We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mill Houses Elegant Suites
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Firostefani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2012

After a warm welcome at the airport from Nenad, we were taken to a stylish, modern suite in a great location with breathtaking views over the caldera. Each day was started with a smile from Livio who brought a lovely, fresh breakfast to our verandah while we enjoyed the colourful vista bathed in sunshine. In the evenings, over a glass of wine, we watched it all turn into a glorious fiery sunset.

It's only a 10 minute walk to Fira, but we actually preferred the area aound the hotel which is less touristy and has some very nice shops and restaurants.

The hotel is expertly managed by Dimitris, who has created a culture of excellence where each staff member strives to give the very best possible service. He is a real professional, and leads his team by example. The friendly, helpful attitude of everyone at Mill Houses gives it a unique advantage.

This is one of the best places I have ever stayed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilianC199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (800)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

357 - 363 of 800 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2012

(1) Rooms are small, but very comfortable and clean.

(2) Location is excellent; right near Fira (main town in Santorini) and close to Oeia (village at the tip of the island).

(3) View is breathtaking. That's not an exaggeration.

(4) Complimentary breakfast is very good, with a variety of options (you can custom order your breakfast each day).

(5) Dimitris (manager) and the staff are wonderful. Also not an exaggeration. Your wish is their command, and if there is anything you would like to see/do/eat/explore on the island, they will provide good advice and help in any way they can.

(6) The cost per night is high, but so is any worthwhile hotel on the island. The cost of a room with a view of the Caldera is even higher, but the breathtaking view of the Caldera is worth it.

We (my girlfriend and I) flew in from Athens very early in the morning. We were picked up by Nenad (employee of Mill Houses), who was incredibly friendly and took us directly to the hotel while giving us a helpful overview of the island. Dimitris was very accommodating despite us arriving hours before check-in. We stayed three nights, and could have stayed ten more. This hotel is wonderful, and the island itself has much more to offer than I anticipated.

A real bonus for me: everyone on the staff was light-hearted and had a good sense of humor. Due to Dimitris' leadership, the type of people the hotel hires, and also because of the small size of the hotel, I did not feel like the staff were just employees of the hotel. To me, it felt more like they were friends of mine there to help me better enjoy my vacation. This type of "engaging service" made my stay that much more enjoyable.

I cannot say that this is the best hotel on the island because I have only stayed at this hotel in Santorini. What I can say is this: Santorini is worth visiting, and if you do visit, you will not regret staying at this hotel.

***Things that made our stay better that cannot be attributed to the hotel: (a) the weather was sunny and warm every single day (although windy); and (b) the island was not that crowded b/c we went in mid-September (September visit is highly recommended).

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the Caldera.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

our 4 days on the island of Santorini was spent at the Mill Houses. The staff were very friendly, polite, attentive and knowledgeable about everything on the island. they provided some great recommendations (such as a visit to the Akrotiri archaeological site) and organised great trips for us. Restaurant recommendations were also great (but don't go to Mama Thira, too expensive for the food you get). they also provide free pickup to and from your point of arrival/departure which is very convenient! couldn't ask for more.

Room Tip: if you don't want to walk down and up stairs constantly to get to and from your room to town, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aakhyani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Had a recent 3 night stay in the Mill Houses. Our room was a traditional cave room (Room 104 which is a junior suite) spread over 3 levels which was quite unique. We didn't have as much space as other rooms but the uniqueness made up for this - we had a brief look at some other rooms which are all different and have pro's and con's (more room, better view etc etc). The view from the hotel is spectacular and we enjoyed sunset from here every night. It’s a pleasant 10 minute walk to Fira which passes by a number of nice bars and shops. The service from the Mill Houses team was good from pick up to drop off. Drinks prices were reasonable as was the laundry service.

A couple of minor points - bathroom towels are looking a little tired (we ended up using the much nicer and bigger pool towels instead) and the fridge could do with updating although it was still very useful for water and wine. Also, the shower wasn't built for tall people - be prepared to crouch a little if you are over 5'8"!

There is a good restaurant in walking distance which wasn’t in TA called Vanilia, would highly recommend this. The Ginger Sushi Lounge also looked nice although we never ate there. Restaurant recomendation within Fira (10/15 minute walk) was Assyrtico - Fantastic meal and great wine.

We would recommend and will consider staying here again when/if we return to Santorini in the future

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

The best hotel we have ever stayed in (we are advocate travelers), from the fantastic service to the location and the breathtaking view we couldn't have asked for anything more. Will most definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malita_Keith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Location of the hotel is fantastic. Firostefani is a short walk to Imerovigli (where there are stupendous views) and Fira (15mins), so is right in the centre of things. I stayed in studio room#2 and it was a 1 minute walk to the Firostefani bus station, and this allowed me easy bus access to Oia + the rest of island.

Service was great. Enjoyed chatting with Dimitri + team, cleaning lady was very smiley and friendly, Dimitri also drove us to the airport at 5ish to catch the early morning flight to Athens.

Only small gripe is that my room was just below Mylos restaurant+bar and sometimes the music was a bit too loud for comfort.

Room Tip: loud music might be issue for rooms below mylos cafe
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank nemanjavidic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

My husband and I had wanted to visit Santorini for a while and when we were invited to a wedding in Cypess decided to tag it on. It took us ages to make a decision on where to book as it had to have beautiful large clean rooms with amazing views. Mill houses had everything and Much more. Each day a fresh and varied breakfast was delivered anywhere of your choice. Dimitri and his staff were so kind ,helpful and friendly. Dimitri helped with car hire ,booking trips and recommending great restaurants. We had really amazing meals each lunch and dinner. Mill houses is in the perfect spot just 15min walk to thira(which could get quite busy)and imervigola(a little quieter). The views were just amazing a perfect location. A huge thank you to Dimitri who made our stay just perfect and unforgettable with his wonderful kindness.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaxineH2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Firostefani
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
0.1 mi away
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
#5 of 21 in Firostefani
1,033 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Porto Fira Suites
Porto Fira Suites
#8 of 80 in Fira
449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#1 of 21 in Firostefani
851 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anteliz Suites Santorini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Houses Elegant Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Houses Elegant Suites

Address: Firostefani | Santorini, Firostefani 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Firostefani
#5 Family Hotel in Firostefani
#9 Romantic Hotel in Firostefani
Price Range: £82 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mill Houses Elegant Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The endless Aegean sea... Deep blue flirting with pigments of rugged stone... The breathtaking Caldera, as in a picture from a famous postcard... At the bay of Firostefani, on the stately rock that bridges the sky with the sea, the whitewashed figure of Mill Houses Boutique Hotel & Suites in Santorini, looks like hovering over the mesmerizing cliff. With a unique view to the volcano of Santorini - the symbol of power of a sea that historically united cultures - our hospitable suites seem entangled in an indiscernible dialogue with the mythical elements of the island. Live an unforgettable experiece at our dreamlike Boutique Santorini Hotel & Suites in Firostefani. Honeymoon in Santorini ? Make it an experience of a lifetime. We can skillfully organize your Santorini wedding according to your needs and wishes. Our Santorini boutique hotel offer honeymoon suites with verandas overlooking the Volcano island. Honeymoon in Santorini with hundreds romantic getaways, a perfect beginning to your new life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mill Houses Elegant Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Houses Studios And Suites
Mill Houses Studios Hotel Firostefani
Mill Hotel Studios
Mill Houses Elegant Suites Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing