We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Smaragdi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Smaragdi Hotel
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Perissa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This was our third hotel in 2 weeks although a bit out of the way the hotel was great very clean and well maintained with a good staff who were only to willing to help. Our room was very large compared to most greek island hotels. The bed was comfortable and the room was well equipped. It is a 2 minute walk to the black sand beach ,beach bars taverns etc .A good value place to stay would like to return

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MikeJaneRham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (785)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 785 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

We spent 5 nights in a deluxe studio in the Smaragdi Hotel in October 2013.

Upon arrival, we found the hotel to be very clean and peaceful, although our visit was during the quiet season. The staff were all amazing and in my opinion the service was of a 5 star standard. On the first evening, Jorgos spent 45 minutes with us on the first day giving us information about the island: where to go; what & where to eat etc. All of the staff were extremely helpful and cheerful, and really contributed to a great holiday.

The room was spacious, modern and clean with a good bathroom and shower. The kitchenette had everything that we required, and the balcony was of a good size and perfect for breakfast or a drink.

The location is close to one of the best beaches on the island, with many brilliant restaurants and bars within walking distance. Perissa is about 20-30 mins by foot which isn't too bad. The main towns in the north are reachable by buses, otherwise hiring a car is easy. Taxis seemed a little expensive.

The hotel was great value for money I would recommend the Smaragdi Hotel to anyone visiting Santorini and if I ever return to the island I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MichaelCh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

In June we returned from our 7th trip to beautiful Santorini and our 6th stay at Smaragdi and , as always , it was a great holiday and relaxing break.
We booked independently since British holiday companies no longer use Smaragdi; and found it an easy trouble free experience, to book via their website which gives choice of all of their rooms with different specifications from Petite Budget up to Deluxe Studios and all at special rates. They can source flights if you have difficulty in booking these yourself but we booked via ThomsonFly.
An airport pick up service is available - this enables your holiday to begin once you have collected your luggage without the hassle of having to hail a taxi.

The Smaragdi complex is situated about 2 minutes walk away from the black sandy beach of Perovolos - which is on the flat side of the island - so it must be mentioned that you do not get the view of the caldera to wake up to but you do get beach views from the higher rooms and views of the pool area and across towards Perissa town and Ancient Thira when sitting outside on your own terraced areas.
The complex is well set out and has lovely gardens , with well maintained paths and slopes to enable disabled access if needed , the buildings are cream Cyclades style and the pool area has plenty of comfy sunbeds , umbrellas and a jacuzzi. The pool bar opens all day and until midnight.

The rooms are well equipped with all you need for a stay, whether its self catering or eating out at one of the many local tavernas which are within close walking distance . The furnishings are tidy and neat and there are double beds available - not just 2 singles pushed together.
There is plenty of crockery and cutlery and cooking utensils, and washing up liquid and wash up pad is provided! Although the bath rooms are small they have a shower curtain and a means of fixing the shower head onto the wall instead of having to hold it and struggle to shower. There is also a hairdryer. A lovely touch is a bottle of cold water in the fridge when you arrive! As you will need to purchase water as the Santorini water has a salty taste because of its high mineral content, Smaragdi sell water for drinking in handy 6 packs at a competitive price which saves the need for carrying it back from the shop! The nearest supermarket - the Euromarket - is about 5mins walk away. Free Wi-Fi is available around the complex and there is plentiful hot water owing to the solar heaters on the roof of each part of the complex. A free safe is also available within each room.

By far the best part of Smaragdi is the warmth and kindness of the family Maria and George ( brother and sister) and staff whose main aim is to ensure that your holiday is a memorable enjoyable experience, all members of staff are helpful and reception is available 24hours, they will arrange car hire , trips and provide information about places to visit and the island itself.
Cleaning is carried out to a high standard daily , and sheets / towels changed 3 times a week. Beach towels are also provided which helps with the packing weight!!
When we needed medical attention on our holiday nothing was too much trouble for Maria and Irene - for which we are very grateful- a taxi was called for us and we were given advice to explain how to attend the medical facility in Thira , along with advice about contacting the familys own specialist if that were needed.

As always we were sad to leave and will return again to our home from home in Santorini very soon !! Thank You All xx

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Thira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We were told be the bartender at tranquilo (a must stop in Perissa beach) that a place like Smaragdi, is amazing for its value. Our room was lovely, the pool was amazing, breakfast was convenient, and the bar service was outstanding!
Maria, at the front desk was sweet, helpful and funny, and Fotis and Anastasia behind the hotel bar were so much fun!
Thank you Smaragdi for making our honeymoon amazing!

Btw, when we did want a little extra nightlife, we were able to bus or can to Fira (the capital) with no problems. I recommend this hotel AND this island!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amandahats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This is a gem of a hotel, family owned and loved. Our room was large with a fridge and mini kitchen area. Our balcony had a sea view and overlooked the swimming pool. The property is laid out almost like a mini village. Very clean and pretty with lots of bouganvillia, a photo around every corner. The breakfast was very good with a good choice of items. The location was perfect, with large selection of restaurants and bars backing onto the beach. Will definitely make a return visit. We were collected from the airport by the hotel courtesy minibus which was great and we were then at a small fee able to use it to take us back to the airport. Friendly helpful staff, met some people who had been going for years they loved it so much.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to have their own appeal whether it be a sea view or mountain view. People with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The Hotel is at a through away distance from the Perissa beach that is the beautiful black sand beach with the swimming pool in the middle of the hotel and the rooms around it gives a very nice view from the rooms of the pool area.Clean and very well maintained Rooms and the add on facilities are great.
Some of the Rooms have the view of the mountain Proitis Illias ,Big Balconies....The Staff here in the Hotel is very helping and always wear a smile on their face...Always available to help....
Special Thanks to Maria and George for guiding us through the island arranging the Car and everything required.
Great Hospitality...Simply loved the stay here...
George, let me know in case you ever visit to India and we shall catch up....
Cheers!!!!!
Thanks for the Hospitality.....

Room Tip: All rooms here are well furnished in their own special way...Depends on the Room type you choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HimanshuWadhwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This is a trade off you have to make. Do you want to be near all the tourists, shopping and high priced restaurants in Fira and Oia? If so, then do not book a hotel in Perissa.

Smaragdi seemed like a nice family run hotel. Not a resort like I thought we were booking, but nice, clean and close to the beach.

Our room was large, we had a jacuzzi on the balcony. The breakfast was basic, compared to most European hotels we stayed at, although we do not have a comparison to other Santorini hotels so not sure if this was normal.

A very nice pool area where most guests hung out. They had a deal with one of the local beach restaurants for letting us use their beach chairs and umbrellas. The beach was beautiful.

We ended up renting a car one day to drive to Fira and then see the sunset in Oia. But these areas seemed so touristy and were loaded with expensive restaurants and shops. But there were some local mom and pop shops that we enjoyed looking in. So it was a tradeoff. We were far from the hustle and bustle but may have missed out on some good bars and shops. Other than a few restaurants, our location in Perissa had very little other activity, certainly nothing for tourists.

So the hotel was nice. There were other hotels actually closer to the beach that was saw that looked very nice and resort-like, compared to Smaragdi, but can not say if they were better or what the prices were.

We were not disappointed in our stay and felt the overall value was excellent. Just beware that you are in a quiet, remote part of the island with little to do other than beach and pool.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HendersonCMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perissa
0.7 mi away
Stelios Place
Stelios Place
#2 of 40 in Perissa
533 reviews
4.1 mi away
Apanemo
Apanemo
#1 of 12 in Akrotiri
715 reviews
3.4 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#1 of 21 in Firostefani
866 reviews
0.8 mi away
Roula Villa
Roula Villa
#11 of 40 in Perissa
269 reviews
4.5 mi away
Stavros Villas
Stavros Villas
#5 of 15 in Karteradhos
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smaragdi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smaragdi Hotel

Address: Perissa 847 03, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Perissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Perissa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Perissa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Perissa
Price Range: £30 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smaragdi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smaragdi Hotel lies at one of the most famous beaches of Santorini, Perivolos. It is an A class Hotel, which follows the traditional Cycladic architecture at its exterior and interior decoration. The hotel offers all modern comforts to its guests such as a large swimming pool, pool bar, breakfast room, playground, currency exchange, Jacuzzi, Free WIFI high speed Internet etc.The hotel rooms are spacious, sunlit and well taken care to the last detail. They are all fully equipped in order to make your stay here more pleasant. The hospitable atmosphere, in combination to the trained and pleasant personnel, which is always at your disposal, will make you feel at home. Arrival Transfer Free arrival transfer from airport/port (08:00-23:00, minimum 2 nights stay is required). Please inform the hotel through email or fax (you will find these contact details on the confirmation email you receive after you make your reservation) with the arrival details at least 14 days prior to your arrival in order to be able to book your transfer. Free arrival transfer is provided only if you have prebooked transfer appointment 14 days in advance. Contact details can be found on the booking confirmation. Kindly note that departure transfer is upon extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Smaragdi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smaragdi Hotel Perissa
Smaragdi Hotel Santorini/Perissa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing