We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Apts, Great place,Great host”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Petra
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Niki Michael Studios
Ranked #2 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Petra
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Apts, Great place,Great host”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just returned from Petra, had an amazing fortnight. Niki's Michael apts were in a fantastic position with the village on one side and an amazing mountain view the other. Michael was funny, helpful and an extremely nice fellow. The BBQ night is a right laugh. Be warned ! The ouzo measures are a killer and never mind the 80% proof grappe. Great holiday. Would recommend it to all .

Room Tip: Rooms to the front are in the shade in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary712014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    29
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
34
92
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Back after 2 week holiday for 14th year running.
Not much to add to all the good reviews.
Speaks for itself that we wouldn't all keep going back if it wasn't up to standard.
For the odd bad reviewer....what were you expecting?
It doesn't profess to be 5*.
Its Greece at its best...a working island of wonderful people who will do anything to please the visitors.
If you have nothing positive to say, then say nothing!!!
I'm already booked to next year and trying to get out for a week in September.

Room Tip: Personally I prefer the lower terrace, rooms are much cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mouthpeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I have visited various Greek Islands and understand Greece is basic. However this was below standard. And is really disappointing because Petra is lovely.

The room was small and dark, and nowhere to put your luggage.

Cleanliness has never been a problem until we stayed here.

Beds only changed once a week and even when it was changed they put a stained sheet back on my bed.

Found broken glass under the bed, so it was obviously not fully cleaned on changeover day.

Towels were only changed once a week which when it is 37 degrees hot it's unhygienic.

Drinks around the pool are more expensive than any bar or restaurant in the resort.

The pool area is big enough not to feel cramped.

Location is good only a 10 minute stroll down to bars, restaurants, and the beach. And a 30 minute walk to the next resort called Anaxos.

Michael is a friendly man and tries to make you feel welcome but the apartments really let him down.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank compo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, UK
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

You know something is right about a place when most people staying there are repeat visitors. And not just once or twice, many of Michael's guests have been coming for years. In fact it's so good I wondered about not writing a review to try and make sure no one finds out just how great it is!

What makes it so good? It isn't necessarily 3 or 4 star accommodation, some things look a little tired around the edges, although it is situated in a beautiful and quiet spot on the outskirts of the village. It also has a lovely swimming pool, fabulously designed bar and the food served by Michael and his mother is amazing.

What makes it really special though is Michael. He won't like me saying this but he's simply a star! If you have any problems whilst you're staying there please just tell him. The guy will do anything to ensure you have a great stay and he makes one of the best margaritas I've ever had (and I've had a lot)!

We really did have a wonderful time, so much so for the first time ever we've already booked to go back!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JoF-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This was our first visit to Lesvos. We could not hav picked a better location. Niki-Michaels (not to be confused with Nikis seafront (which is not connected) is run by Niki and Son Michael. Its small and typically basic Greek. The rooms are not 5* but the welcome is. Lovely food, friendly bar- small enough to get frindly with other guests- spacious enough to have a quiet drink. Rooms are either sunny or shady- Micahel tries to accomodate your wishes but with only 13 rooms that can prove hard.
Located quietly out of the 'town' its ideally situated. A stroll to the seafront is wonderful in the evening- passing all the locals out enjoying the evening air, down cobbled streets and past the floodlit church. It really is atmospheric. We loved its so much we did not talk about going back we are booked again for 2014. Cant wait. The island is some 30 years behind the rest of Greece-thats what makes it so alluring. Niki Michaels is perfectly located for the Beach and reaching most of the island.

Room Tip: Its just the luck of the draw- if you want sun ask for back rooms, if you want shade ask for those a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sussexmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Yet another great relaxing holiday with Michael and his family. The location is ideal on the edge of the village surrounded by fields and hills with an easy stroll into the centre of the village. There are plenty of sunbeds and parasols around the well maintained pool and the food cooked by Niki and Michael is excellent.
Michael is always happy to help with advice on places to visit and his quiz on Thursdays is always a good laugh at the bbq night.
We had only been home a day before we booked again to return next June and it can't come soon enough.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilDDale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, UK
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have just returned from a fabulous holiday in Petra, staying at the Niki-Michaels studios.

We had a triple upper room, the nearest one overlooking the bar. It was spacious and clean, with very comfortable beds and pillows, a small bathroom with shower and hand-held shower and a small kitchen area. The balcony ran the whole width of the room so quite large with a table and 3 chairs.

The pool area was nicely kept with sufficient beds by the pool and good quality parasol shades. There was also some olive trees over hanging if anyone wanted any natural shade, usually me!

Michael was really friendly and helpful with tips on where to visit and even trying to locate an item of lost property for us in a mountain village. As he says, if he can do something he will, and he certainly did. He's a bit of a music expert and perhaps we will try and enhance his music collection further should we return next year! His mum, Niki is always seen working quietly in the background - a delightful lady with a ready wave for when we walked on by.

Whilst we were there other guests mainly consisted of couples and family groups and even being so close to the bar, we never experienced any disturbance from the bar area. In fact, we probably caused the most noise, on one evening only, during this fortnight, thanks to Michael's barbeque night and the wine flowing a little too freely. Superb food on this night - all traditional Greek food and I guess it was all home made. Delicious.

Really loved the location of this property - on the edge of the village at the start of one of the cobbled streets and surrounded by fields with goats and sheep. A dirt track ran past the accommodation - a nice alternative walk into the village, past a rural landscape. Lucky for us the figs were just coming good!

Petra for us is the best place to stay in the Anaxos - Petra - Molyvos choice. We loved the fact that Petra is a traditional working village and we felt we were living amongst the Greek community. Greatly enjoyed our daily wanderings down to the village and/or beach and seeing Greek life all around us.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mathsboffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petra
0.8 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#1 of 13 in Petra
168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ourania Studios
Ourania Studios
#5 of 13 in Petra
103 reviews
1.0 mi away
Theofilos Hotel And Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Plaza Palace Hotel
Plaza Palace Hotel
#1 of 5 in Anaxos
172 reviews
25.8 mi away
Pyrgos of Mytilene
Pyrgos of Mytilene
#2 of 6 in Mytilene
86 reviews
0.5 mi away
Niki Studios Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Niki Michael Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niki Michael Studios

Property: Niki Michael Studios
Address: Petra, Petra, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Lesbos > Petra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Petra
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Run Friendly Standart Greek Studios With Nice Pool Area Lively Bar ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Niki Michael Studios Petra, Lesbos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing