We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All in one -santorini must for budget travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Katerina and John's Hotel
Ranked #37 of 40 Hotels in Perissa
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Budget accommodation, walking distance to the black beach of santorini. Next door to family owned quad bike/ATV rental also well priced with detailed reader friendly map of must sees of santorini. 2 mins walk to best gyros tavern in Greece (personally for me). Walking distance also to a supermarket.
Great place to meet other like minded travelers.
Recommend for all budget travellers.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarahnutella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2013

Awesome hostel for the price. We had a private room for 8 euros and we had air con and a fridge. John is very helpful and is taking us to the port this morning for our ferry to Ios. Definitely recommend

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SimonJohnBowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay at Katerina and John's. John picked me up at the airport when I arrived and dropped me at the port when I departed. The staff was extremely friendly and very helpful. The rooms are simple, yet clean. The hotel had a bit of a rustic feel, but great for the price! The hotel is in a quieter part of the island (Perissa) away from the busy main town of Fira. There is a market and a 24 hour bakery across the street and tons of great restaurants and bars nearby! A short walk to Perissa beach and the bus stop was right in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Allycakes_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I couldn't help but think a poo on the floor would have brightened the place up a bit.
We showed up and were perplexed that the hostel we had seen in the photos and read so many great reviews about could have been this bad. There were actually cockroaches under my friends bed.
Dont get me wrong, we were not expecting paradise for the amount we were paying, I am avid backpacker and have stayed in my share of bad hostels. But we were just a bit out off by first impression, we stayed for a night but decided to change hostels as we were wanting a little more for our trip. The staff were friendly but didn't speak any English which wasn't that big of a problem. The pool was lovely! We went for a good swim then went for a walk to the beach (which they said was just opposite the hostel which turned out to be untrue).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TazeyDaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

This hostel is cheap and cheerful. Perfect for a 4 night stay in Santorini.

John met us at the port at 02:00 with a smile and that smile stayed until he dropped us back at the port 4 days later.

Don't expect luxury for €17 a night for a double room. The room was big enough, had A/C and a clean bathroom with hot water. We just used it to sleep.

There is a cheap supermarket and a 24hr bakery 200 yards from the hostel.

The beach in Perissa is beautiful and just 500 yards from the hostel. The beach front restaurants offer great deals with big portions.

We had a lovely stay and toured the island on an ATV.

Would stay at Katerina and John's if I island hop again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robwick23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

The staff at Katerina and John was very nice. All the employees of this hotel seemed very happy to help. They are right next to an internet cafe, a bakery, a convenience store, and a moped rental shop, which was perfect. Just a short moped ride to the beach too.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ReeseLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

My friend and I stayed with Katerina and John and really enjoyed our visit. Our room was clean, with a basic bathroom, fresh towels a fridge and basic cooking utensils. John was super kind;he picked us up from the airport and dropped us at the port.

The location is wonderful for the black beach. It's easy to catch the buses to Thira and the red beach. There is a scooter/quad bike rental place next door, but we weren't brave enough to ride them around. The wifi worked relatively well in the pool area and the 24 hour bakery is fabulous.

John was so lovely to us, he really made our time in Santorini! Thanks!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perissa
0.1 mi away
Santa Irini Hotel
Santa Irini Hotel
#15 of 40 in Perissa
136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Emmanouela Studios & Villas
Emmanouela Studios & Villas
#9 of 15 in Karteradhos
45 reviews
0.5 mi away
Roula Villa
Roula Villa
#11 of 40 in Perissa
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Anny Studios
Anny Studios
#30 of 40 in Perissa
207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Petra Nera Hotel
Petra Nera Hotel
#24 of 40 in Perissa
100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Markos
Villa Markos
#14 of 40 in Perissa
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katerina and John's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katerina and John's Hotel

Address: Emporeiou Perissas, Perissa 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Perissa
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 40 Hotels in Perissa
Price Range: £21 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Katerina and John's Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Katerina and John is located on the island of Santorini. We are in the heart of the beautiful town of Perissa and only a few meters away from the beach. Perissa is known worldwide for its black beaches and sunny days. Our hotel offers you an unforgetable vacation in a very clean and safe enviroment at an economical price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Katerina and John's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katerina And John's Hotel Santorini/Perissa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing