We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do NOT stay Here”
Review of Youth Hostel Anna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Youth Hostel Anna
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Do NOT stay Here”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Honestly, this has been my worst stay in a hostel so far. Not only was the hostel dirty but the owner and manager was extremely rude to us. Do yourself a favor and spend your money somewhere else. We stayed in Santorini for 4 nights, the first night we arrived we stayed at Youth Hostel Anna... But everything was so TERRIBLE that we went to Katerina & John for the other 3 nights, it was a lot cheaper, cleaner, and at least the owner was nicer and not so rude like this guy. Did I forget to mention that the guy was so rude that he tried to hit my boyfriend just because we didn't want to stay at his hostel for the nights that we had left in Santorini. Extremely disrespectful, i don't recommend this hostel to anybody.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    29
    27
    7
    13
See reviews for
3
16
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

It's a hostel, not a 5 star resort so you can't always expect to have amazing showers and beds and quietness when you book in to one. However in saying that, having clean ones is always good. The bathrooms aren't great, but they're bearable. Wifi did work in my room but not for others. Literally a 5 minute walk to the long black beaches of Santorini, so fun to tan and chill on, and within a minute walk to a tour shop where they have a full day tour of Santorini with the volcano walk, hot springs swim and finishing in the sunset of Oia - we did this and it was totally worth it. Customer service was good, always helped you out when you needed it, rooms are normal, but can get hot.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jorddz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed in a 10 bed dorm.. to our detriment.
The first night we arrived we were exhausted and hoping to get some form of sleep. Instead it was noisy and loud outside our room until 5 in the morning. The air con in the room was absolutely horrific! Didn't work properly and we woke up in the middle of the night in the sweats.
The showers were disgusting and down a flight of stairs outside the room.
Internet didn't work in the room and there was only ONE plug for ten people???
We were really disappointed and felt that this hostel spoiled our visit to santorini.

Room Tip: Do not book a 10 bed dorm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pokerfacelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Perissa hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The private rooms are in a different place under a different name a bit further away. The key had to be put in a special place to get electricity so when leaving the house the fridge also stopped working. We spent 2 nights in a private room and a night in the dorm.

The staff were OK but when we asked if they can give us a ride back to the port when we leave (ferry went after midnight) they were quite doubtful and said they only make plans advance and told us to ask again the next day, when we were leaving. Next day I overheard a convo where a guest asked to get to the port and they told him to take a bus or a 25euro taxi. Instead we were invited to be taken back to the port by the hosts of our previous hotel next door.

In the dorm area internet connection is horrible and they only had 1 computer working in their computer room FULL of computers. Its easier to be connected to the Atlas wifi network across the street. In the villa for private rooms the wifi was good.

Also you have to check out at 11 in the morning which is a lot earlier than average.

Room Tip: The dorms (bigger rooms) on the first floor open to the hang out area and the street and will be ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yaamur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

What they don't tell u on there site is that check in times for this hostel are 8am - 2pm and 6pm -9pm which we were unaware of when we arrived at 3pm. I was furious that i had to lug my big backpack around for 3 more hours. Other than that great location to bike rentals, atvs etc. and great restaurants. Close to the bar strip but it wasn't too popular kind of an older couple type vibe. Hostel staff leave at 10pm ish and u have full control of the place, great front patio for playing drinking games and making friends. Overall liked the hostel met cool people, had fun but wouldn't recommend Santorini the beaches are rocky and too hot to touch the sand and the nightlife is non existent.

Room Tip: its all cheap, you can't go wrong with any room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaitlynMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Great place to stay! It was a 5 minute walk from Perissa Beach. Dorm style rooms. The beds are comfy, the rooms were really hot during the day, but they turn the AC on after a certain time.
Fun people. Shared bathroom (this was the only semi-negative thing as there were only 3 showers). Computer area. The common area is an outside sitting area which is really lively all the time!

It is near some fun bars and really cheap restaurants and grocery stores. If you walk down 5-10 minutes, many locals live there, so the area is just very authentic (at least it seemed that way to me!) I mean minus the naturally touristy shops to rent ATVs and motorcycles etc, which by the way you need if you want to go to any other nearby beaches because the bus takes WAY too long and the closest beach is literally 15 minutes on your own vehicle (almost 1 hour by bus).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel0wl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This place was really nice-and budget friendly. The lady there was helpful and they were able to pick me up and drop me off at the port-a must cause the buses are not reliable. I stayed in a four bed dorm, it was clean with big lockers and the air con was great! The bathrooms got really dirty fast-just cause of their design but i really dont think theres anything you can do about the dust and salt there. They were cleaned daily so that was great. location was fine-not in the main towns of the island but a really good home base. I would stay here again. Rent an ATV from the place next door if you can. The only bad thing was that the reception was open from 9-1 and then 7-9. Made it a bit hard, but i emailed requests and that worked.

Room Tip: The large dorms have good air con too and still seem to have enough room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justis11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perissa
0.1 mi away
Katerina and John's Hotel
Katerina and John's Hotel
#29 of 39 in Perissa
124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anny Studios
Anny Studios
#30 of 39 in Perissa
200 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roula Villa
Roula Villa
#11 of 39 in Perissa
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Santorini Breeze
Santorini Breeze
#6 of 17 in Perivolos
35 reviews
5.1 mi away
Kykladonisia Hotel and Hostel
3.9 mi away
Carlos Pansion
Carlos Pansion
#3 of 15 in Akrotiri
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Youth Hostel Anna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Youth Hostel Anna

Property: Youth Hostel Anna
Address: Perissa Beach, Perissa 847 03, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Perissa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 63 Speciality Lodging in Perissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Youth Hostel Anna Hotel Perissa
Youth Hostel Anna Santorini/Perissa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing