We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family hotel outside Fira”
Review of Smaragdi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Smaragdi Hotel
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Perissa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Nice hotel with excellent swimming pool, rooms and apartments. Average breakfast, good service and friendly personnel. It's not far to the beach or if you want to go sightseeing to Fira or Oia. Most of all it's quit and a cosy place.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lothar Franz Ka... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (782)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 782 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

Wonderful hotel with the sweetest staff. Right by the beach but the pool is nice enough that you may not even feel the need to go to the beach. Great location if you want the cute, quiet side of town. They offer free pick ups from the airport if you ask in advance, we got George who was extremely sweet. The whole staff seems really passionate about Santorini and have great recommendations. We asked for the best view and got a lovely balcony room with a view of the pool. Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Ask for a lovely view, they will do their best to accommodate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Laura V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

We (2 couples) stayed here for 4 nights and the service was friendly and helpful from the time of booking all the way to the moment we left.

The rooms were well appointed for our needs and clean. The pool is wonderful if the walk to the beach/restaurants is only 2 minutes. Also close to the bus stop for accessing the rest of the island.

A wonderful experience, we would definately stay again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Kryptnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I had the opportunity to visit quite a few islands during my trip. Santorini was the first one and Smaragdi the first hotel...I was soooo lucky to come across this hotel and the people who put their heart and soul in their work....From the man who picked us up from the port ( with the nicest smile) to the beautiful ladies at the reception and .. The rooms were impeccably clean, the bathroom spacious with a beautiful jaccuzzi..Everything was just perfect, the hotel was a few meters from the beach and to our nice surprise there were tons of great restaurants on the whole strip. Will do it over and over again, Although I loved all the islands, Santorini was my favourite!!!! Was it the hotel, the restaurants, the people,...I guess it was a bit of everything...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 104Gabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

So glad we booked this hotel for our honeymoon. The staff greeted us upon arrival like we were old friends, and continued to do so for our entire stay.
Maria (manager/?owner) had a welcome meeting where she have everyone plenty of helpful information about the area.
She assisted us booking a fabulous catamaran evening dinner cruise, and a quad bike for the following day.
Our room was very comfortable and spacious, we had the honeymoon suite (it was our honeymoon), they cleaned it daily and provided additional bathroom items.
The only downsides at all would be that the pool is busy from the minute it opens to the second it closes - if you want a spot by the pool, arrive early!
The other thing would be that the bed was so large that the 'fitted' style sheet did not fit, the sheet between our body and the mattress was loose and could not be tucked in, I found this a little frustrating as I move around a lot in my sleep and it was moving too.
However that is just me being picky! The pool was nice, as with the spa, the breakfast was one of the best we had in Europe with the variety, the staff were amazing, we had a one minute walk to the black beach which is lined with great places to eat such as Tranquilo and Apollon.
We had a fabulous time and even after travelling around the entire Island we wouldn't stay anywhere else.
Thank you for the wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShereeNMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We arrived late at the hotel and were greeted at the airport immediately and driven to the hotel. Beautifully illuminated grounds and the manager George greeted us. He took the time to sit with us by the glow of the pool to tell us all we needed to know about our stay and the hotel. So very kind and helpful!
The breakfast each morning (I highly recommend this option) was delicious and very well layed out for the guests convenience. It was so pleasant to start the day with "Good morning!" from the staff and to dine by the pool with our breakfasts.
Maria, is absolutely exceptional!!! She recommended and made us a reservation in Fira to enjoy a front row view of the glorious Santorini sunset. She was also ever so helpful in answering any and all of our questions and inquiries. She hosted a welcome meeting that explained all there was to do on the the island and gave us very helpful tips. She is indeed a treasure.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone. I have stayed in resort properties around the world and this was by far one of my favourite boutique properties.
Thank you to Maria and her lovely and friendly staff, and for all of your help which sincerely made our stay memorable!
Matty & Tyler (room 52)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is a family run hotel and the owners always make you feel at home. Right from when you check-in, they will personally escort to your room. Later in the afternoon, there's a welcome session for the new guests. They even arrange local trips, help you to rent bikes, and recommend great places to eat.

The smaller petite rooms are comfortable enough while some of the rooms overlooking the pool seemed to be much nicer. Breakfast is sumptuous and the bar is open until late. Free airport/port transfers are offered as well.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Deb-Ghosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perissa
2.3 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#2 of 75 in Kamari
383 reviews
3.4 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
5.9 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
0.7 mi away
Stelios Place
Stelios Place
#2 of 40 in Perissa
524 reviews
4.1 mi away
Apanemo
Apanemo
#1 of 12 in Akrotiri
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smaragdi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smaragdi Hotel

Address: Perissa 847 03, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Perissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Perissa
#1 Best Value Hotel in Perissa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Perissa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Perissa
Price Range: £25 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smaragdi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smaragdi Hotel lies at one of the most famous beaches of Santorini, Perivolos. It is an A class Hotel, which follows the traditional Cycladic architecture at its exterior and interior decoration. The hotel offers all modern comforts to its guests such as a large swimming pool, pool bar, breakfast room, playground, currency exchange, Jacuzzi, Free WIFI high speed Internet etc.The hotel rooms are spacious, sunlit and well taken care to the last detail. They are all fully equipped in order to make your stay here more pleasant. The hospitable atmosphere, in combination to the trained and pleasant personnel, which is always at your disposal, will make you feel at home. Arrival Transfer Free arrival transfer from airport/port (08:00-23:00, minimum 2 nights stay is required). Please inform the hotel through email or fax (you will find these contact details on the confirmation email you receive after you make your reservation) with the arrival details at least 14 days prior to your arrival in order to be able to book your transfer. Free arrival transfer is provided only if you have prebooked transfer appointment 14 days in advance. Contact details can be found on the booking confirmation. Kindly note that departure transfer is upon extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Smaragdi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smaragdi Hotel Perissa
Smaragdi Hotel Santorini/Perissa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing