We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Santorini”
Review of Villa Clio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Clio
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Perissa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2010

My partner and I stayed at the Villa Clio for a week, it was booked as a package tour and I was not expecting great things as the hotel is rated as a two star. However, upon arrival, I was most surprised, we were warmly greeted by Eleni and Adonis who showed us to our room which a double on the ground floor (Rm 2) with a terrace overlooking the pool which was basic but very clean and catered for our needs during our stay. There were not many drawers in the room but these could be requested if required. There was also a full size fridge in the room which was super handy for keeping salads, drinks and lunch etc. Beds were hard but comfortable.

The bathroom was clean with a small shower, toilet and sink. Although not a power shower, it was striong enough to be able to wash and rinse my long hair with ease. Although the water was not fresh water and had been desalinated which I suspect might have it harder than otherwise so I did end up using lots of shampoo and conditioner.

The breakfast is very basic consisting of bread (super fresh and very tasty!), butter and jam, tea/coffee and an orange nectar juice drink, for a small fee Eleni would have been perfectly happy to make a boiled egg or anything else desired.

Although the hotel is by a road and very close to Perissa, it was very quiet and you can sit by the pool without any hassle or passers by. The pool was very clean and well maintained.

There is a bar on the site where drinks can be purchased although we tended to go out at night and so didnt stay by the hotel for drinks.

There are great deals to be had on food in the many restaurants and do shop around for trips and hire car as all of the trip and hire car places in town seem to be selling the same trips and car hire at different prices. I found driving on the roads in Santorini fine, although we were not there at 'peak season' and I suspect it was relatively quiet compared to high summer.

A car is the best way to see the island and tour to neighbouring towns, Fira and Oia which are both beautiful but expensive; in Oia we were lucky enough to find a little polish bar/restaurant close to the car parking area where the tourist buses are parked where the food was much cheaper than on the caldera front and the food was very tasty and reasonably priced. In Perissa there were plenty of little tavernas offering meal deals where you could purchase two meals, two starters and a caraffe of local wine for approx 20 euros; a bargain!!

We will definitely be going back to Santorini!

I understand that Eleni is happy to also accept private bookings direct at the hotel which is very reasonably priced and can work out a very good deal if you get a good flight deal.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank easygoinghoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2010

I agree with all of the positive reports on Villa Clio: it’s clean, and well maintained by friendly hosts Eleni and Adoni(s) who are more than happy to oblige, i.e. with an extra (lumpy!) pillow, or a boiled egg for breakfast (for a small charge as standard breakfast is soft white crusty bread, lurpak, jam, dilute orange, tea/coffee). There’s no menu for lunch, but Eleni will whip you up an omelette or Greek salad and she does a dish of the day, i.e. Stifado etc., which is better than a lot of the restaurants! Eleni’s portions? plenty. Pricewise? about the same, so do have the odd evening meal here. NB. I loved her stuffed tomatoes!
As per previous reviews, we bought all our bottled water from Eleni.
The rooms are similar on both floors so do request high floor, quiet room etc. Ours was on the second floor round the left side, facing west. It included a standard sized (quiet) fridge, modern set of drawers, bedside cabinets (also with three drawers) and a wardrobe, so we had plenty of room for our stuff. Hmm, remember.., we are in Greece, so the shower is not great and there’s the obligatory bin for your toilet roll. However, my bloke was impressed with Villa Clio because there is actually a shower curtain and proper toilet seat! At this time of year the ceiling fan was all that was needed, but I’d pay the extra for the aircon if required (just treat it as part of the overall cost of your holiday).
Villa Clio has a great pool with easy to enter steps and is 3m at the deep end! There’s a large area for sunbeds, so you can always shift yours around if you want full sun. Mozzies? people mentioned the odd bite, but I used spray and a plug-in and had no issues.

Surrounding area:
Turn left out of the hotel and continue left to the main road. On your left is the the Big Co-op supermarket (it is cheaper), ATM and 24 hour bakery. Turn right on the main road for the bars and restaurants of Perissa; we spent far too many late nights propping up the bar at Atlas. The Accordo office is also on this road on the left (cheapest to book the same Santorini trips).

Turning left out of the hotel again, but this time taking the right hand folk, leads you to the beach road. Turn left to the beach bars and restaurants of Perissa; it’s about 10 -15 mins walk). At this time of year you may find you need a woolly, as when windy it can be a tad chilly!

There’s a large hill/mountain that separates Perissa from Kamari. This provides a spectacular backdrop for Perissa. Perissa itself is flat so is easy to walk around and you could do it all in an hour or so. The beach road leads to the mountain and a main road going diagonally away from the beach. Most of the life is along these two roads. Near to where they intersect, there is one of those famous blue domed churches. It’s apparently the biggest on the island. If you’re fit you may also wish to take the walk to Ancient thera above. On the way is the church ‘katefiani’.

Perissa beach is allegedly the best on the island - don’t get excited. It is a beach of black pebbles that get very hot. These give way in the sea to a slippy undulating rock bed. However the sea is lovely (and clear) so do invest in some aqua-boots before you go (we got some off the internet for £5) or buy cheapy ones there for 7Euros. Don't worry, everyone wears them (or falls over!). The bars along the beach road let you use their sunbeds for free as long as you buy a drink/lunch from them. We used Sellada (nice chilled out bar) as it had sturdy sunbeds with mattresses and the barman; Mano, was nice –not harassing. We also booked their big screen to watch MotoGP as most bars tend to go with what the majority want.
The bar next door (Visante?) did a reasonable Thai curry for when you’re bored.., the restaurants are all very similar.
The cocktails etc, can be quite weak and you won’t get a good selection of wine in the restaurants; mostly house wine is on offer, though it is comparatively cheap.
NB. Soz, but we found the famed Gods Garden to be decidedly average!

Apparently Perissa doesn’t get busy until July, so a few of the beach bars were still being prepd in readiness for opening. Perivolos, down the road, is apparently ‘banging’ in July and August with beach parties and the like. This time of year may therefore be better for the 'older' end..!
Enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

Have stayed at Clio Villa for 2 years running and for simplicity, cleanliness, value for money, location and Eleni, it cannont be beaten!

Eleni and Adonis are wonderful hosts and really make you feel at home. The Villa has a great pool and fantastic sun trap terrace (essentially out of the wind also) and is just a minutes walk from the beach.

We brought family this time around, all of whom have said they are going back in September.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bp1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

We're a bit late with this review but we stayed for a week last August and had a fantastic time. Hoping to go back next year and will definately stay here.

The villa is a short walk from the beach and local shops. There's a Co op nearby so you can stock up on drink etc to keep in the fridge in your room. The sun loungers by the pool are well spaced out for privacy if you want it and never crowded, one day it was like having our own villa. As the previous reviews say Elenya invited us to try her food - the best spaghettii bolognese ever. She also catered for my 10 year old who only wanted

plain food. One day my daughter had too much sun and Adonis drove us to the chemist/hospital to have her checked out as it was a Sunday and the local chemist was closed.

Often at night we would come back after a meal and sit chatting with them by the pool.

There are lots of reasonably priced restaurants and an ice cream/pancake parlour on the seafront...not to be missed, it's a meal in itself.

Would recommend wearing trainers on the beach as the black sand gets VERY hot!

A trip into Thira is a must, you can catch a bus close to the villa and it's really cheap....the atmosphere there is terrific...and the sunset at Oia is amazing.

I suggest booking your trips locally, there are lots of agents along the main road and at 50% of the price your travel rep will charge and you end up on the same buses/boats.

We promised Elenya we would send her some Thorntons chocolates to sample and we will post them soon!!!! - just to say a big thank you.

Enjoy! Susan, Francesca and Amy x

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2010

Our stay at Villa Clio was brilliant, and made even more special by Eleeni & Adonis who were the most attentive hosts. As many other reviews say, they really treat you like relatives.

Superb value for money, rooms are basic but clean and comfortable and have a ceiling fan to help keep cool in the evenings. Lovely deep pool with plenty of space for loungers in the sun.

Ideally located just a couple of minutes walk away from the beach, bars & restaurants but tucked away from the main road so is quiet and peaceful in the evenings. You could even leave the doors open at night and just close the shutters and have a silent nights sleep.

Eleeni was lovely and really makes the hotel stay unique. She often invited us to have a drink before we headed into Perissa and is so trusting that she lets you take drinks from the fridge and square up with her later on. Some evenings she would be entertaining friends and returning guests and provided us with some of her home cooking which was delicious. Stifado, Cheeseballs and Moussaka were a couple of her specialities we were lucky enough to have sampled and were better than most restaurants we ate at. Breakfast is pretty basic (bread, jam, juice and coffee) but Eleeni will always do you anything if u ask without fuss such as boiled eggs.

It is evident from all the postive reviews and seeing the majority of hotel guests had returned year on year (some for over 10 years in a row) that this is a brilliant place to stay. Highly recommended for anyone wanting to visit Perissa, great value and made to feel so at home.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonny1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2009

I went with my best friend on a girly holiday and it truly was the best holiday I have ever had!

The hotel pool is relatively small but spotlessly clean and I could have swum in it all day it was so refreshing and relaxing! The grounds and flowers are beautiful. There are many sun loungers around the pool as well. We used to spend the day at the beach and then come back and chill out by the pool about 4pm with a cold beer bought from Eleni and we were quite often the only ones there. Eleni and Adonis are absolutely lovely...we would quite often chat to Eleni (Adonis doesn't speak much English but works hard and is extremely friendly and polite!) and were made to feel like friends or relatives rather than guests!

The rooms are basic but extremely clean and have everything you need - 2 single beds, a small toilet with shower and sink, dressing table, bedside table and double wardrobe and a very good sized fridge and a balcony. We were not bothered by anyone during our stay and everyone there - guests and staff, were all lovely and everyone said hello to each other.

Our stay included breakfast. It was very basic, but did the job and was always served quickly and with a smile. We were given a basket of sliced bread with pots of jam and butter, juice and tea. You ate with the other guests at the tables by the pool. Breakfast times were between 8 and 10am.

We would buy water and beer from Eleni - it was very cheap (as cheap if not cheaper than the local supermarkets).

The surrounding area is beautiful. I can quite honestly say I have completely fallen in love with it and will definitely return as soon as I can! The sand is black and coarser than usual sand...but can get very hot. There are many areas on the beach where there are free sunbeds, and barmen come down with menus from the beach bars and bring you drinks and snacks if you want them. They do not bother you at all though (not in the part we used to sunbathe in anyway!) The sea is lovely...but as I have seen mentioned here, can be quite slippy getting in and out and there can sometimes be quite large waves...it was funny to watch the many people falling over (myself included!). But the sea was very clear and was a lovely beach.

There are copious numbers of lovely restaurants and bars, all very reasonable in price and serve huge portions! I have heard some say that local wine in Greece is not very nice, but my friend and I ordered carafes of the house white every evening, and it was very drinkable! We ate out every lunch time and every evening, and still did not get anywhere near to trying all of the restaurants! Perhaps that is because we discovered a restaurant called God's Garden and ate there 3 times in a row and then went back on our last night too! (Lamb vlahiko for two is their speciality, but you will need to book a table and book a vlahiko as they go fast!) I would not leave the island without trying that restaurant! Another dish I would HIGHLY recommend is a saganaki, which seemed to be served everywhere...absolutely delicious! Gyros are also good if you are a fan of kebabs!

We did not get to see the sunset at Oia, but we watched it from Fira and it was beautiful. My friend has seen it before at Oia and said it was breathtaking.

Perissa itself is quite quiet - as I have said, there are many bars and restaurants - but if you wanted clubs etc, Fira is only a cab ride away. We did that one night, but preferred the atmosphere in Perissa (and the prices!)
Most bars have a 3 euro cocktail menu, and we never paid over 6 euros (and they were huge!).

All in all I would recommend Hotel Clio and Santorini to anyone and everyone! The perfect relaxation and re-energising holiday! However, if you are looking for lively nightlife, perhaps staying closer to Fira would be better for you.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coxy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2009

If you want somewhere peaceful and quiet then this is a great choice. The rooms are basic but spotlessly clean and there is a good size fridge too, we did take our own travel kettle and cups which we did use. The breakfast which was included was basic but enough for us not being big breakfast people. The pool was lovely and kept very clean by Adonis the owner and there is plenty of sunbed area so you do not feel on top of other people. Ellena rustles up some great daytime snacks and even invitied me into her kitchen to see if we wanted some of her delicious potatoes with our lovely greek salad for lunch. The walk into Perissa takes about 10 minutes and is a quiet dark road in the evening. There are lots of restaurants in Perissa but if you are looking for a more lively resort then Kamari (with the better beach) would be a better choice. We will definitely be going back to Santorini as we absoloutely fell in love with it - Thira and Oia are amazing - and will definitely stay at the Clio again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JillJ0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perissa
0.2 mi away
Santa Irini Hotel
Santa Irini Hotel
#15 of 40 in Perissa
136 reviews
0.7 mi away
Roula Villa
Roula Villa
#11 of 40 in Perissa
269 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Matina
Hotel Matina
#19 of 75 in Kamari
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Stavros Villas
Stavros Villas
#5 of 15 in Karteradhos
188 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bella Santorini
Bella Santorini
#6 of 11 in Perivolos
336 reviews
2.4 mi away
Atalos Suites
Atalos Suites
#7 of 75 in Kamari
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Clio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Clio

Address: Emborion, Perissa 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Perissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Perissa
#4 Family Hotel in Perissa
#16 Romantic Hotel in Perissa
Price Range: £26 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Clio 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Clio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Clio Hotel Perissa
Clio Hotel Perissa
Villa Clio Santorini/Perissa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing