We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“away from kaos”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Katerina and John's Hotel
Ranked #37 of 40 Hotels in Perissa
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Katerina and john offer free transfers to and from the port when you arrive so make sure you take advantage of it and organise beforehand as it is mayhem at the port with hundreds of people everywhere yelling.
The hotel is about a 5 min walk from perissa black beach but 20mins by bike to get to fira which is central to the most popular clubs, restaurants etc. it'll take an hour to get to oia to watch the beautiful sunset but is well worth it just be extra careful when riding home as the roads are pretty dangerous.
24 hour bakery across the road (has the best food!!) and a supermarket next door. To hire mopeds or quads, go next door as its johns son and he'll give you a cheaper rate as your a customer. you need a bike license for a moped.
the wifi is ok.. you need to walk around the swimming pool to find the strongest point, there is no wifi in the rooms. I stayed in a 10 share, was very crowded and hard to make use of the bathroom but the private rooms are better. if you like quieter areas, you'll enjoy perissa. Fira is pretty full on. John is absolutely lovely and 5 nights is plenty in santorini! you could even do 3 or 4 and you can cover the whole island in that amount of time

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blair f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

we arrived in Santorini and had arranged a pick up from John, he wasn't at the port so had to ring him to collect us. the "hotel"is surrounded by quad and motor bikes and you enter through a wooden gate. the photos are misleading to say the least.our room was very basic not very clean and had no balcony.the swimming pool is small has scum round the edge of the water level and the area round the pool smelt of petrol. after coming back from our evening out there were cockroaches and beetles in our room, couldn't get an answer from reception but two men came to our aid and disposed of them for us. told us to get john to spray as he had in their room. awake till 4.30am as people talking all night round the pool.got up at 7am packed and left and went to a lovely hotel down the road.went back to pay for our one night and tried to charge us 15 euros for the port pick up i did not pay this as our room was a health hazard. the pool area was a fire hazard as you could see into the garage where the motor bikes were maintained, hence the petrol smell. avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights and found it quite enjoyable. Here are some pointers for the place:

- Moderately clean bedroom and bathroom
- Air conditioned
- Wifi connection is not very good from inside the rooms
- Perissa is abit far from the main city centre so make sure to bring your driver's license as there is an ATV rental place eight next to the place for a reasonable price.
- Close to bus stop and grocery store.
- Close to the beach and a strip of restaurants

Overall was a good place to stay.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank isurus2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Nice location in Perissa right on the main street. ATM, Bus, Rental, food and drinks (Dorians Pub) is within sight, and the black beach is a short walk away.

We paid 11 euro pr. person for a 3 man room and that was money well spent! Free pickup at 2am from the airport and transfer to the port when we left.

Room was small but clean and with a decent shower. Nobody but us used the pool but lots of young people hung around all day for wifi and phone charging.

Nice, quiet and relaxed atmosphere, and the owners were really nice despite limited English!

I can only recommend if you are looking for cheap accommodation for a few days

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sebastian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This is the most disgusting dirty and vial place I have ever been! Picture are false advertisement if I have seen them. Grunge and dirty. We arrived the floors were dirty, the sheets had make-up on pillow cases still, holes in them, dirt on them... The pan in the cupboard had never been washed not even the cooktop burner! Saying there is a balcony and tv is a lie.... The room comes with bunk beds! What is that about?!!?!?! The place was so dirty we never would even unpack or take our shoes off to shower. Don't waste your money. It's gross dirty and vial. The pictures are not real and neither the descriptions. When we asked the owner said well I described only a few rooms a couple on the upper level look like that... I can't show or describe every room.. I was changed rooms and both were nasty! Neither was as shown! DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!!! The internet barely works, the pool is there but the rim is covered in scum. Windows don't have screens so you can't open them without bugs or lizards ( lovely way to come into your room finding a lizard when you check in!). The owners get angry and yell at guest which is completely unacceptable.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaimersB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed here for 1 night in late june for £12.
The owner John collected me from the airport for free but charged 18 euros for a 15 minute transfer to the port the following morning. My advice is get the bus from the stop outside this hostel.
There is some road noise in the room and it is very basic and that well looked after but the beds were clean and comfortable . The aircon was poor.
For a cheap night between islands, I would stay again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank ClintBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

John was kind enough to wait for us upon our arrival at Santorini's port and take us back to the hostel. We booked a three bed with our own bathroom and we were pleased to find that the room also came with a small kitchen complete with stove, mini fridge and a microwave. Probably more than we have bargained for a basic room, the place is well kept and the toilet is very much in a good condition and clean.
Good location as we are very near a 24 hour bakery, convenience stores and you can find a lot of restaurants along the way. The bus stop is just right outside Katerina & John's Hotel. Also, a 2 Euro Pita Gyros is not far from where we were staying at. Plus point - we were very near the Black Beach! About a 5 min walk. You can find car rental agencies along the same road as well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoannaOoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perissa
0.1 mi away
Santa Irini Hotel
Santa Irini Hotel
#15 of 40 in Perissa
136 reviews
0.5 mi away
Roula Villa
Roula Villa
#11 of 40 in Perissa
269 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anny Studios
Anny Studios
#30 of 40 in Perissa
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Markos
Villa Markos
#13 of 40 in Perissa
138 reviews
4.1 mi away
Anna Pension
Anna Pension
#3 of 15 in Karteradhos
125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Clio
Villa Clio
#12 of 40 in Perissa
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katerina and John's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katerina and John's Hotel

Address: Emporeiou Perissas, Perissa 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Perissa
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 40 Hotels in Perissa
Price Range: £22 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Katerina and John's Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Katerina and John is located on the island of Santorini. We are in the heart of the beautiful town of Perissa and only a few meters away from the beach. Perissa is known worldwide for its black beaches and sunny days. Our hotel offers you an unforgetable vacation in a very clean and safe enviroment at an economical price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Katerina and John's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katerina And John's Hotel Santorini/Perissa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing