We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not stay here!”
Review of The Best Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Best Hotel
Ranked #8 of 44 Perissa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Do not stay here!”
Reviewed 3 August 2008

stayed here with two girlfriends as we were traveling through greece. by the looks of the hotel on the web site we thought it would be okay, as we were traveling on a budget and did not expect a four seasons. we got there and the owner said she had over booked (although the place looked totally empty) and needed to split us up in two rooms, we said NO way, and she some how found a three person room (she was trying to rip us off and make us pay for two rooms rather then one). The internet is crazy, the owner told us is cost 6 E for 2 hours, but decided to leave out the fact that you had to pay 15 E to rent the laptop (go into town, its 2E of one hour). The rooms were gross and the matress on the top floor was literally on the floor with sheets. There were cats running around the whole place. The pool is tiny, and looks nothing like it does on the web site. The owners were very nice but not helpful at all, we asked them to call us a cab the night before and they forgot, and we were very close to missing our ferry. All in all do not stay here, my adivice is to stay floser to Fira.

  • Liked — NOTHING
  • Disliked — LEAVING
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lee89090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestSantoriniGreece, Owner at The Best Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
We are so sorry to find out you misunderstood ,Actually the 2 rooms was kind of an upgrade and we did not ask for any suplement.
Concerning the Wi-fi, i was buying the cards from a company and the price was written on it, so i did not decide on the cost.
Also it is your call to decide if you wish to rent a laptop or not.
Can you imagine Greece without cats !!! I'm only wondering how comes your were playing with the kittens at the pool, telling me how cute they were.
Thanks,Marylin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    18
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
20
40
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anywhere
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2008

Do not stay at this "hotel." I do use the word "hotel" loosely b/c its not a hotel. A hotel implies some level of cleanliness and class. This place had none of the above:

The rooms are small and dirty. The mattresses are something out of a POW camp. The owners do not know how to run a business, leaving during the middle of the work day for hours at a time leaving the place unoccupied. When we arrived, they weren't even there! The owners were not helpful to guests at all, couldn't even suggest activities to do in the area. The owners were even dishonest; they lost our reservations and overcharged us for the stay.

Their website is an absolute lie: there is no free internet, there is no working pool, it isn't "The Best!!!"

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Being there
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank blahblahblah_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestSantoriniGreece, Owner at The Best Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Thank you for your review.
We are sorry you did not like our places but as you visit the island early March it was difficult for us to organise any trip as most organised tours offices were still close.
Let me take as well to your attention that it is written in our web site that all outside facilities such as pool etc... are open from May till October.
Marylin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2008

I went to Santorini for holidays with my partner and we realy enjoyed this hotel. Family that runs it is great, really friendly and helpfull, the always welcome you asking is everything is ok and will recommend amasing places around island. Don't be afraid to ask about restaurants, they know where to find good food.
Our room was quit small but comfortable, with tv, AC, king size bed, balcony and tarrace on the roof for use together with guests from other room. Small disadvantage- shower was lacking a courtain so everything was wet after taking it.
Rooms were kept clean, so as the swimming pool outside and the whole place. Breakfast was fresh and tasty. 2minutes walk to the beach, great location.
A little bit hard to spend any time alone as the onwers always insist to sit with the,so it's not a place for honeymooners;) But family-orientated and extremly nice as for the price they charge.

  • Liked — Friendly owners, good price, service, location
  • Disliked — lack of privacy
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Karolina_Boch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestSantoriniGreece, Manager at The Best Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
thanks for your review,Marylin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham U.K
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2008

We stayed in hotel the Best ! last year, with family as we needed accommodation for family (due to wedding). It was friendly, clean and a lot of fun was had. It is in a great location & the pool was lovely..cleaned regularily. The hosts are wonderful and very welcoming..It is a very family orientated hotel, which is vital. We counted ourselves lucky, to have stayed here. We will be back one day!!!

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilydot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestSantoriniGreece, Manager at The Best Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
thanks for your review,Marylin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heynowgirl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2007

We stayed for 4 nights & were greeted by the friendly family who run the hotel. Each morning you are also greeted with the call of 'Hello my friends.' The rooms are very neat and hosekeeping cleans everyday. There was also a small fridge which is essential in the heat!

The beach is 2 minutes walk from the hotel with restaurants and bars lining the waterfront. If you eat and drink at particular restaurants they have their own umbrellas and seats on the sand.

Thoroughly enjoyed & would stay again.

  • Liked — friendly owners, pool, close to beach
  • Disliked — room was a bit cramped
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank heynowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestSantoriniGreece, Owner at The Best Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
thanks for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2006

I stayed with my girlfriend for 4 nights in July. The hotel is ideally located just behind the main beach road right in the middle of the beach with bars stretching either side. The rooms were spotless and very confortable. Fortunately our room had a nice balcony with a bit of a view. The pool and jacuzzi were in pristine condition and the breakfast was very tasty. Perhaps the best part of our stay were our warm and friendly hosts that went out of their way to make us feel welcome and give us a good laugh! They even helped us book our stay at Ios in another fantastic hotel. In terms of value for money you can't go wrong (we spent 2 months travelling around the Mediterranean and The Best was by far the best value for money!).

  • Liked — The friendly hosts!
  • Disliked — We asked for a double bed but got 2 twin beds and couldn't change.
  • Stayed July 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestSantoriniGreece, Owner at The Best Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
We thank you for your nice review.
Take care, Marylin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perissa hotels
0.1 mi away
Stelios Place
Stelios Place
#2 of 39 in Perissa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.6 mi away
Smaragdi Hotel
Smaragdi Hotel
#3 of 39 in Perissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.1 mi away
Veggera Hotel
Veggera Hotel
#7 of 39 in Perissa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aqua Blue Hotel
Aqua Blue Hotel
#4 of 39 in Perissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roula Villa
Roula Villa
#11 of 39 in Perissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.4 mi away
Santa Irini Hotel
Santa Irini Hotel
#10 of 39 in Perissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Best Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Best Hotel

Property: The Best Hotel
Address: _______ P. OBox E13 | Santorini, Perissa 84703, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Perissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Perissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Best Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the open Sea of Crete and protected from the wind at the north side by the highest mountain on the island, THE BEST is a family run hotel, renovated in 2014 and located next to Perissa beach the most famous black sandy beach of Santorini. Hotel THE BEST is a great base to explore this fantastic island due to its easy access to public transport 50 meters from bus stops where buses runs regularly till late at night. Accommodation ranges from rooms with double occupancy to larger studios that sleep 4-5 adults on a self-catering basis. All rooms offer a private terrace. ROOMS FACILITIES: For your comfort, all rooms and studios have been recently refurbished. We have installed in every room double soundproofed opening windows, a self-operated inverter air condition, TV with private satellite receiver, a full size refrigerator with deep freezer, a private safe deposit box, hairdryer, direct dial phone, a private bathroom with shower equipped with shower curtain and amenities, a private balcony or veranda. Highlights: Beds have new anatomic and ecological mattresses. WI-FI high speed secure internet connection in the room free of charge. Hotel Facilities: The hotel features a large swimming pool with Jacuzzi, sun beds and sofas. The pool bar offering snacks and drinks is open until late for those days when you just don't want to leave the poolside! There is a 24 hours vending machine at the pool area after closing time. The children are welcome we offer a secure play area with swings and slides to keep your children entertained while you relax in the garden and enjoy your holiday. They have the possibility to use the play station 3 with a large choice of games or watch a movie at the pool area. The luggage storage can be used without previous reservation. The opening hours for all the above facilities are 08 am till 08 pm. Wi-Fi high speed secure internet connection throughout the entire property free of charge. THIS PREMISE IS MONITORED AND VIDEO RECORDED BY CLOSED CIRCUIT TV. There is as well a private open parking with no need for reservation. Vassilis and Marilyn are always on hand to cater for any needs you might have, ask the multilingual staff at the reception for rent a car or book a trip to the famous still active volcano of Santorini at the tour desk. Other services such as massage, hairdresser, manicure pedicure or doctor is upon request and you can take all the information for reservation at the reception. The check in time is 14pm The check out time is 11am Early check in and late check out upon request. What to do: The Best is located in the heart of Perissa, with easy access to local bars and restaurants as well as the famous 24hr bakery shop of Perissa. There is a horse riding club about 200 meters from the hotel. For those sea lovers the "MEDITERANEAN "dive club Santorini is just 300 meters from the hotel and you can reserve at the reception your diving session or scuba diving excursions. Policies Child policy: Children up to 4 years old stay in parents' bedroom free of charge. Baby cots are available on request and are free of charge. Every older child using an extra bed is charge an extra 20% of the room rate per night stay. Cancelation policy: The cancellation policy may vary per room type; please check the room description as well. For Advance purchase rooms the total amount of the reservation is charge at the day of booking with no refund in case of cancelation or no-show. Cancelation is 21 days prior arrival no fee, after that or in case of no-show the total amount of the reservation will be charge as a cancelation fee. The hotel reserve the rights to pre-authorise credit cards, in case of an invalid card the reservation will be cancel without previous notice. Accepted credit cards Visa, Euro/MasterCard. Airport/port transfer: We can organise your transfer by taxi from the airport or the port; note that in high season it is necessary for you to book it in advance. Both from the port or the airport, the ride till the hotel should take about 20 minutes and the cost is around 20 euro one way depending on the period you are visiting the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Best Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Best Hotel Santorini/Perissa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing