ever had, but in my opinion location is key!!!!

Room Tip: Room with a view is an absolute must!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tequila_baby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Firostefani
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
0.1 mi away
Belvedere Santorini
Belvedere Santorini
#8 of 21 in Firostefani
506 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
#5 of 21 in Firostefani
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#1 of 21 in Firostefani
838 reviews
2.4 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
0.2 mi away
Anteliz Suites Santorini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agali Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agali Houses

Address: Firostefani 84 700, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Firostefani
Price Range: £130 - £405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Agali Houses 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Agali Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agali Houses Hotel Firostefani
Agali Hotel Firostefani
Agali Houses Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing