We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous Marianna”
Review of Marianna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marianna Hotel
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Perissa
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Marvellous Marianna”
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Just had a FABULOUS two weeks at this hotel!!! We were in a self catering apartment which was on the ground floor giving a great view of the pool area which looks wonderful at night, as does the whole hotel when we walked back from the beach and the whole place shines . Its a really impressive location, nestling at the foot of the mountain that separates Perissa fom Kamari, the walk over the mountain starts just up the road. Its a short walk to the beach and also the restaurants on the high street. Maria and her staff are welcoming and friendly and the place is kept EXCEPTIONALLY clean. Alex the barman is quite simply a STAR. He works 11-5 and then 7-12 as well as doing stints at one of the local restaurants, he is always willing to chat and WILL play requests (thanks for Dancing Queen, TWICE!!), order food, arrange massages and most importantly of all will make sure he has enough of your favourite tipple available. The pool area is great, Alex plays laid back music during the day and its just what you need as you chill out and admire the presence of that fabulous mountain. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!! As for Perissa itself its THE place to stay. Of course Thira and Oia are the famous pics on the postcards and its essential to see the Caldera and THE view from a cafe hanging onto a cliffside but Perissa has the beach and a great collection of tavernas. Can recommend the greek lamb at Hellas, the Kleftiko at Aphrodite and the fish platter at Xani. Another good thing about staying at the Marianna is that they are connected to the Porto Castello on the front which means you get good seats at their Greek Night and the fantastic Toby will see to your every desire as you soak up the rays on the FREE sunbeds. The staff are great at Porto Castello and their squid/octopus is to die for. Would definitely stay at both Perissa and the Marianna again - thanks & love from Kevin & Robert xxx

Room Tip: Choose self-catering for pool side view/access
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    101
    39
    14
    5
See reviews for
23
174
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

when we arrived we wasn't sure what to expect having read some harsh reviews before hand. but we were surprised the hotel was lovely we had room 31 overlooking the pool the room wasplenty big enough for the two of us and the free air conditioning meant we kept cool at night. maria the owner was wonderful and always greeted us with a lovely smile alex was also really nice and on hand if you needed a drink to cool you down. perissa itself is nice but we went exploring to other parts of the island via bus (which are very reliable) allbuses go to the capital Thira then from there you can catch another bus to other places i.e oia, kamari, perivolos. we booked a couple of trips the first being Simply Santorini (39euros) which was lovely our favourite part of that tour was the santo winery we don't drink but it was such a beautiful place with views over the caldera i can see why people sometimes get married there. our second trip was the sunset cruise (62euros) which was nice. meals out were relatively cheap most dishes being 5 or 6 euros. our most expensive was probably about 30 euros our favourite restaurants were God Garden,Hellas, Sirocco,cyclades and of course the restaurant alex also works in Porto Castella. if you stay at the marianna hotel there is a shuttle bus that will collect you there and back to the large supermarket The Co opwhich is the cheapest . there are also bakeries,laudrettes and a few little supermarkets dotted around. if your adventurous you can hire a scooter or quadbike. all in all we enjoyed our holiday and wouldn't hesitate going back to the marianna.......as a final note i would like to say a big thank you to henrietta the holiday rep she was lovely and bubbly and whatever thomson are paying its not enough. nothing was to much trouble for her and was there whenever you needed her.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlKev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

all in all a good hotel, location is king and in our opinion it was perfect next to a mountain backdrop a nice deep pool and great sunbathing pool area. alex the bar man was nice enough but dont even think about requesting a music track of your own, its his way or the highway unless your a johnny cash fan you will struggle to get into the grove and other silly utube clips. maria the owner is nice but as our trip came to the end the breakfast choice got less and less, bathroom waste bins need to be emptied daily which they were not, we have never stayed anywhere in the past where the guests all get on so well which was great. was not that impressesd with perissa if anything its alittle run down and doubt we would return. thomson rep henrietta was a nice helpfull pleasent girl

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ziggy1Derby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Like a lot of people, we read the reviews for this hotel before we booked it but still go with an open mind. We have just returned from 2 weeks at the Hotel Marianna and loved it from start to finish! The greeting we received from Maria, the Manager, was really welcoming and within 1 minute of getting off the transfer coach we were shown to our room by Aalez who told us he would be waiting at the bar for us in 10 minutes. Our room, no 31, which overlooked the pool area, with magnificent views of the sea and mountain, was really big, 2 single beds with side tables, a smallish wardrobe and dressing table, extra chairs and a small couch and 2 small tables, 2 ring burners, sandwich maker and a fridge with an ice box - which was really handy, plates, cups, glasses, cutlery, pans etc. etc. We were on self catering basis.

We went to the bar and met up with other people who had arrived at the same time as us, an excellent idea as it gave us the opportunity to get to know each other, we were then welcomed by Sammie Castello, owner of the bar and pool area, who offered us some meze and wine – and not just 1 glass either!! He explained as Marianna guests we could use the beach beds & facilities on the beach in front of his restaurant Porto Castello FOC, given a discount voucher for the restaurant and a very good insight to Perissa with some hints and tips. He also told us that for lunch we could order from the menu for the restaurant and it would be delivered - we tried the service on our last day – very good. A very good PR job on Sammie’s part. We were told the pool bar’s opening times and Happy Hour times – 7 – midnight, so looked forward to enjoying a drink in the evening at reduced prices!!!

The size of the pool and sunbathing area is amazing, plenty of room & beds for everyone, we all had our ‘own space’. The area was spotless, the only one fault we had was the beds had no mattress’s on them so made sunbathing very uncomfortable – soon remedied by buying 2 lilo’s but as this has been highlighted now for several years we’re surprised Sammie hasn’t picked up on it. We went to his restaurant for lunch and used the beds on the beach there, which all had mattress’s on so why not bring some to the hotel? As said on previous posts - Aalez loves his music!!!!! He doesn’t come on duty till 11 a.m. so things were pretty quiet till then, as soon as he arrives he gets himself sorted and the music starts, o.k, it’s not everyone’s cup of tea but it wasn’t the usual boom boom boom music, it was quite chill out but every now and again a few bizarre tracks appeared. All you had to do was ask him to change the music and if you suggested something and he had it, he was more than happy to play it. We heard a few people moaning about the music but if you don’t tell him he doesn’t know he’s upsetting you – please tell him, don’t sit there complaining. The bar was very quiet of a night, as most people went into Perissa to eat, we always tried to get back to the hotel around 11 p.m. to have a drink with our fellow guests, a great way to get to know about different restaurants, trips, places to go & see etc and Aalez would be there playing his music and making sure everyone was enjoying themselves, unfortunately 1 person seemed determined to make sure we couldn’t, he had complained to Thomsons about the music playing too loudly and insisted that it was switched off at midnight, one night he sat on his balcony like a caged animal waiting for midnight, then came storming over to a group of us, about 10-12 people pointing his finger at Aalez and screaming at him that he had been told 3 times, it was 2 mins past midnight!!! Aalez had already told us that it was last orders and it was the last track – a very slow song by Judie Tzuke – not exactly Black Sabbath!! Things could have escalated within minutes – what a sad man – relax you were on holiday, as we were. We weren’t screaming, singing or talking loudly, we were relaxing and enjoying what the hotel had to offer. The worst thing about this was he wasn’t an old man, there were several people older than him enjoying the music and company of others – me included!!! Why spoil it – we did ask other people who were on either side of his room and they said they hadn’t been bothered by the music. It’s true what they say – you can’t please everyone.

We loved the hotel and the position it was in, not too far from the beach and restaurants, shops etc, but wish that Perissa was a bit more ‘tidy’. The roads are dreadful, no pavements, street lighting pretty bad. On the main road you do tend to take your own life in you’re own hands sometimes, motor bikes screeching past you and as said, no pavements, we always carried a torch with us so of a night made sure we had that shining so we could be seen plus to make sure we didn’t trip on stones, potholes etc, the beach ‘road’ is quite bad as well, just loose dirt with dust flying all over the place - nice when you were eating in one of the open fronted restaurants. We went to Kamari one day and their beach front is beautiful, all paved, we were told no cars or motorbikes are allowed to drive along there of an evening, so you can really enjoy relaxing in the bars & restaurants – Perissa could learn from them. The lack of pavements and uneven road surfaces must make it very uncomfortable for wheelchair users.

We had been looking forward to visiting Santorini for over 11 months, we had been on a cruise last June and were due to visit, unfortunately because of winds etc, we were unable to tender, therefore unable to visit, so we had this picture of Santorini from a distance. To be honest we had been disappointed by Perissa, it wasn’t as pretty as we thought, never seen so many abandoned, wrecked cars and if you wanted to take a picture of something pretty there were usually power cables in the way! it wasn’t how we had pictured Santorini, so we did a bit of travelling around the island. Took the water taxi to Kamari, (4 euros each way – getting in and out of that boat was an adventure), lovely place, plenty of shops, restaurants and bars, huge beach. Took the local bus to Thira, (2.20 euros each way), that was a beautiful place with amazing views. Another day we got the bus to Thira, then onto Oia (1.60 euros each way) to see the sunset – STUNNING, got there around 2.30, enjoyed seeing all the houses, the views, the views, the views, had some lunch in one of the restaurant overlooking the volcano, then stayed to watch the sunset – beautiful – that was it – that made our holiday - we were hooked on Santorini.

Had some really good meals, in particular our favourite - Cyclades – on main road, typical Greek cuisine, their Special Lamb meal for 2 was amazing, we try not to go to the same restaurant twice, we went there 4 times and saw the same faces each time we went, so they must be doing something right- their attention to their customers was really good. Ntomotino on beach road, was another place we went to twice, more ‘trendy’ but food and service excellent. Had a nice meal in Atlantis Island. Not too keen on Hellas and Volcano. Usually had a drink or two (hic) in Dorian’s Bar after our meal before the walk back up the hill to the hotel, went to Bob’s Bar twice, it was o.k. but once we saw them giving more drinks to a group of American girls who basically couldn’t stand up because they were that drunk, we thought - not for us.

We really enjoyed out time in Santorini, once we saw Oia, we were hooked, so we would go back, would definitely go back to Marianna and have already recommended the hotel to our friends and people who asked where we got our tan from!

Thanks to Maria and staff for looking after us, to Henrietta – Thomsons Rep and especially to Aalez for your company and entertainment – you made our stay at Marianna one that we will remember for a long, long time. It was great meeting you all and the other guests while sitting round the pool and bar!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank CardQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Not much more I can add to all the positive comments I've read on here. As a solo traveller, I expected to be given a dingy room somewhere round the back but was given one on the 1st floor, with a pool/sea view. I had a double bed too which looked so pretty with its blue cover and matching mosquito net (didn't see any mosquitos or other bugs). The water in the room was always hot, even first thing in the morning. Buying a 7 euro lilo for the sunbed wasn't a problem particularly when the air con was free! The arrival night 'welcome meeting' by Sammy (Porto Castello owner) is an excellent idea as all guests got to know each other on the first night and a group of us went together to the Saturday Greek Night.

No issues with the staff either. Maria (the manager) was always around and helpful. Alex the bar man was very friendly, playing appropriate music and not too loud. Henrietta, the Thompson rep, was there twice daily and helpful with local info.

The hotel being away from the front meant a short, brisk walk up a gentle slope at night with an open field leading to the mountain on one side and mostly closed or half built buildings on the other. A bit off putting if you are on your own but the road is lit and I felt safe.

Perissa is rather 'hippyish' in style which I quite liked but the roads are quite appalling and the 'promenade' was mostly a dirt track. By comparison, Kamari had a nice paved promenade and seemed a bit smarter but it also had planes flying low over the beach as they came in to land so Perissa was definitely the better choice.

In Oia, there is a cafe (snacks and drinks, no meals) behind the coach station (just across from the bus station). It is a great place to watch the sunset from and you can get back to the bus station in 2 minutes, tops.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SuziKu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton. England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

My wife and I were after a nice chill out week, without hassle in a quiet yet accommodating hotel and resort!! We got what we were after, without question! Hotel room 3 was great, extremely clean, fridge and basic cooking facilities. We didnt want or expect anything else given the description of our hotel and what we paid for. The room overlooked the pool, the sea and had the mountain to the left hand side. The balcony had the sun in the morning through to late afternoon, which meant we had a sun free area in the evening which was welcoming.
The staff were all very helpful and friendly and gave the impression that they would help with anything if we asked for it. Alex - sort that daytime music out and you wont go far wrong! The poolbar was quiet of an evening and fellow guests respectful when the early hours came. The one complainant (you know who you are!!) needs to get a life and realise life isnt just about him!! Other guests had paid for a holiday too and we acting as people do when on holiday - relaxing and enjoying themselves, whilst cosidering others too!!
Perissa offers plenty at ths time of the year - all tavernas offering free sunbeds with cushions if required without any pressure being applied from Tavena owners. We had several lovely meals namely in The Apocalypse, Corner Cafe and Hella's. Dorians Pub is a great way to star the night (or day :-)) with a few cheap beers which was a the cheapest bar in town for drinks.
To conclude we will definitely be returning to both resort and hotel which says it all really!!! Keep up the good work we say............ :-) happy days

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Weza59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

this hotel is certainly worth more than the 2 stars it credits itself with. it is quiet and staff is accommodating to every whimp. being a bunch of girls, we had plenty and we were always pleasantly surprised by the effort shown by everyone. thanks especially to maria, the landlady and aalez, the bar tender and resident dj. we had loads of fun, sunshine and relaxation!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claudiahibberd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perissa
1.0 mi away
Smaragdi Hotel
Smaragdi Hotel
#3 of 39 in Perissa
739 reviews
1.6 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
0.2 mi away
Roula Villa
Roula Villa
#11 of 39 in Perissa
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Katerina and John's Hotel
Katerina and John's Hotel
#29 of 39 in Perissa
124 reviews
3.8 mi away
Stavros Villas
Stavros Villas
#4 of 15 in Karteradhos
174 reviews
0.0 mi away
Emmanouela Studios & Villas
Emmanouela Studios & Villas
#8 of 15 in Karteradhos
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marianna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marianna Hotel

Property: Marianna Hotel
Address: Perissa 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Perissa
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Perissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Marianna Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marianna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marianna Hotel Perissa
Marianna Hotel Santorini/Perissa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing