We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Boutique Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ellinon Thea Boutique Hotel
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Firostefani
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A little Boutique Gem”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Another Greek island and another lovely experience and perhaps Santorini is the closest to heaven on earth that you can ever get. The volcanic and rocky landscape makes you wonder how and why people ever settled here in the first place, but then you get up from the dock to the top of the island and understand immediately - the view is breathtaking! Our hotel was little and quaint with friendly staff. The room modern, clean and very nicely decorated and the piece de resistance was the balcony with an incredible view out over the caldera and it was fantastic for viewing the wonderful sunset. That is also where the spa was located and I can personally recommend sitting in there with a bottle of red wine and some snacks as the sun goes down is just the ticket before going out for dinner. In the morning you call reception and your breakfast is served on your balcony which was absolutely lovely too. One little warning though don't leave your breakfast for a minute as there are plenty of little birds who want to share with you.
Perhaps the only drawback was the enthusiasm passersby had for our cute location as they couldn't help to come by for a chat and a feel of the water! Also keep in mind that Santorini does have cruise ships that dock for the day so there are some crowds around on those days, however by evening they are for the most part gone again.

Room Tip: The rooms with the outdoor spas
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    67
    29
    9
    1
See reviews for
28
107
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Millport18
Level Contributor
119 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Took a one night trip to Santorini from Crete and stayed here. Very nice welcome and staff. We had a two storey room with the bedroom upstairs and a jacuzzi in the bedroom - although we didn't use it. The balcony had an incredible view out over the caldera and it was fantastic for viewing the wonderful sunset. In the morning you call reception and your breakfast is served on your balcony. As ever everything in Santorini is relatively expensive compared to other islands and this hotel is no exception but it was worth it.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms do not have the sea view so check when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millport18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We were in room 8, a maisonette.

Cons:

1. Nia, the owner as well as the maid were quite cold, unfriendly, and made it clear that they didn't like us bothering them with any problems that occurred. The maid warmed up to us later as we complimented her on how clean she kept the rooms and on the breakfast.
2. Be aware that this is more like a guesthouse (as a previous guest has already said). Whereas, the pictures present it as a luxurious hotel with a jacuzzi, balcony, and rooms that look larger and more glamorous than they actually are. Facilities are like those of a two or three star accommodation. So the high price is mostly for having a wonderful Caldera view.
3. Temperamental and confusing AC unit that had to be manually switched on/off all night because the temperature controls were not working. Sometimes the AC wouldn't turn on or off at all. I complained a few times but it was still not fixed. It made it tough to sleep in this heat.
4. The room had a noisy de-humidifier unit that went on and off through the night.
5. There is a cafe right outside the place. It was usually quiet but was noisy with live music until past 11:30pm on our last night there before an early morning flight!
6. Indoor jacuzzi is not practical to use, so didn't get to use it at all.
7. Tiny TV with very poor reception and no decent English speaking channel.
8. Old key system for door and only one set of keys were given.
9. We based our choice of hotel on the reviews, but now I see that most of the reviews are from last year and before.

Pros:

1. An even better than expected Caldera view! Our location was incredible! Ten to fifteen minute walk or easy bus ride into Fira or Imerovigli. Generally peaceful, yet with small shops, restaurants, and mini market right there.
2. Tastefully decorated rooms.
3. Excellent standard of cleanliness.
4. A filling breakfast each day of hard boiled eggs, bread rolls, fresh fruit, cheese spread, mini cheese pasties, mini sausage pasties,cake, coffee and orange juice. Loved having it served to us on a tray on our balcony when we called for it during breakfast hours. Just wished the breakfast items were varied a little each day, at least the fruit.
5. The young girls who worked at the reception desk some evenings, were very friendly and helpful.
6. Had excellent, free wi-fi coverage.
7. We loved the view from our balcony and rooms!

Room Tip: Make sure you have an upper floor room facing the Caldera.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kikidee_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We unfortunately were given the worst room of the hotel. The view from our room was a very small car park, and our balcony which was barely big enough for 2 overlooked the stairs to reception which was at the back of the hotel. The pictures on there website show lovely roman baths however our room was equipped with an indoor spa which was not only dangerous to get in and out of but made the room incredibly humid. The location of the hotel is fantastic if you want to stay right on the Caldera, and the staff were extremely helpful and the rooms very clean, however if you choose to stay at this hotel make sure your get a room with the Caldera view otherwise don't bother. BEWARE: This is not a 24 hour hotel, we turned up at 6am and had to wait until 8 when they opened.

Room Tip: Only stay in a room with the Caldera view however be prepared to pay for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SeetheWorldb450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The hotel is excellent in architecture. We had a split-level suite which was quite romantic. The balcony overlooked the aegean sea and Caldera. We had a built-in jaccuzi which added to the romance. The room contained all that you need in a suite. The staff was quite helpful. Breakfast was ok. But they accomodated our requests of tea or hot chocolate instead of coffee. The idea of having it in the balcony early morning was wonderful. Only drawback is the location of the hotel which is 15 mins walk from the main shopping area although the walk is quite interesting which is small road alongside the cliff with the whole view of the Aegean sea with Caldera.

Room Tip: Even the ground floor rooms overlooking the caldera are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaumudijoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Our hotel was very nice and situated well for us to get to everything that we wanted. The room we stayed in was a split level suite, we had a lounge and toilet downstairs, with a bedroom and shower/toilet upstairs. Out on the balcony was a view across to The Aegean Sea, and if you looked around the right hand end you could see quite a bit of the Caldera view. We were glad that our room was at the back of the hotel as it tends to get very windy sometimes and it blew from the Caldera, so we were sheltered. Also there was a jacuzzi hot tub on our balcony that we used nearly every day. A very nice breakfast was bought to our room each morning which was very suitable considering the sizes of meals in the restaurants. Very happy with our choice.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back with Aegean Sea view are less windy and we were told by locals it's windy all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tutu210362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We had a beautiful room and the service was excellent. We were very excited to have a hot tub in the room, but it turned out to be a bit of a hassle. Condensation formed on every available surface (including clothes and electronics) and by the end of our stay everything was very wet. However, the room was beautiful, the breakfast was great, and it was an easy walk into Fira. We did enjoy relaxing in the hot tub, but we would recommend leaving windows and doors open if you use it!

Room Tip: We did not pay extra for a Caldera-facing room and did not regret it. There are many good places to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Firostefani hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#2 of 21 in Firostefani
802 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
0.2 mi away
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
#3 of 21 in Firostefani
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Belvedere Santorini
Belvedere Santorini
#9 of 21 in Firostefani
460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mylos
Hotel Mylos
#14 of 21 in Firostefani
96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ira Hotel & Spa
Ira Hotel & Spa
#7 of 21 in Firostefani
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellinon Thea Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellinon Thea Boutique Hotel

Property: Ellinon Thea Boutique Hotel
Address: Firostefani 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Firostefani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ellinon Thea Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the most wonderful spot of Santorini island offering an immense field of the Aegean sea view and the volcano emerging through its crystal clean waters, Ellinon Thea Boutique Hotel is the ideal choice for a truly relaxing "experience" stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ellinon Thea Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellinon Thea Boutique Hotel Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing