We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for small children.”
Review of Perissa Beach

Perissa Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
US$136.72*
and up
Santorini Food Tour by Electric Bike
Ranked #2 of 10 things to do in Perissa
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not for small children.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Free sunbeds if you eat in the bars. Sand is black and very gravelly. It isn't very good for romantic walks. Clean and plenty of beds.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Denzy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,944 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,769
    1,574
    503
    78
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The sand is black”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

As it states on the tin the sand is black , thats about the gist of it really - cant really get worked up either way about it,its a beach its black ....

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MoldyOldDough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
567 reviews
191 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 908 helpful votes
“Unique and relaxing”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Perissa offers a unique experience in many aspects. Firstly the black coarse sand - we found that just amazing.

I agree with the other reviews that the sand gets very hot. I strongly suggest that you take swimming shoes to avoid any discomfort. The crystal clear ocean was most inviting for a quick, cool dip.

Perissa is certainly one of the best beaches in Santorini to relax and unwind and was not crowded at all.

We thoroughly enjoyed the restaurants that line the shore. We had a mouthwatering authentic Greek lunch right by the ocean.

I can highly recommend a visit to this unique black beach! Just remember to take a hat, bottled water, sunscreen and swimming shoes.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank zerwickrenatevictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good plac to stay!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We have been to different beaches in perissa and depending on where you are located, there is a fee or not.
Almost all of them have a fee for 2 sunbeds and one umbrella at 7 euros. Don't pay more!
if you go further south of the beach you will find free sunbeds and umbrella.Tthe prices on the drinks are as well very good! (blackrose beach, happy fish bar,..). Some very interesting restaurant are around, I recommend the apollon restaurant.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Thiebaud S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love the black sand”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I think this was one of the better beaches for swimming. There are plenty of nice place to eat. And you can rent ATVs close by at MOTOmania. Just be careful the sand gets really hot.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Corabell7894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Perissa Beach also viewed

 
Perivolos, Santorini
 

Been to Perissa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing