We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best sunsets in Santorini”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunset Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunset Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Firostefani B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greater Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best sunsets in Santorini”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Sunset hotel was a fantastic place to stay. The rooms were very clean and we were provided with fresh sheets/towels every day. Each room looks out onto the ocean which is beautiful. The terrace is a great place to sit and enjoy the view or eat breakfast if you choose. Breakfast each day was great with a choice of eggs, bread, spreads, yoghurt and tea/coffee/juice. Nek was very helpful and helped arranged a shuttle from the hotel to the port for us as well as organising quad bikes for us to hire. Beautiful hotel in the best part of Santorini. Don't bother going to Oia for the sunset, the sunsets at the hotel are better. Highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natbyl90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    68
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
24
113
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moorestown, NJ
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

This hotel is small and the rooms spartan, so I would not recommend it for honeymooners or anything like that. But we really enjoyed our stay here, as did another couple we traveled with. We were given an map and told about Santorini when we arrived. We also were given a complimentary glass of wine. The location of this hotel is excellent - above Fira but a 15 minute walk the caldera to Fira. The rooms were all recently remodeled - this was great for me as I often have allergies in rooms that are not fairly new. The deck in front of the hotel overlooks the caldera and wonderful sunsets. Very relaxing place to enjoy a bottle of wine and take in the sunset. You can catch the bus to Oia across the street from the hotel. Breakfast, is included with your room and there is free wifi as well. Outstanding value, and good location - we'd definitely stay here again.
Note: - the hotel *does* accept credit cards. When I booked the web site said the hotel did not accept credit cards and you had to pay in Euros. With the commission and exchange rates I took a hit by converting dollars to Euros when I could've just charged it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HBlack56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Like the title suggests of course. Very cute if a little spartan but that's part of the Santorini relaxation. Everyone has a large balcony to share with all other guests. A little hard to find at first, and be careful with the taxi costs, if you're coming from the ferry port then you should be paying no more than 25 euros. Cost to the airport via a shuttle was 16 euros. Breakfast is very nice and Nick tenders to all your needs and fancies.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arkadiusz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We loved this place. Great location and fantastic view right outside our door. We ate Maria's wonderful breakfast in the sunshine on the patio. Nik was great with giving us sightseeing advise and arranging our taxi back to the airport. Thank you for our stay wonderful!! Don't miss the opportunity to stay here

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrstthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Loved this place from the moment we arrived. The location was superb, just a
10 min scenic walk to Fira, the local store selling a variety of food drinks etc restaurants and pizza place all less than 5 mins walk from Sunset hotel! What a gem of a place. Our room was lovely ,very minimalist and chic with comfortable king size bed . The rooms were kept spotlessly clean by the lovely Maria.
Nic ( the owner) was just as attentive and helpful with suggestions of trips and where to eat.
Breakfast was continental style and delicious too with a good variety of fresh products including orange juice , fruit, yogurt, cheese, ham, jam, marmalades,tea and coffee as much you want.
The view of the Caldera is to die for ,together with the sunset it was all very stunning.
Finally Santorini is indeed quite unique as Islands go with lots of pretty properties. Sunset Hotel is indeed an asset to the tourist trade that supports the islands economy.

Room Tip: All rooms were lovely however room 15 has a bath with shower over it and is bit bigger than 14 . 19...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweepSouthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed for a week in September and had a super stay with stunning weather and views.
Breakfast was very nice and comprehensive and served in the breakfast room or on the terrace.
The location if Firostefani was also excellent and a pleasant walk (although somewhat up and down like anywhere on the caldera). Some restaurants and shops just nearby. Also easy to get the local bus to Oi and also nice walk to Imerogvigli. It is not really worth going anywhere else to watch the sunsets as the hotel is in one of the best positions. Nek was a great help and arranged out airport transfers which were excellent. Maria also very friendly and helpful and hard working! The rooms were kept very clean and for the cost this must be one of the best value places on the caldera.
We will definitely return soon as we have been to Santorini 3 times already and this is one of
the best places we have stayed and could imagine staying in. Thanks again Nek and Maria.
Sorry took so long to do the review!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosieBWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed at the sunset for 9 days in october,and although it was maybe a bit to long,we really enjoyed our time there.
Nek the owner really was helpful as most other people here said and maria the maid who spoken broken english was first class and our room was cleaned every day and made the breakfast every morning.
NEk arranged our transport from the airport[so easy and reasonable]
WE had room 13[not unlucky]as we had a sink,kettle and even a portable small cooking hot plate[did not use that]
If i had one issue with the room is the hard bed as it had a hard base,but small detail as have stayed in similiar beds before,small shower area but managed we that.
What made this place was apart from the view [enough said] was the people we met there,most people were there for a few days or a week and as were there the longest,we met quite a few different people from different countries and different ages.
As we are retired and therefore older is was really good to be included in conversations,the very nature of this hotel,9 rooms made it so much the better.
We see enough of the island and went on a half day tour of the island and 20 euro each had a great time and again met different people.

Made our way around by local buses as well,busy though when cruise ships are in and were packed,but part of the fun of being on holiday and again met so many more people.

Would we go back [certainly time permitting although still a load of places to visit]and would stat here again.

One thing that was slightly concerned about before we went was the cost of eating out,and although you could pay a lot for meals etc.we found various places that were no more expensive than anywhere else,
Salt and pepper we found on the main road on the edge of fira,so so good and we made to feel welcome and went back twice,and the small italian restaurant just outside of the sunset hotel.
Overall a really good holiday[so miss it] and with a view to die for,

If you were thinking of booking this hotel and you get on with people BOOK IT yes there are probarly better hotels on the island,but you would pay a lot more if you wanted that view.

Room Tip: room 13 had somewhere to make tea etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Firostefani hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#2 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
0.1 mi away
Ira Hotel & Spa
Ira Hotel & Spa
#7 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Manos Small World
Manos Small World
#6 of 21 in Firostefani
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ellinon Thea Boutique Hotel
Ellinon Thea Boutique Hotel
#16 of 21 in Firostefani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belvedere Santorini
Belvedere Santorini
#8 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Hotel

Property: Sunset Hotel
Address: Firostefani 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Firostefani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Air-condition, Direct-dial phone, Music, Color TV, Fridge, Safe box, Hair dryer, Dinning room. Studio massage, Breakfast area, Daily service, Cafe-bar, Transfer, Tours, Car-moto rental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sunset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing