We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“handy for getting around”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Windmill Studios Faliraki
Ranked #19 of 37 Faliraki B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 October 2012

The good news is that it is just outside of Faliraki. The front is the main east coast road which has bus stops and a frequent bus service from Rhodes town to Lindos and the best of the island and its best beach at Tsambika. The hotel is easy for hire cars to find, especially from the airport. The back of the Windmill looks out over very pretty countryside. The pool is large and very nice with a buzz next to this road. Full English breakfast is 3.50 euros or 6 euros if you’re the Colossus.
The bad news is that it is just outside of Faliraki. The centre [a bit of a dump anyway] and the beaches are far away. The nearest is the stunning Anthony Quinn Bay - a very nice walk about a mile away [right to the traffic lights then left]. This is a must see and the Windmill is one of its nearest hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank peter d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2012

We visited Faliraki at the end of August and just wanted to say how lovely the holiday was and these apartments. The pool was amazing and we used it everyday, evening staying in it until just before it closed. The rooms where basic but very clean, the cleaner came three times during our stay, providing us with fresh towels etc. We bought the air-con which was 8 Euros a day, half way through our holiday and this made such a difference. (Defiantly worth the money, as it was red hot all week, with not a single cloud in the sky!) Irene & Jordan (the owners) where really nice and went out of there way for us the whole week. We would defantly recomend the apartments and Faliraki to everyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 202, this was brilliant, nice and quite, only noise being the main road but we sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hannah746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

After reading these reviews we were worried about coming here! We came as a couple and got back yesterday after a weeks stay here. When we arrived we were greeted by a lovely lady, Irene who made us feel really welcome. We paid for air-con (8 euros a day) it was well worth it! It was red hot all week so we just stayed by the pool. The pool was clean and relatively quiet but there was road noise which we didn't really notice (we could still sleep through it!) there was never any fighting for sun loungers and some days we had the pool to ourselves even though the hotel was full. We had a room towards the back of the hotel and it was extremely quiet, i'm a light sleeper and didn't have any trouble sleeping. We didn't use the kitchenette, we tended to get breakfast downstairs by the snackbar which was lovely! I got fresh watermelon nearly every day. There was a wide variety of food on the menu and if you requested something she was always happy to help! We had family staying in another hotel in Faliraki and we visited this hotel on one day (it was a 4 star all-inclusive hotel) but it was such a relief to get back to our quiet pool! We usually got a taxi to the centre as it was too hot in the day to walk. The supermarkets weren't far but is probably best to go early evening. We walked to and from the centre on a few occasions and we didn't find it a long walk at all (and i'm pregnant!).
So all in all we had a brilliant holiday, run by a lovely couple that couldn't do enough for us. I definitely recommend and don't let the bad reviews put you off. Some people are very picky and might not like what you do!

Room Tip: A room to the back of the hotel is nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Olivia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

The hotel was fairly empty for the duration of our stay but then so was Faliraki town in general, May being early in the tourist season. This suited me - quiet days sunbathing, unmolested by traders, by the hotel's pool. The pool was great - clean and well maintained. There is a busy dual carriageway that runs about 20 metres in front of the hotel so road traffic noise is quite noticeable out by the pool,but not overly intrusive.You can also hear road noise in your room, especially at night. If this bothers you, ask for a room around the back - you hardly hear the traffic at all. Take your mosquito spray or be prepared to be mossied!!! Air conditioning is 8 euros/day but worth it - it certainly cuts down on the mosquitos and is a welcome, cool, relief after roasting in the sun! The studios are about 20 mins walk to the beach/centre of Faliraki (Bar Street). The rooms are basic but clean. Plenty of power in our shower and plenty of hot water (Room 202) but the bathroom was quite small. The bedroom incorporates a fridge, kettle and oven hobs (2) along with plates & cups etc and some pans. We just ate out as it was quite affordable. There are electric (2 pin) power points but you have to search for them! One of ours was permanently in use with an anti mosquito liquid dispenser plugged in. This was kindly given to us by Irene & Jordan (gratis) which brings me to the Unique Selling Point of this hotel for me. The owners couldn't do enough for us the whole of our stay and made the holiday that much more enjoyable. It beats staying at a large impersonal hotel. Aside from that, there is NO wi-fi in the rooms - which to me could be remedied at little expense but greatly improve tourists' holiday experience. However, Irene kindly let us use their wi-fi which we could access in the pool bar area, which we did during meals. This came in handy for planning and reading up about places to visit or restaurants etc. but would have been better in the room. We ate quite a lot at the pool bar and the food was consistently of a high standard, The menu is only in English & caters very much for English tastes (with dishes like 'Bangers n Mash' on their menu you get the idea). The full English breakfast is a great way to start the day and at 6 euros with a cuppa tea is value for money. Continental breakfast is a lighter alternative. I have rated this as Very Good but I don't mean this is a 5 star hotel. It is basic but if you are expecting a five star hotel for the price forget it. If, like me, you know what to expect for the money, you won't be disappointed and like me, maybe even pleasantly surprised. This hotel/studio complex is a great place to relax and is in a quiet area of Faliraki, road noise excepted! Thanks to Irene and Jordan who made our stay that much more enjoyable.

Room Tip: 1. If you suffer from hay fever make sure you take some anti-histamine tablets. Both myself and my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank EngelskRikky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We have just got back from a week long stay in Faliraki. Our original accomodation was fully booked so we were offered this hotel as an alternative. We were nervous at first as we hadnt heard of these apartments, however we were pleasantly surprised upon arrival!

The room was basic but clean and just what we needed. The rooms were cleaned twice in the week and the towels were replaced twice too, which was more than sufficient. The only downside to the room was the shower was hand held but this is common in Greece so we fully embraced it! We were self catering, it had a fridge, two cooking rings, kettle, cuttlery, crockery, pots etc.

The air con was 8 euros per day and the safe was 10 euros for the week, i think this is fairly average for most hotels in the area though. A previous review mentioned that their air con was switched off when they left it on while they were out, this was probably because the air con pipe is attached to the air con unit on the balcony where the pipe drips water into a bucket, if left on all day the bucket would overflow and the balcony would flood. The rooms were cool within 5 minutes of turning the AC on so this was not a problem for us.

The hotel has books for you to borrow and plenty magazines (probs from previous holiday makers) and internet is 50 cent for 10 minutes use.

The pool was very clean (cleaned twice, once in the morning and last thing at night). There was no problems obtaining a sun bed too, the hotel doesnt open its pool until 8am, to prevent people reserving sun beds, this was never an issue though as there was always plenty of beds left over every day.

There is a main road right next to the pool but you dont actually notice the noise too much. I am a light sleeper and never noticed any noise from the road etc. I would recommend that you take a set of ear plugs and eye mask as your neighbours may be noisy (this happened to us twice in the holiday).

The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the city centre and beach, close enough for a night out but far away enough to be away from the hustle and bustle.

Irene (the lady who runs it) is very helpful, we had to check out at 12 noon but werent flying home until 325am the next morning, she gave us a courtesy room for showering and freshening up which she didnt have to do. She also let us use the phone to contact our rep whenever we needed to. She works 24/7 and wants to make sure everyone is comfortable.

If your not expecting 5 star and want clean and basic this is fine for you, id recommend for couples, families with older children and groups.


TIPS

There are 3 supermarkets nearby, Asda, Morrisons and Safeway. We thought Safeway was the best as it was easiest to navigate and the staff were friendly. Oh a wee tip, buy 6 bottles of water for 1.90 (not refrigerated) instead of paying 1 euro for 1 refrigerated bottle.

The waterpark is worth going to. Go on a wed or sat though as these are change over days. However id recommend going first thing as we went for it opening (930am) and got onto all of the slides before it got too busy! (Take a pair of socks too as the ground gets really hot!!)

Also visit Rhodes town, especially the old town, fantastic market stalls def worth a look (2.20 euros single on the bus, 25 minute journey).

The beach is really good too, very clean and there are showers all the way along it, snorkelling is a must.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Kirstiiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

The brochure and the lady owner, Irene, say it's only 10 minutes to the centre. What is more accurate is that it takes 10 minutes to the EDGE of the centre then 10-15 more minutes to the centre and the beach. My wife and I found it a bit too far to walk to the centre every day (particularly under the sun). So if you don't want to walk too far, choose somewhere else.

The Studio is good value for money although you have to pay 8 euro a day for aircon. I agree with the other comment that the lady owner is not quite friendly, the room is cleaned once at midweek, and it can be noisy from the road noise. I also expected a microwave cooker in the room but this maybe too much to ask for considering it's a budget apartment. I have no experience with the other accommodations in Faliraki so I can't compare. And one more thing the two beds in the room when joined still have a big gap in the middle which can be uncomfortable. I never saw a poor twin-bed like this before.

Rhodes was great, I like Old town as much as Farilaki. I chose to stay in Faliraki because it's lively and decent beach.and then traveled to Rodos and Lindos. I like to recommend a Greek restaurant namely Dimitra at the Farilaki beach opposite Pizza Hut and KFC. The slouvaki chicken and the grilled squid were brilliant - we went twice. We had drinks at Jamaican bar and the Alabama where they have Wi-Fi for my wife to use the internet. Both gave good services and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Piya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 10 nights from Jun 27th untill July 7th and really enjoyed ourselves! The rooms are pretty basic but who stays in thier room when they have all of Rhodes to expore! the rooms were cleaned every other day and the young woman who cleans them was very friendly and did a good job.
the hotel is run by a Greek lady called Irene who really couldn't do enough for us, and by the look of it runs the hotel single handed working from 8am untill 1am. Irene also cooks food at the hotel, is a fab cook and makes an array of home cooked meals for a reasonable price. i really reccomend that you try her fruit salad with greek yoghurt and honey as its to die for!! i have attached a pic of the one i had, also one day we asked for water melon expecting a couple of slices as it was only 3 Euro and she came out with two quarters of water melon for us, they were huge!!
the pool is lush as well (not too cold) and as it is a small hotel you dont have to get up at the crack of dawn to get a sunlounger!! im really not sure what the previous review is taking about as when we were there, which by the looks of it was the week after, Irene really couldn't do enough for us, we had a problem with our air con leaking so she had it fixed by the end of the day and was more than helpfull the entire time we were there, on our last day she even gave us free drinks to take with us on the bus to the airport!!! i will agree that the air con is a little overpriced but what you have to remember about small hotels like this is that they dont make any money off the rooms as they are only £45 for a week!! they have to make a living off somthing so that is the only way they can make money, the food at the hotel though i found to be really reasonably priced and i took my own bottles of water by the pool and Irene didn't say a word to me about it.
Faliraki is fab and only a short walk away, on the way into the centre there is a bar called alabama which is fab and has an english waitress called Emma who is awesome, her friend Amy works in the brittish bar around the corner which do nice pizza and free fishbowls with food an theytook us out on our first night needless to say wedidn't get back untill 7am! you wont ever get lost on the way into town and back as it is straight down the main road (there is a pavement). As for the traffic noise i really didnt notice it myself and i am quite a light sleeper. our room was at the front of the hotel so if you were gonna notice it anywhere it would of been in our room but i slept like a log. i do live in a town myself though so maby if you were from the country you may notice it but tbh it never bothered me.
its also really worth checking out anthony quinn bay if you get a chance as it is absolutly fabulous.
i gonna finish by saying if you want a cheap as chips hoiday with fab service than this is the hotel for you, i meen £45 per week what a bargin!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sair4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faliraki
0.2 mi away
Achousa Hotel
Achousa Hotel
#40 of 70 in Faliraki
357 reviews
9.9 mi away
Meliton Hotel
Meliton Hotel
#1 of 2 in Theologos
594 reviews
0.8 mi away
Argo Hotel
Argo Hotel
#24 of 70 in Faliraki
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sevastos Hotel
Sevastos Hotel
#10 of 37 in Faliraki
223 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nephele Apartments
Nephele Apartments
#26 of 80 in Faliraki
12 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Windmill Studios Faliraki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Windmill Studios Faliraki

Address: 15km Rhodes-Lindos Avenue Main Road, Faliraki, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Faliraki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Faliraki
Price Range: £9 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Windmill Studios Faliraki 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Old Windmill Studios Faliraki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Windmill Studios Hotel Faliraki
Old Windmill Studios Faliraki Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing