We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow what a view and good value for money.”
Review of Gaby Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gaby Apartments
Ranked #8 of 15 Firostefani B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

After trying to find reasonable price accommodation in Thira with a Caldera view I came across a recommendation for Gaby Apartments in Firostefani on TA. When we arrived I was blown away with the view from the apartments. We where in room 1 which was a good size, very clean and we found it comfortable. Our room did not have a kitchenette but had a fridge, kettle couple of plates, mugs, glasses and cutlery. It was a 10 minute walk along the cliff top walk to Thira and just over a couple of minutes walk in the opposite direction to a selection of Tavernas, bars and a mini market in Firostefani.

We spent our 1 night at Gaby Apartments on the balcony with a bottle of wine watching the sunset, a wonderful end to our Greek holiday. Having previously spent a fortnight on Santorini we only chose to say 1 night prior to our flight home but we wished we had stayed several nights.

Gaby was very welcoming and especially helpful in arranging our taxi transfers. We where very glad to have a taxi waiting at the very busy port when we arrived on the Blue Star ferry.

Room Tip: If staying again I would try to book one of the top floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank w-spoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Great room with a great view!
The room is very clean, with a balcony offering a breat-taking view on the caldeira. A dream come true!
Quiet location, near good restaurants.
Katerina, the owner of the rooms, is adorable. She gave us recommendations for good restaurants.
One piece of advice: don't take big suitcases for your trip to Santorini since it's only stairs and narrow paths everywhere.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie_Azzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Gaby apartments has a wonderful ratio price/quality since most of the accommodations in Santorini that have the same view are much more expensive. Located in the center of Filostefani it is a perfectly central accommodation in the island from which you can go north and south. But be prepared to take a shower in a shower tray as little as your dog's bowl and the lack of a shower curtain will flood all your bathroom floor.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franci19562014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Fabulous place with a fabulous view at a very good price. We have a very good time at that place. It is located nearby very good restaurants and city center. The view on the Calderia is fabulous with astonishing sunset in bonus.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Réjean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We loved our stay at Gaby's apartment. The view from our apartment was stunning and the location, terrific! It is walking distance to Fira (down a slight incline on a cobblestone path ---can be difficult if mobility challenged). The apartment was clean and well laid-out and Katarina was a fantastic host. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krb2213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Close enough to walk to Fira and far enough to get away. The only way to book a room is to send an email. If you want to reserve a room you will be asked to deposit money in a bank account. I was unsure of this at first but apparently that is how you do it when booking a room in a family run place.

The view from the upper apartments are magnificent. Tour buses flock to this spot for a picture perfect photo. You will want to spend every sunset on your balcony!

Rooms include a small refrigerator an a hot water pot. The shower is small. I mean tiny. But some things are worth putting up with!

I highly recommended this place.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank RjF-LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

World travellers know that views often do not match the postcards; some do, and that is gratifying; and then you have the rare and inspiring cases where the postcards just cannot fully encapsulate the view. Gaby's apartments are in this last category. We had 180 degree views from our balcony ( apartment 3) that were just stunning. Lonely Planet refers to the white houses (and many hotels) draped over the Caldera cliffs; from a distance, some of it looks like snow on mountains. And at night, it takes on a fairy tale appearance. Gaby's daughter Caterina is a marvellous host; very pleasant, helpful, and with good advice for eating out. Previous reviewers have referred to the showers - on the one hand, a mild irritation perhaps; on the other hand, for couples, holding the shower rose for each other adds to the romance of the setting! All this comes at a very reasonable prince. Excellent value.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iangharris188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Firostefani hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#1 of 21 in Firostefani
866 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belvedere Santorini
Belvedere Santorini
#9 of 21 in Firostefani
521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ira Hotel & Spa
Ira Hotel & Spa
#4 of 21 in Firostefani
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Splendour Resort
Splendour Resort
#17 of 21 in Firostefani
451 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
0.2 mi away
Reverie Santorini Hotel
Reverie Santorini Hotel
#1 of 15 in Firostefani
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaby Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaby Apartments

Address: Firostefani 84700, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Firostefani
Price Range: £96 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gaby Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaby Apartments Hotel Firostefani
Gaby Apartments Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing