We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Island”
Review of Veggera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Veggera Hotel
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Perissa
Certificate of Excellence
maidenhead
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic Island”
Reviewed 26 June 2009

Really enjoyed our stay on Santorini. We stayed at the Veggera Hotel in Perissa and the location of the hotel was great. Right on the beach & plenty of restaurants & bars within a minutes walk. The hotel was clean and the room we had was spacious and lovely balcony with views to the mountains. The breakfast was buffet style but for Greece we were impressed & plently to start you day off.The bars along the beach road tended to be a bit more expensive for drinks but 5 minutes walk to the main road was Dorian's, where you could get a large beer for 2 euros and cocktails for 3 euros. Most of the restaurants seemed to be about the same price and there were a lot of good deals for meals for two with wine for about 25 euros. We enjoyed Gods Garden and Lava. At Lava they take you into the kitchen to choose what you want including the fresh fish caught daily. Although we never had a bad meal at any of the restaurants.
If you want to treat yourself for the day, go to the Suite of the Gods hotel and have a spa package. The hotel & spa centre has been converted from an old winery & the massage rooms and heated pools are situated in candlelit caves. You can the spend the day or evening at the hotel & enjoy the swimming pools and lunch or dinner with some of the best view of the caledra and the island. A really fantastic & relaxing day. We can't wait to return to perissa again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sueuk_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    159
    54
    19
    19
See reviews for
106
263
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cardiff
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

The hotel is in a fantastic location with good restaruarants along the stretch of Perissa. We were a group of seven with a small child who loved the pools.
Breakfast was ok , hotel area was very clean , with new sheets and towels every day .
Hotel bar was on the pricey side but all other bars and restaurants were reasonalbly priced.
Their are no pavements and therefore cars and pedestrians have to share the road - which is ok at the start of the season when the resort is quiet but I can imagine this would be very busy in the summer- and quiet worring with a small child .
Had a wonderful time - would recommend

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JuJuCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stalmine, Lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2008

Okay. My husband took me away for a surprise 40th birthday present. I had always fancied Santorini and a few years ago had commented this hotel looked nice. We arrived when it was dark and were immediately told we'd been given a better room than we'd paid for....AND we got a sea view (one of not many available here, but when you book you get told, 'balcony with inland view' so this was a lovely surprise). The fridge may have been 'in the wardrobe' as others have commented, but we have an integral fridge at home and that's all it was! Breakfast was a better experience than expected, not your lovely English fry up but a sight better than your standard ham and eggs affair AND the bread was lovely, something new on me for Greece. The restaurant in the hotel was nice, fantastic steak and chateaubriand. The pool was pretty clean and kept tidy. My only complaint was being short changed at the on site shop (which I got back!) and the 14 euros we were charged for 2 drinks at the pool bar, but otherwise a lovely relaxing time. PS, the girl on the desk was lovely, the male somewhat frostier!

  • Liked — Our room and view and nice people there who were also there to relax
  • Disliked — price at pool bar!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suenstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2008

Well lets get the bad bits out the way eh as it wasn't all bad.

From the reviews we had read about this hotel we were really looking forward to our 2 weeks, but oh boy were we in for a shock. We stayed on the top floor at the rear of the hotel. The room was tiny, you virtually had to negotiate with each other to get to the other side of the room.

There was hardly any space for your clothes, just a VERY small wardrobe with half its available space taken up with the fridge! Yes the fridge was in the wardrobe! The beds were horrendous, we've never had to sleep in such hard and tiny beds in our life and credit were credits due, the pillow matched the beds perfectly, rock hard, tiny and blummin useless.

There wasn't much relief to be had on the gorgeous balcony with the gorgeous sea view as surprise, surprise, we didn't have one; well we did have a balcony but no sea view and you were so overlooked that people could virtually place their hand on your shoulder as they walked past or step over the wall and join you.

The room nightmare did not end there.... We've NEVER stayed in such noisey rooms in our life. It wasn't that the people themselves were noisey just the design of the build; you had no choice but to get up when everyone else got up due to the noise caused by opening and closing doors, using the toilets, walking on the landings etc the noise was just AWFUL. You also couldn't try to sleep before the other residents returned or you were shocked awake by the noise of the doors closing etc.

It certainly wasn't a cheep holiday as it cost over £900 each for the two of us. So here's some costs for you to consider:

An average meal for two people = 55 euros
Sunbed hire for 2 = 8 euros per day
Cocktail = 7 euros
Beer = 3.50 euros

All the main eating venues were situated along the beech front but I would struggle to recommend any one of them as they were all very much of a muchness, however, the best place we found was on the main road not the beach road and was called Blue. It was run by a Canadian /Greek called Tony. It served FANTASTIC food and very different from all the others as it aimed to provide more quality and fine dining than any other resteraunt in Perissa.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank LiverpoolGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2008

Have just come back from a fab 2 weeks at the Veggera Hotel in Perissa. The best thing has got to be the location of the hotel: no more than a stone’s throw from the beach, and its 2 big pools. There were plenty of sunbeds at both pools and nice coverage from the lovely trees to give enough shade if you wanted a break from the cloudless skies.

The sea is very clean with big waves for the kids to jump around in. The black volcanic sand is actually tiny pebbles, good for not getting everywhere but very very hot; the pumice rocks into the sea are a bit slippery and you can go in without falling over, but not very elegantly. Better to invest in a pair of “sea socks” for around 6€ from the hotel shop. You can hire a pair of sunbeds and shade for 8€ for the day, or if you’re a real beach lover you can get 7 days for the price of 6. Everyone leaves their towels on them at lunchtime so that they’re still there when you get back. Quite a few foreigners wander the beach trying to sell overpriced sunglasses, CDs but well worth your money is an hour long massage for 30€ from one of the Chinese ladies.

The pool bar was a tad on the expensive side, especially if you drink Magners at 7€ a pint, but there were plenty of other cheaper bars very close by on the seafront strip. If you want really cheap drinks turn right out of the hotel, take the first right and walk up to the other main road in Perissa and there you’ll find “Dorian’s” and “Bob’s” bars opposite each other, serving cocktails for 3€ and large Amstels for 2€. Plenty of places to eat on the front: “Kalimera” and “Volcano” on turning left from the hotel, and “Acropolis” (big, cheap and good if you don’t mind relaxing as the food took a while to come) and “Limnes” on the right were our favourites. Walk further down the front to the left of the hotel and you’ll find lots more bars and restaurants up towards the church. There’s also plenty more on the road parallel to the beach.

It’s on this road that you’ll find bus stops into Thira: best walk up to the church and catch the bus there so it’s not too crowded; only 2€ into town. Thira was nice but rather too touristy given all the day trippers coming in from the cruise ships that visit the islan; we preferred Oia, which although more expensive was a lot prettier. You can hire a car for 40€ a day, but probably won’t want it for more than 2 days as it’s a very small island. Don’t bother going to the Red Beach unless you like scrambling doing a horrible pumice cliff face and being squashed in like sardines. Try Vlichada which is a bit nearer to Perissa and has a lovely beach and nice fish restaurants. A must is a boat trip round the Caldera: we swam to the hot springs (well warm springs actually) and then trudged up the volcano, the views from the top were fab but remember to take lots of water.

A really great holiday: fab hotel with lovely staff, excellent location and guaranteed sun. Would definitely go back.

  • Liked — Pools and beach
  • Disliked — Boring breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Cagsie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paidochori, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2008

My family and I have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Veggera hotel in Perissa. Fabulous holiday, best greek island yet. The staff are very helpful, pool and rooms very clean, breakfast is adequate. The photographs of the caldera (the cauldron of the volcano) do not do it justice and it must be seen to be believed. If you want a smart resort, try Kamari instead, but my husband and I prefer the local feel of Perissa.
My only criticism of the hotel was that there is now too much shade around the pools as the vegetation has grown since the brochure pictures were taken. My husband was really happy as he doesn't like full sun, but I found I needed to move sunbeds on a regular basis throughout the day. However this would not be a problem for beach lovers as the beach is 10m across the road!!
All the restaurants were good, but for lunchtime do not miss Grandmas on the beach front next to the Chocolat creperie. The souvlaki pita's are to die for and Kathryn the owner is great. The hotel bar is on the expensive side, so search out Dorians on the main street opposite the Meltemi complex for a large beer for 2 euros, and any cocktail for 3 euros plus free popcorn and peanuts.
Its also worth a walk up to Ancient Thira, straight up the mountain behind the hotel, often the local dogs will come along just for the trip, but go early in the morning whilst the ascent is still in the shade.
I would return to Santorini and stay at the Veggera tommorrow if I could scrape together the fare!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Pool areas too shaded
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2008

Hotel set in brilliant location opposite the beach.Pool area pretty,but was a fight to get sunbeds .Room has hairdryer but no tea making facilities which we missed.Sheets changed daily.We found the hotel bar expensive but the barstaff Cornelious and Emma friendly.Sunbeds in hotels area on beach charge 6 euros a day and make sure you leave a towel on them if you go for lunch or he will put someone else on yours or you will have to pay again.The sea edge is very slippery so buy some of the non slip shoes which are for sale everywhere for 6 euros or take Crocs,it makes it easier to get in the water.Dont burn your feet on the sand it is extremely hot.Breakfast uninspiring,bread,boiled eggs,processed cheese,feta,ham,cerial,croissant,melon,fruit juice'I suspect powdered'.I requested a high room but unfortunately we were placed in a below ground dungeon style room.After several request we were moved to a much nicer room.Loads of restaurants with similar menus but good food and to sit and look at the sea whilst eating was lovely.We dined in the Acropolypse,turn right as you leave the hotel.A trip on the bus took us to thira with beautiful views.You have to go to Thira to get a bus to other places.Only cost 2 euros to get there.Took a bus to the red beach.Boat waits and shouts red beach!We got on and then realised that it was 2 mins walk over the hill.I wondered where everyone was going!!Red beach disappointing,packed with sunbeds and umberellas.We only stayed about 15 mins.Oiya is lovely,we went for the sunset which was....ok,but it was a bit misty.Very expensive to eat where there is a view,so eat a street back,then go see the view.The Greak night was brilliant,great food,musicians and dancers.The day cruise to see the Caldere and walk up it,b.b.q and sail round the islands was good too.Take water with you on the cruise.The boat has a bar too and soft drinks.Look out for the chiahuahua taking the man for a walk on a pushbike about 9-9.30 am.Also a poodle type dog sitting on a motorbike tank wearing goggles.Overall a great place to chill and not busy at all for July.

  • Liked — pretty pool area,nice to relax in.
  • Disliked — underground room .no teamaking facilities,lack of wardrobe space,awkward bath to shower in,not good if poor mobility
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank meandim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perissa
0.5 mi away
Smaragdi Hotel
Smaragdi Hotel
#4 of 39 in Perissa
751 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Blue Hotel
Aqua Blue Hotel
#3 of 39 in Perissa
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stelios Place
Stelios Place
#2 of 39 in Perissa
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Santo Miramare Resort
Santo Miramare Resort
#1 of 11 in Perivolos
589 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#5 of 75 in Kamari
404 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bella Santorini
Bella Santorini
#5 of 11 in Perivolos
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veggera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veggera Hotel

Property: Veggera Hotel
Address: Perissa 84703, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Perissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Perissa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Perissa
#5 Family Hotel in Perissa
#9 Romantic Hotel in Perissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Veggera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Veggera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veggera Hotel Perissa
Veggera Hotel Santorini/Perissa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing