We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gardenia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gardenia Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Gem of a hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We spent 10 days relaxing at the gardenia and cannot fault them, the staff were lovely, always friendly and helpful even to the point that we returned to our self catering room to find fresh water melon and bowls of tomatoes from the garden left for us by the cleaner. The hotel is not the height of luxury but is clean and perfectly adequate for what they charge with a large pool which as early risers we had to ourselves most mornings. Paulo the manager helped with any questions we had and was a mine of info for where to go and how to get there. My only suggestion to them would be to provide microwaves in the self catering rooms. We would recommend the gardenia without hesitation and a restaurant on the beach called NxMatini, fab food and great service.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Niki r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    101
    34
    10
    5
See reviews for
41
167
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Just come back from Perissa, loved this hotel, our room although basic was clean and we had clean towels everyday. The staff were really helpful, Paolo on reception was always happy to help with any queries we had, not just about the hotel but general queries about the island. My friend wanted Rose wine at the bar, which they did not stock but Christo made sure he had some for her by the following day. The hotel is in a great position for the beach and the shops and restaurants, there is also a waterpark just across the road. The pool is a good size but not really suitable for small children and we never had trouble getting a sunbed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a week at the Gardenia and have to say enjoyed every minute .....
Close to the beach and main road for shops a 20 minute bus ride gets you to the capital Thira .... Highlight of the holiday has to be the guy behind the pool bar ... Didn't catch his name sadly ...
Don't take him to seriously he is a very funny man ....

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Rodney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have just returned from a week at the Gardenia and although it is typically basic Greek and the maid did a great job cleaning the rooms, we found the hotel needed a big makeover.

Christo, the pool barman, although a character, was lazy. He never cleaned the tables around the pool and only cleaned the bar area occasionally, the ground area should have been sluiced down every day and, because the ground was so dirty, the bottom of the sunbeds got dirty from your feet. The pool itself looked cloudier every day and we don't believe this was cleaned. Christo's answer to everything was to roll yet another cigarette. Health & Safety would have a field day in this place. We also felt the owner had lost interest in his hotel. We are surprised Thomas Cook haven't insisted that the owner upgrade the hotel. I'm surprised they haven't pulled out.

The place is a good size, not too big, and could be lovely with a bit of TLC and £500k thrown at it! Think we'll stay at the Kouros next time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivienne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Gardenia Hotel for a week in July. It was a late booking, the reviews were good and the price average. I have some mixed feelings about the hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful and checking in was just a matter of giving your name and being given a key and pointed in the right direction. The room was a good size and looked out over the pool and a rough area of land. The kitchen area was very basic. Just two of everything, enough I know for a couple, but a few spares would have been nice. There's no way you could cook in the kitchen or even prepare a sandwich, no sharp knives, chopping board etc. The beds were VERY hard but bedding was clean and sheets changed a couple of times during week. The shower in the bathroom flooded each time it was used and the grating in the floor was above the level of the tiles so the water had to be mopped up with towels every night. The cleaning was minimal, a quick brush over I would think as the same bits and dust remained on the floor all week. One big plus was the free air conditioning. We had a safe in our room which we paid one euro per day for. The pool area was lovely and always quiet but didn't see any one ever sweeping or mopping the surrounding area. No children's area in the pool and the shallow area is about four feet deep so not good for families with small children. We went to the hotel barbecue on the Friday night and the food was excellent, with wine included for 10 euros, but not much atmosphere.
Reading back this review does seem very negative but we enjoyed our week at the Gardenia, it's very Greek and the lounge area is lovely but the only bar is at the far end of the pool and this closed at 10pm so no nightcap after a meal out. The hotel is excellently situated for the beach, restaurants and local buses. With effort and money the hotel could be improved greatly.
Not sure that we would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JayCeeShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

had a great 2 weeks very friendly staff, hotel is basic but nice and clean. near to beach, bus stop at end of road, bars, restaurants, shops are all close and on the flat. pool was kept clean and guy at pool bar very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ron t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Nice Little hotel with very nice staff and atmosphere, 100 meter to the beach.
Better breakfast than simple is served.
Quet and relaxing atmosphere, nice clean rooms.
Close to mount Thira if you want to climb over the Ridge and get to Kamari by foot at the other side.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perissa
0.3 mi away
Stelios Place
Stelios Place
#2 of 40 in Perissa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.2 mi away
Veggera Hotel
Veggera Hotel
#7 of 40 in Perissa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.4 mi away
Smaragdi Hotel
Smaragdi Hotel
#3 of 40 in Perissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aqua Blue Hotel
Aqua Blue Hotel
#4 of 40 in Perissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meltemi Village
Meltemi Village
#5 of 40 in Perissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
2.0 mi away
Levante Beach Hotel
Levante Beach Hotel
#50 of 77 in Kamari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardenia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardenia Hotel

Property: Gardenia Hotel
Address: Perissa Beach, Perissa 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Perissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 66 Speciality Lodging in Perissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Gardenia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Bookgreece.com so you can book your Gardenia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gardenia Hotel Perissa
Gardenia Hotel Santorini/Perissa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing