We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did not want to go home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Orion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Orion Hotel
Ranked #20 of 72 Hotels in Faliraki
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Did not want to go home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Have just returned from spending a week here at the Orion hotel, 11th-17th June, travelling with Cosmos/Monarch. We are 3 female friends in our 30's none of which had been to Greece before. We had a fantastic time!

The rooms at the Orion are quite basic, however they have everything you need with fresh sheets & towels everyday. We had a spacious triple ground floor room overlooking the pool with 3 full sized beds, plenty of wardrobe & drawer space for the 3 of us. TV, aircon, sink & fridge. Bathroom with small bath, shower & hairdryer. There was also a really large enclosed terrace with table & 4 chairs.

What made this hotel really special are the staff & the amazing food! The staff really looked after us especially Maria & Collosus. They genuinely could not do enough for you & really cared that you were happy & having a good time. We ate in the pool bar grill everyday for breakfast & lunch & we ate in the main restaurant every evening. There are lots of restaurants in Faliraki you can choose from, but we enjoyed the food & the company so much we did not feel the need to try anywhere else as we were made so welcome. The menu is really varied & we tried something different everyday & the cocktails are lovely! Food at home will never be the same again!

The pool is gorgeous & early June was a great time to come as the weather was hot & sunny everyday but there were still sun beds & umbrellas available when we made it up at lunchtime after lots of late nights. There was a real mix of nationalities & ages at the hotel. You are also only a 5 minute walk from the beach where there are lots of water sports available.

The hotel is in an ideal location at the end of club street, and it is only a 5-10 minute walk to bar street, on the way there are plenty of nice shops, bars, restaurants, cocktail bars & clubs, can be as quiet or as lively as you want & I would say there are bars to suit everyone. We had come to party, & party we did! If you can learn a few words of Greek, good evening & thank you it will get you far, as will finding a couple of bars you like & sticking to those so they get to know you. In the end we were turning away free shots!

All in all had the time of our lives, & we did not want to go home! We are already booking to go back next year & cannot wait to see our adopted family at the Orion again. If you are debating whether to book do it! You will have a fab time! (Don't forget your mossie spray for the evenings)

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    96
    48
    15
    21
See reviews for
76
138
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Came to the orion for a weeks holiday as a young couple. The hotel was reasonably cheap so I wasn't expecting a lot, but everything exceeded our expectations. The rooms are pretty standard but enough for what we were looking for. Location and pool were excellent. The pool bar really makes the hotel, food and service can't be faulted. Drinks at the pool bar are cheaper and stronger than some of the bars in the centre of Faliraki. The hotel has the nicest staff, who really go out of their way to make sure you have a great holiday.

Would definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fbarker807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I've been visiting this hotel for 10 years now and each time is better than the first. The location is perfect, staff are fantastic and food is amazing not to mention the cocktails. This was a perfect honeymoon!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STraill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Myself and my wife have stayed here about 9 times it is great Maria and her family are so welcoming and can't do enough for you on your stay the food in there restaurant is fabulous thanks again Maria for a great hol mark&tracy

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkeyhangers69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Another fantastic week at Orion hotel falaraki ,staff 1st class and very Freindly nothing a problem .meals well what can you say absolutely 1st class .a big thank you to Charlie+Zoe!George+maria and all the staff!can't wait for September

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Anselmo, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

This is an okay hotel in Faliraki - which is a good area to stay in if you are going scuba diving (highly recommend H20 Divers) and want to see Lindos. If I were to do this trip again, I would probably stay closer to Rhodes City as Faliraki used to be a big party spot and now seems in decline (the place next to the Orion looks like an old hotel turning to rubble). It also has a lot of overweight Brits walking around without their shirts on showing off their tattoos (maybe coming back to re-live their glory days?).

Overall Faliraki didn't do it for me at all, and part of it was that the Orion hotel had a few things going on that made it less than great. One was that they don't have AC - not a big deal, but the doors don't have screens so if you want any air at all in your room (while you sleep), you have to crack the door open and then wake up to loads of mosquito bites. The other negative was that the pool bar (which is where most of the rooms are located near) plays bad 80s music super load 24-7. How is that a relaxing vacation? I used the pool a few times - which is big and great, and the breakfast was pretty good for this part of the world. But other than that, I cannot say this was a great hotel.

That all said, staff were very friendly and helpful. So, if you need a crash pad for doing excursions in the area, this might work for you.

Room Tip: If you want Internet in your room, get one close to the pool bar. If you don't want 80s music 24...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank InspiredDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Have just returned after another great holiday staying at The Orion, as always everything is of the highest standards! Big thank you again to Charlie+Zoe for looking after us in the Pool bar.And to Paul in reception for having everything ready for our arrival. Last but not least to Maria +George for opening up the Restaurant last night and allowing us to have the Famous Orion " Faliraki Steak" before we left for our flight home to Scotland,until we meet again my friends Kalispera."A week is never enough "

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickos67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Faliraki hotels
1.0 mi away
Venezia Resort
Venezia Resort
#23 of 72 in Faliraki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
1.7 mi away
Zoes Hotel
Zoes Hotel
#9 of 72 in Faliraki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apollo Beach Hotel
Apollo Beach Hotel
#16 of 72 in Faliraki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Blue Sea Beach Resort
Blue Sea Beach Resort
#6 of 72 in Faliraki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pegasos Beach Hotel
Pegasos Beach Hotel
#4 of 72 in Faliraki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mitsis Faliraki Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orion Hotel

Property: Orion Hotel
Address: Athinodorou 1 | Athinodorou 1 & Kallithea Avenue, Faliraki 851 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Faliraki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Faliraki
#18 Family Hotel in Faliraki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Orion Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 350 metres from the sandy beach of Faliraki in Rhodes, Orion Hotel features a swimming pool and a restaurant. It offers spacious, air-conditioned rooms with a furnished balcony overlooking the garden. All rooms at Orion include a satellite TV and a fridge. Each has a private bathroom with hairdryer and shower. Breakfast is served in the dining area. The on-site restaurant prepares Greek specialties and international cuisine. Drinks, coffee and light meals are offered at the poolside snack bar. Guests can relax in the hot tub or on the sun terrace that features free sun loungers and umbrellas. Free Wi-Fi access is possible in the hotel's public areas. The centre of lively Faliraki offering many bars and restaurants is 500 metres away. Staff at the 24-hour front desk can give information on Rhodes Town with the Palace of the Grand Master of the Knights at 14 km. Free, private parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Orion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orion Hotel Faliraki, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing