We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could not find you” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Traditional Restaurant at Limanaki

The Traditional Restaurant at Limanaki
Ranked #21 of 40 Restaurants in Petra
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“could not find you”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Tried twice to find this taverna, but failed both times, would be nice if on the signs in the village you put a map.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank sue36a4670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    14
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
89 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very nice mezes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

Went here for mezes. Very nice for €30. Bread & dip served first then all other food served at once including cheese pie, courgette flowers & salad. Had mezes & always had dishes served a few at a time. Food good though not the best Petra has to offer.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Drew345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weaverham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Greek food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

We had a very nice meal here as they serve traditonal Greek food just as I like it. I had Kleftiko which was served in a earthernware pot on top a food warmer. They have a greek night with traditional dancing on a monday but you do need to reserve a table on this as it gets full very quickly

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shirley k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very traditional!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

We found this taverna on the first evening of our stay in Petra. We were trying to locate the venue of our Welcome Meeting, and having to resort to asking a non-English speaking local resident for directions, we found ourselves in the taverna - having the location pointed out to us - further along the street.
We returned to the Traditional later in the evening - and thoroughly enjoyed our first meal of the holiday. My wife had her usual first night dish - chicken souvlaki and I opted for the special burger. The portions were substantial and nicely presented. We thought the final cost was very reasonable, the staff very friendly and the fact that we had a table outside on the street added to the atmosphere.
The Monday "Greek Night" was the occasion of our next visit and although the place was very busy - tables down both sides of the street, a place was soon found for us and we enjoyed the set meze - dishes just kept coming from the kitchen. The entertainment comprised a group of four dancers who soon had most of the diners up on their feet as they danced along the street & through the taverna. Again, the bill was very reasonable.
Later in the week we went back for another meze - ten different Greek dishes and very reasonably priced. We left feeling as if we couldn't face another mouthful.
We can certainly recommend the Traditional - and it is not difficult to find. The staff are very friendly and the prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

We visited The Traditional twice on our holiday and it was absolutely fantastic. Our first visit was the normal menu. You are given homemade rustic rolls with Tzatziki to nibble on while you make up your mind ( so good we asked for seconds!) The stuffed courgette flowers are delicious and the veal stamnus was to die for served in a clay pot which added to the experience. The second time we went was for their Greek night. The cobble stoned street was lined with colourful tables and there was a fabulous atmosphere. The food that followed was plentiful and tasty my only small criticism was it would have been a nice touch if the waiter actually told us what he had placed on our table. We had one less dish to try than the other tables as our waiter forgot to give it to us BUT We are kind of glad as we were stuffed!! At €15 and all you can drink house wine it was the best value of the holiday. The entertainment wasn't the best Greek dancing we'd seen but their enthusiasm more than made up for it. I very highly recommend The Traditional's Greek night!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shelleyb65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Traditional Restaurant at Limanaki also viewed

Petra, Lesbos
Petra, Lesbos
 
Petra, Lesbos
Petra, Lesbos
 
 

Been to The Traditional Restaurant at Limanaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing