We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely stay again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Katerina and John's Hotel
Ranked #32 of 39 Hotels in Perissa
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Will definitely stay again!”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I stayed here for a period of 10 days, during which I was put in the large dorm room next to the pool. The showers weren't that great and the rooms were a little rough around the edges, but when it comes to finding budget accommodation in Greece (and no that isn't an oxymoron) you really can't beat the place. There's a pool you can swim in, you're directly across the street from the beach, and the owners are so nice and will even pick you up at the ferry point as soon as you land in Santorini.

Room Tip: The large dormroom is ideal for budget travellers (7 euros a night) but be prepared for a lack of sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlowerGypsy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    46
    24
    7
    17
See reviews for
5
43
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights during a quick visit to Santorini. It was great for my purposes.

John collected me from and took me back to the port in the early hours of the morning. The apartments are a 10min walk from the black sand beach which is nice after a day of sightseeing. There's a bus stop right outside and a supermarket across the road.

The bathroom was good, the studio was on two floors and both had a balcony with table and chairs. The pool looked lovely, although was in the shade a fair bit and I didn't use. The kitchenette was really scruffy looking and I didn't use it - if I'd been staying for a while I would've asked to move.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kirstyboo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The hosts were very very nice! They picked us up from the port way after midnight. They were booked up so we moved to a hostel next door after 3 nights. We also rented the ATV for 4 days and they also offered to take us back to the port when we were leaving!!! (we didnt ask, they just offered, which was a lot more than our other hostel did)

Not the best wifi, however quite average for the island.

Room Tip: you may not get much sunlight on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yaamur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Budget accommodation, walking distance to the black beach of santorini. Next door to family owned quad bike/ATV rental also well priced with detailed reader friendly map of must sees of santorini. 2 mins walk to best gyros tavern in Greece (personally for me). Walking distance also to a supermarket.
Great place to meet other like minded travelers.
Recommend for all budget travellers.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahnutella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Awesome hostel for the price. We had a private room for 8 euros and we had air con and a fridge. John is very helpful and is taking us to the port this morning for our ferry to Ios. Definitely recommend

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonJohnBowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morton Grove, Illinois, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay at Katerina and John's. John picked me up at the airport when I arrived and dropped me at the port when I departed. The staff was extremely friendly and very helpful. The rooms are simple, yet clean. The hotel had a bit of a rustic feel, but great for the price! The hotel is in a quieter part of the island (Perissa) away from the busy main town of Fira. There is a market and a 24 hour bakery across the street and tons of great restaurants and bars nearby! A short walk to Perissa beach and the bus stop was right in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Allycakes_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I couldn't help but think a poo on the floor would have brightened the place up a bit.
We showed up and were perplexed that the hostel we had seen in the photos and read so many great reviews about could have been this bad. There were actually cockroaches under my friends bed.
Dont get me wrong, we were not expecting paradise for the amount we were paying, I am avid backpacker and have stayed in my share of bad hostels. But we were just a bit out off by first impression, we stayed for a night but decided to change hostels as we were wanting a little more for our trip. The staff were friendly but didn't speak any English which wasn't that big of a problem. The pool was lovely! We went for a good swim then went for a walk to the beach (which they said was just opposite the hostel which turned out to be untrue).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TazeyDaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perissa
0.0 mi away
Emmanouela Studios & Villas
Emmanouela Studios & Villas
#8 of 15 in Karteradhos
38 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anny Studios
Anny Studios
#31 of 39 in Perissa
201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santa Irini Hotel
Santa Irini Hotel
#12 of 39 in Perissa
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Stavros Villas
Stavros Villas
#4 of 15 in Karteradhos
176 reviews
0.5 mi away
Roula Villa
Roula Villa
#11 of 39 in Perissa
244 reviews
267.1 mi away
Petra Nera Hotel
Petra Nera Hotel
#25 of 39 in Perissa
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katerina and John's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katerina and John's Hotel

Property: Katerina and John's Hotel
Address: Emporeiou Perissas, Perissa 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Perissa
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 39 Hotels in Perissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Katerina and John's Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Katerina and John is located on the island of Santorini. We are in the heart of the beautiful town of Perissa and only a few meters away from the beach. Perissa is known worldwide for its black beaches and sunny days. Our hotel offers you an unforgetable vacation in a very clean and safe enviroment at an economical price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Katerina and John's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katerina And John's Hotel Santorini/Perissa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing