We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family owned Hotel”
Review of Sunset Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunset Hotel
Ranked #5 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Petra
Hanko, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely family owned Hotel”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Clean traditional rooms. Nice pool area. Great restaurant with reasonable prices. Good service all day long. Only minus is the location. It's pretty far from Village so you have to walk alot and the way to village is just boring (atleast first 600 metres). 300 metres to the beach is not too much and it is the best part of the beach (near Yako Beach bar).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jartsa1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    24
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
26
26
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Krsko, Slovenia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Very nice familiar hotel, close to the beach. Good and clean rooms and very friendly atmosphere. I liked homemade food for breakfast and dinner. In the evening we had great time with glass of good wine and ice-cream.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sanja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I was in hotel Sunset from 29.07 to 08.08.2013 with family (my wife and two small children, doter 2.5 years and son one years)
Terms for vacation, for this category of hotel, are excellent.
Hotel is near to beach and 20 minutes walks to center of Petra.
Everything in hotel is very clean, with small but beautiful swimming poll.
Nutrition can be better; I expect more fish and other seafood.
The most positive are son owner of hotel, Hary and waitress Kristina, who are very pleasure and always on service.
My accommodation for family vacation with small children and if you can possibility, you must stay in room 112.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milos_Milovanovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ISTANBUL
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

A family owned hotel in Petra. Very close to the beach. The sea is cool but clean.
Has a swimming pool. We staed at a family room. One room has air condition, but anothes has not.. So it was a little hot in August. Rooms are clean. Just breakfast is a little poor.

Room Tip: Generally rooms are quiet..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OZNURG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Our room, 102 on the ground floor was small with 3 single beds, fridge, sink, wardrobe and 2 terraces, with table and chairs. Bathroom is small, shower pressure poor but water hot. We had pots and pans, plates etc but no kettle, cooker/rings so couldn't make anything. Breakfast is cereal, bread, jam, eggs, cheese, milk is condensed but you can buy fresh milk locally. Pool clean with plenty of loungers. Beach short walk <5mins, small shingle, sloping into water which is clean. Sunbeds free if attached to taverna, ideal. Village 10 min stroll along lit pavement, with plenty of tavernas and a few shops. We area well traveled couple, 50's, who only use the room for sleeping and changing, so ideal. Very clean, also friendly kittens to play with. Village and people very friendly. We had a great time and would go again

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are more shaded
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann100London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

I had a few minor concerns about the hotel after seeing what mixed reviews it had. However, we decided to trust in the brochure and the photographs on the hotel's own website and expected a nice relaxing stay with friendly owners in newly refurbished rooms (as the website and photographs promised!). However, on arrival there was no one there to greet us, which was a first for me after many visits to Greece. We eventually found the owner, Stratos, smoking away in his office and got our room key. We then found our request for an upstairs room with a balcony had been ignored and we had a ground room. What's more, instead of the double room we had booked, we were given a twin room. Whilst the beds had been pushed together there was a good foot of wooden bed frame between the matresses, and this coupled with horrendous matresses made for the worst weeks sleep of my life and twinges in my back. It was most definitely not one of the spacious renovated rooms shown in the brochure and website. There was one tiny window in the whole apartment, no self-catering facilities despite what was advertised, and the bathroom was so small sitting on the toilet required dangling your feet in the shower. Further more, the wonderful power showers mentioned in other reviews were certainly not included in the apartments we were staying in, as ours dribbled out even when held at only a slight angle. Worse still, our bedsheets were not changed from Monday to the day we went home (Thursday).
To be honest, we could have dealt with all this as we're the type of couple who like to get out and about. However, after the first night they began closing the pool bar so we couldn't get drinks after our meal out. The one night they were open and we sat in for one drink the female owner was cleaning up around us and clucking her tongue and clearly couldn't wait for us to leave despite the earliness of the hour. They then began closing the hotel little by little over the remaining days; first they stopped cleaning the pool so it was full of leaves and scum, then they closed the bar, then they took away the majority of the sunbeds, and finally they took away all the breakfast area chairs barring 4 and put a tarpauline over the tables. For the couple remaining a week after us I dread to think what they left open!
I noticed before going as well that the owners themselves seemed to have quite mixed reviews; some people claimed they were aggressive and others said they were helpful and friendly. Quite frankly we found them downright rude. The female drifted about tutting and ignoring everyone, and Stratos only made very rare appearances (always puffing away on a cigarette) and was very abbrasive when he did. We asked him about local bus times, and he waved his arms and stomped off, before handing us a photocopy of the bus times then marching off without so much as a brief explanation on where the bus stops were. The most offensive behaviour, however, was that when we were sat outside our apartment having a drink at night they turned the lights out, knowing we were sat there and it still being early in the night. Often when we came back from our evening meal the lights would be off so we would not be able to see where we were going, which is dangerous as well as rude.
In all, we were really disappointed in the hotel. I can see it would be a nice hotel mid-season, when it's busier and they can be bothered; although even then it would be pot luck with the rooms. There are some adorable little cats that live there, and apparently their son usually runs the bar and is lovely (he had left for the season when we were there however). All the same, I was sufficiently unimpressed by the attitude they displayed towards the end of season to be unwilling to give them a chance mid-season. I certainly won't be staying there again, although I would like to go back to Petra. On a final pedantic note, you couldn't actually see the sunset from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Slightly worried when I read a few of the reviews on here re the size of the balconies, however we were staying bed and breakfast and so got a larger room and very big balcony (Room 219 for those who wish to request it).
The beds were the most comfortable we've ever had in Greece, the bathroom was a wet room with a really good power shower, there was plenty of wardrobe space, a dressing table and a HUGE 3ft x 3ft mirror. The balcony was very private, with large walls between each one and about 9ft square. Sun rose over the mountains and was fully on the balcony for hours so the room got very hot, however the air conditioning was excellent and was 5 euros a day (we went in Sept 2011).
As we were bed and breakfast, we didn't expect any self catering facilities, however we had a small sink and drainer with a cupboard and decent fridge in the room. No cutlery or plates but we expected that and had brought our own (plastic plates for lightness and large coffee mug). We used a travel kettle to make coffees.
We were very very happy with our room, the hotel itself is incredibly clean, well kept and the pool, bar and dining areas are excellent.
The breakfast (8.30am till 10am) consisted of tea, coffee, fruit juices, bread, butter, jam, honey, marmalade, boiled eggs, cheese, ham, greek yoghurt, cereals. All beautifully served and eaten in the small courtyard underneath olive trees (surrounded by lovely little greek ginger kittens).
Only one complaint and this was not the hotel's fault - why oh why do parents think that it is okay to have their children running riot around other people, bellowing their heads off? I think after two days of this, the majority of breakfasters were incredibly relieved to see this particular family leaving.
We would recommend the Sunset Hotel, but would insist when booking - if possible - on a large balcony. There WERE some very small balconies to be seen, which we would have hated.
All in all an excellent hotel with very friendly staff. The owner (who seems to feature badly on some people's reviews), was very pleasant.
(15 minute walk from hotel into centre of Petra, be warned that if you want a taxi back from the Village, the taxi's appear to finish work by 11.30pm in September!)

Room Tip: Ask for Room 219. Large room, big balcony, excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HawkerSiddley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petra
0.2 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#1 of 13 in Petra
172 reviews
0.9 mi away
Michaelia Hotel
Michaelia Hotel
#10 of 13 in Petra
51 reviews
1.6 mi away
Clara Hotel
Clara Hotel
#2 of 13 in Petra
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Delfinia Hotel & Bungalows
2.7 mi away
Viva Mare Hotel
Viva Mare Hotel
#2 of 6 in Eftalou
199 reviews
2.9 mi away
Aphrodite Hotel
Aphrodite Hotel
#1 of 12 in Molyvos
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Hotel

Property: Sunset Hotel
Address: Petra 81109, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Lesbos > Petra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Petra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Petra, Lesbos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing