We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basil Fawlty now runs a hotel in Lesvos”
Review of Sunset Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunset Hotel
Ranked #5 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Petra
Reviewed 14 July 2011

It's great fun to watch Fawlty Towers with John Cleese, but you probably wouldn't want to stay there. It's top comedy on screen, but not in real life. The Sunset Hotel in itself is ok enough (after greek standards) – but the owner just isn't, regardless of standards.

Me and my family went to Sunset Hotel with Apollo in the summer of 2011, and moved to another hotel after just two days, because we had had enough.

Examples: I told the owner that the curtains were stuck in the kitchen, and he yelled at me: "That's because you broke it!!! Now I have to call a repair-man to fix it, because of you." and then he started to imitate how I presumably should have broken it. "And why do you have the lights on at night? Not only in the bathroom, but in the kitchen and livingroom??"

I visited tripadvisor and realised I wasn't the first one that had encountered his rage. Other guests have written the same story.

If you are unlucky enough to stay there, and read this now, I can recommend nearly any other hotel in Anaxos, Petra or Molyvos.

I love Greece and Lesvos, but next time I'll check with Tripadvisor first.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PEZE360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2011

Stayed here for two weeks in June 2011. Had a great time ! A very friendly family run hotel with about 43 rooms. Rooms are kept very clean. Harry the son works the bar and Efstratios his father looks after the reception and business as a whole. Mother works in the kitchen and provides a range of meals in the evening - in addition to a simple breakfast - if one doesn't wish to walk into town. They never say no to any request ! Most of all they smile and are very service minded....with a sense of humour ! Set in beautiful gardens......and there is a good sized pool where the kids can have fun. Petra is a quiet place (perfect !) and mainly aimed at older couples without kids and families with young children (in my opinion). The rooms are simple and clean...do not expect 5 star luxury - you are not paying for it ! Greek style !
I spent the first week alone....and Harry and Efstratios entertained me all the time when I was around the hotel.....great people and wonderful service. The second week I was joined by a friend,.....and they went out of their way to make sure she (and I) was happy in every respect....a big thank you to you all ! Lovely room....
The hotel lies about 400 mtrs down a lane from the main road / nearest beach area....a pleasant walk...and remember some apples for the horse ! No traffic noise....just the rooster in the morning and some sheep / goats in the distance - wonderful. Walk another 300 mtrs along the main road into town for the better beach area....with tavernas.
The hotel is kept very clean....rooms and garden / surrounding area.....some hard working young ladies see to this.
In Petra I enjoyed dining at the Mermaid Restaurant - run by Stamatis with his mother in the kitchen.......food was fresh and well cooked. A meek and hard working Nikos helps out with the serving - really friendly place. Stamatis teaches English locally in winter.
For a change take a taxi over the hill (only about ten minutes and Euro 12) to Molyvos. A very interesting small historic town. Can start at the fortress at the top and walk through the narrow streets down to the harbour where a good dinner can be enjoyed ! (I liked the Sea Horse by the waters edge).
The beach in Petra was fine...a large long sandy beach...sun beds tend to be free if you eat / drink in the associated restaurant. The only thing they could improve on is the layer of stones just as you enter the water.....a strip about a metre across...one could clear a path through these......suggest using bathing shoes. Otherwise the water was very clean and clear.....great !
The majority of guests at the hotel were from Sweden, followed by the UK, Norway and Denmark...whilst I was there.
Thank you Hotel Sunset for a very enjoyable holiday.....and the Mermaid Restaurant !
A friendly quiet relaxing place....just what I wanted ! Wish you all a wonderful summer !

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorwayTraveller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Above average small b@b hotel,very relaxing ,basic but clean rooms cleaned every day,nice bar and pool area.definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Atherjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

Very friendly family run affair,bland breakfast but mum cooks decent meals later on,nice pool ,rooms very basic but clean"this is Greece" going again this year looking forward to a good stay in June,enough said .

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Atherjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

This is a nice and very typical Greek family hotel: Dad works the reception, son tends bar, mum is in the kitchen and the daughter is working hard cleaning rooms. The Greek way of doing things does not comprise untraditional gender roles.

That said, this arrangement works out very well for their guests. Everybody’s very friendly and nothing is too much trouble.

Nice pool area, well kept grounds and a brand new and quite stylish (for being Greek) reception area. The rooms are okay, there is internet free of charge, and they serve a small selection of very good homemade traditional cuisine for lunch and dinner. We will definitely recommend trying their hard cheese Saganaki. The breakfast is boring but allright.

All in all, we had a very pleasant stay and will probably return at some point.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nikkaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

The four of us took a private transfer from the airport which took just over an hour which we all thought well worth the extra cost. A most friendly greeting on arrival from Harry, the owners son, who was very helpful throughout our stay. His english was excellent. All the other staff were very courteous. The hotel is located down a short road off the main Petra to Molyvos road. This means it is situated in very quiet surroundings, amongst some smallholdings with the backdrop of mountains. The hotel is about 100 yards fron the beach and 500 yards from the centre of Petra. Its all on the flat so it is an easy walk.
The rooms were very clean and more than adequate for our stay, some may consider them a little basic. The hotel facilities: bar, restaurant and pool are conveniently situated.
The only negative for me was the breakfast which was a tad monotonous, bread, spam, cheese and jam, the only variety was to eat it in a different order but then it did not rhyme so well. This I would stress is a very minor moan.
We ate out for lunch and dinner and would recommend Nikos where the owners smile creates an immediately friendly impact, and the Mermaid where we were entertained at lunch by some Greek OAP ladies who gave a somewhat tipsy dancing demonstration. Best of all was the Womens Cooperative restaurant above the bar in what is known as the Square, excellent food and service. Make sure you book in advance.
We did not go for the Sunset restaurant (nothing to do with the hotel), on a corner with blue wooden furniture, the food was not bad but dull when compared to elsewhere.
This place is good for older couples who have got rid of the kids or young couples who have pre school kids. NIghtlife revolves around the tavernas, not a pub or music bar in sight much to our delight.
Do take the bus to Molyvos and Anaxos, its cheap and a very good service. Fantastic views from Petri but thats a short taxi ride. Do not miss the church and restored merchants house in Petra.
The Sunset hotel was just what we wanted for a September break in the sun and Petra is a very laid back and friendly town, we shall go again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pongopete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

The service at this hotel is just excellent. The staff is very friendly and the cleaning lady is the most hard working individual I've ever seen.
We checked in very late on arrival and the boss gave us a two-room apartment instead of a study when he saw our 2yo son. Also he told us to keep the apartment until departure at 18 instead of the ordinary 12-o'clock checkout.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bowolff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petra
0.1 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#1 of 13 in Petra
185 reviews
0.9 mi away
Michaelia Hotel
Michaelia Hotel
#10 of 13 in Petra
52 reviews
0.6 mi away
Theofilos Hotel And Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Anaxos Hotel
Anaxos Hotel
#1 of 18 in Anaxos
216 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tsalis
Tsalis
#25 of 28 in Petra
5 reviews
1.6 mi away
Clara Hotel
Clara Hotel
#2 of 13 in Petra
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Hotel

Address: Petra 81109, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Lesbos > Petra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Petra
Price Range: £30 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, LoveHolidays and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sunset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Petra, Lesbos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing