We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunset Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Michaelia Hotel(Petra)(Great Value!)
US$42
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Alma Hotel(Petra)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Internet
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
35
24
6
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
24
6
3
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 72 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2010

We have recently returned from a two week stay at the Hotel Sunset. I must admit that after reading the reviews I did have reservations about staying at this hotel but went with an open mind.

The accommodation is traditionally Greek & immaculately clean. We normally go on an all-inclusive basis but this is unavailable in Lesvos and it was Lesvos we wanted to go to. I don’t go on holiday to spend my time cooking so to me the facilities were absolutely fine!
The rooms are an average size with all the facilities you need, shower, t.v, wardrobes, etc. there is only a two ring cooker but why would you want a “range” when you are on holiday? On several occasions we had lunch in our room and had no problem preparing a light lunch. The balcony is small but we moved our table and chairs on to the rear balcony to eat our lunch and over looked the hills ………. Just lovely!

The pool area is well looked after and cleaned every day and the pool itself is lovely and warm. This is also cleaned on a regular basis.
We had towel change and room cleaned every other day, bed change once a week, the cleaners were absolutely lovely and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel can provide you with a breakfast, lunch and evening meal. All the meals are extremely well priced and absolutely delicious! The hotel is family run and the meals are cooked by the owner’s wife. She is such a sweetie and again, nothing is too much trouble, I really miss her!

The owner, Efstratios, is absolutely fabulous! He will do anything to help you. There was a slight mix up with our booking as we requested ground floor and First Choice had put “high floor” Efstratios was unbelievably accommodating. He is just a fabulous guy, he would come and sit with us and chat for ages, really funny guy too!

The hotel bar is run by the son Harry. He is also a right sweetie, once again nothing too much trouble. No matter what you ask of him it is no problem whatsoever. I just happened to mention we had a few ants in our room and within minutes he dealt with it. One evening we had problems with our aircon and within minutes he was in our room and dealt with it. His knowledge of Lesvos is brilliant and conversations with him will keep you intrigued.

We made friends with many other couples out there whom I am sure we will stay friends with for many years, with constant laughter and fun. If you are looking for a hotel which is family friendly, clean and professionally run with delicious food then the Hotel Sunset is for you! The hospitality is just superb! You certainly won’t be disappointed! I miss Lesvos very much as it is beautiful and if I was to return I would defiantly stay at the “Hotel Sunset” Miss you all very much at the “Hotel Sunset”! You are all just fabulous!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shazTelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2009

Very basic hotel accomodation but in an excellent location only a few minutes walking distance to the Petra site entrance. Nothing to write home about but was a roof over one's head, a bed, and a shower when needed Not really much more to write about except that they had free internet on a few pcs downstairs that were always busy. Lots of restaurant and convenience stores nearby. Staff were ahppy to provide us with a little ice when we wanted to get a few beers chilled. Stayed as part of Intrpeid group.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2009

Firstly, the hotel rooms we're extremely small, we booked for a self catering room expecting a fully equiped kitchen and an eating space. However, when we arrived at our room, we found: a sink with a drainer and a fridge. We had to ask hotel staff to provide a cooker which eventually came 6 hours later and the only place to put it was on the drainer. There was no room for food preparation or eating space. The balcony was only big enough for a single person.
Secondly, after bad weather the roof began to leak and we had to contact the owner. The owner came and he was extremely disrespectful and aggressive, saying we had caused a roof leak and we were only there to cause trouble.
Petra itself is a beautiful little town, and its a real shame such a terrible hotel had to be placed there.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jean1849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2009

We booked our holiday to Lesbos with First Choice which had been a very reliable tour company in the past. The Sunset Hotel at Petra promised to be a wonderful self-catering experience with an equipped kitchen, microwave and a hairdryer. Being seasoned Greek travellers my husband and I were agog that we would have a hairdryer never mind a microwave!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

How foolish we become when we believe a companies literature, the equipped kitched was a sink unit with a double electric hob on the drainer (health and safety nightmare). The fridge and a very small cupboard were underneath the unit. Even an undernurished Hobbitt would have had a problem with this tiny catering facility. To heap on the misery we were only given one dinner plate between us!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

We did not have a table to either eat from of to prepare food on so self catering became almost impossible to achieve. To add insult to catering injury we could not eat Al Fresco (which is one of our favourite Greek pastimes) as our balcony was so small that only one person at a time could physically sit on it .

'Why did you not complain?' I hear you ask, well the hotel manager was so rude to a fellow guest that we took the cowards out and decided to reveal all on the Internet rather than ruin our holiday through confrontation.

The village of Petra was, as always very relaxing and a good place to chill. The Women's Co-Operative was a wonderful place to eat, good value and great food, certainly worth a visit.

We still love the unique Greekness of Lesbos but we would be very careful when booking further self-catering holidays with First Choice. I have shared our experience with the travel company and have asked them to take the hotel off their books

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greeklovingannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2009

Nice pool area and bar, they've spent a lot of money on the bar/pool area(£3000+ on sliding windows) but nothing on the rooms. The upstairs room have tiny balconies and the ground floor rooms have patio areas front and rear but no patio doors making the rooms dark.
The self catering facilities consist of a small sink unit incorporating a fridge with a two ring cooker on top of the drainer, that's it...no kitchen cupboards and no kettle. Having said that, the rooms were cleaned daily and the staff friendly. 5 mins walk to the beach and Tavernas and another 5 mins to Petra. If you like walking it's 1 hour north to Molivos and an hour south to Anaxos.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david7aylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews