We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really nice place nice hotel”
Review of Sunset Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunset Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Petra
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“really nice place nice hotel”
Reviewed 19 August 2011

nice, hotel, we tried to book a trip, but we were too late so we took a taxi instead, ok if you dont get car sick, would maybe hire a car next time, the room was nice but we booked a 2 room apartment and this was ok, but the aircon was only in one room so we had to leave the door open, so not very private, we could have just booked a one room apartment instead.

The hotel was nice, the pool great, the beach was only 5 mins walk away, and there were lots of nice places to eat.

the best island i have been to, the people in general were very friendly, i would recommend this place and hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Apollo

Helpful?
2 Thank karen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    20
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
23
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2011

The whole of the hotel complex appears very newly refurbished. The room, bathroom and balcony were very spacious. Everywhere was very clean and well kept. Breakfast was al fresco under the Olive tree in the courtyard - magic. Family run hotel very friendly - don't know how people can dispute this, maybe they don't get Stratos' sens of humour. Harry is an excellent bar tender, very friendly, nothing is too much trouble. The mother is the cook and she's very good - she does a variety of european food and it is very tasty. There are no self catering facilities anymore - which we were expecting - but that is the Tour operators fault for not being up to date. They are pushing more and more for hotels to be all inclusive so boost their profit margins. In the end it wasn't a problem for us as you can get coffee any time you like at the hotel.

Petra is for people who like to spend all day at the beach. Apart from sunbath, eat and hunt for souvenirs there isn't much to do. However, we went to Molyvos by local bus everyday - which is a fantastic town, picturesque cobbled streets, lots of different shops, great castle, views to Turkey, fantastic restaurants - everywhere Petra and Molyvos. In Petra I recommend Christos on the main front - family run, fantastic food, really welcoming (not pushy). In Molyvos - make sure you walk all the way to the harbour because thats where the best restaurants are. Its a small harbour with about 8 restaurants all around it. You can literally eat your meal and watch the schools of fish swimming around the little boats. You can be assured that the fish is always fresh! Its literally a 10m round trip from boat to kitchen to plate. You can see wonderful sunsets from many of the restaurants. I reccomend The Seahorse restaurant in Molyvos harbour, they do warm toasted baps with your Greek salad (which is to die for everywhere!). The owner and his staff do everything they can to make your meal pleasant. He even bought us a drink!

What I noticed about Lesvos was how proud people were of their goods & services. The restaurants produced really good food and are very grateful for compliments. They don't mind one bit if you order a dish to share, they make sure their waiting staff attend to your every need and nothing is too much trouble. We bought some Olive oil for gifts in a shop and were chatting with the owner about Tomatoes - you just cannot get good tomatoes in the UK - and he just gave us a bag 'from my Father's farm'!

In the evening you can either chill out in the bars or visit the local cinema - open air! Films are in English with Greek subtitles - we watched Transformers and Harry Potter - tickets are 7 euro for adults but all the beer and sweets/popcorn is reasonably priced. The price of things has risen since we were last in Greece but with the economy thats not surprising. However, 35-40 euro for an evening meal for 2 will buy you much better quality food that the UK, with better service and bigger drinks and a much better view!

Don't be put off this hotel by some of the poor reviews - I'm picky - and this hotel was fine for me. Spacious, clean, not to big, picturesque - fruit trees everywhere (olive, lime, pomegranate, grapes). The beds were very comfortable, air con if you want it. Bathroom is a wet room.

I will say take your mosquito plug ins and your repellant and sting cream. For the 1st time ever in my life I got bitten to death on my legs - while out in the bars mainly. Also its recommended that you don't go bare foot in the sea as there are sea urchins - we did see many. You can buy those set suit shoes things for about 10euro everywhere.

If you're into wildlife go the the harbour in Molyvos then nip over the wall onto a rocky shore, follow it round to the right and it's rock pool paradise - no-one around either. Nice big tree to dump your stuff under while you explore.

There are a real variety of nationalities that visit Lesvos - English, dutch, Norwegian, Swedish, German, Greek. Everyone communicates in English too.

If we could afford more than one holiday each year we would go back - I'd be torn between booking Sunset again as it was a great place to stay or booking a hotel in Molyvos which has more things to do - taxis stop at about 2am or 3am and one night we got stuck! 40 minute walk at 4am was...an adventure.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BodhiZephyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

It's great fun to watch Fawlty Towers with John Cleese, but you probably wouldn't want to stay there. It's top comedy on screen, but not in real life. The Sunset Hotel in itself is ok enough (after greek standards) – but the owner just isn't, regardless of standards.

Me and my family went to Sunset Hotel with Apollo in the summer of 2011, and moved to another hotel after just two days, because we had had enough.

Examples: I told the owner that the curtains were stuck in the kitchen, and he yelled at me: "That's because you broke it!!! Now I have to call a repair-man to fix it, because of you." and then he started to imitate how I presumably should have broken it. "And why do you have the lights on at night? Not only in the bathroom, but in the kitchen and livingroom??"

I visited tripadvisor and realised I wasn't the first one that had encountered his rage. Other guests have written the same story.

If you are unlucky enough to stay there, and read this now, I can recommend nearly any other hotel in Anaxos, Petra or Molyvos.

I love Greece and Lesvos, but next time I'll check with Tripadvisor first.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PEZE360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Stayed here for two weeks in June 2011. Had a great time ! A very friendly family run hotel with about 43 rooms. Rooms are kept very clean. Harry the son works the bar and Efstratios his father looks after the reception and business as a whole. Mother works in the kitchen and provides a range of meals in the evening - in addition to a simple breakfast - if one doesn't wish to walk into town. They never say no to any request ! Most of all they smile and are very service minded....with a sense of humour ! Set in beautiful gardens......and there is a good sized pool where the kids can have fun. Petra is a quiet place (perfect !) and mainly aimed at older couples without kids and families with young children (in my opinion). The rooms are simple and clean...do not expect 5 star luxury - you are not paying for it ! Greek style !
I spent the first week alone....and Harry and Efstratios entertained me all the time when I was around the hotel.....great people and wonderful service. The second week I was joined by a friend,.....and they went out of their way to make sure she (and I) was happy in every respect....a big thank you to you all ! Lovely room....
The hotel lies about 400 mtrs down a lane from the main road / nearest beach area....a pleasant walk...and remember some apples for the horse ! No traffic noise....just the rooster in the morning and some sheep / goats in the distance - wonderful. Walk another 300 mtrs along the main road into town for the better beach area....with tavernas.
The hotel is kept very clean....rooms and garden / surrounding area.....some hard working young ladies see to this.
In Petra I enjoyed dining at the Mermaid Restaurant - run by Stamatis with his mother in the kitchen.......food was fresh and well cooked. A meek and hard working Nikos helps out with the serving - really friendly place. Stamatis teaches English locally in winter.
For a change take a taxi over the hill (only about ten minutes and Euro 12) to Molyvos. A very interesting small historic town. Can start at the fortress at the top and walk through the narrow streets down to the harbour where a good dinner can be enjoyed ! (I liked the Sea Horse by the waters edge).
The beach in Petra was fine...a large long sandy beach...sun beds tend to be free if you eat / drink in the associated restaurant. The only thing they could improve on is the layer of stones just as you enter the water.....a strip about a metre across...one could clear a path through these......suggest using bathing shoes. Otherwise the water was very clean and clear.....great !
The majority of guests at the hotel were from Sweden, followed by the UK, Norway and Denmark...whilst I was there.
Thank you Hotel Sunset for a very enjoyable holiday.....and the Mermaid Restaurant !
A friendly quiet relaxing place....just what I wanted ! Wish you all a wonderful summer !

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorwayTraveller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston village
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Above average small b@b hotel,very relaxing ,basic but clean rooms cleaned every day,nice bar and pool area.definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atherjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston village
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

Very friendly family run affair,bland breakfast but mum cooks decent meals later on,nice pool ,rooms very basic but clean"this is Greece" going again this year looking forward to a good stay in June,enough said .

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Atherjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

This is a nice and very typical Greek family hotel: Dad works the reception, son tends bar, mum is in the kitchen and the daughter is working hard cleaning rooms. The Greek way of doing things does not comprise untraditional gender roles.

That said, this arrangement works out very well for their guests. Everybody’s very friendly and nothing is too much trouble.

Nice pool area, well kept grounds and a brand new and quite stylish (for being Greek) reception area. The rooms are okay, there is internet free of charge, and they serve a small selection of very good homemade traditional cuisine for lunch and dinner. We will definitely recommend trying their hard cheese Saganaki. The breakfast is boring but allright.

All in all, we had a very pleasant stay and will probably return at some point.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nikkaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petra
0.2 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#1 of 13 in Petra
166 reviews
0.9 mi away
Michaelia Hotel
Michaelia Hotel
#11 of 13 in Petra
50 reviews
1.6 mi away
Clara Hotel
Clara Hotel
#2 of 13 in Petra
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Viva Mare Hotel
Viva Mare Hotel
#1 of 6 in Eftalou
191 reviews
1.7 mi away
Delfinia Hotel & Bungalows
2.3 mi away
Anaxos Hotel
Anaxos Hotel
#1 of 17 in Anaxos
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Hotel

Property: Sunset Hotel
Address: Petra 81109, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Lesbos > Petra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Petra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sunset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Petra, Lesbos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing