We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed.. please read this”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Windmill Studios Faliraki
Ranked #19 of 37 Faliraki B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 June 2010

My two female friends and I stayed at this family run hotel last week. We were disappointed for various reasons, sadly. The lady who runs the hotel didnt smile all week or extend any kind of friendliness or small talk (unless she was taking extra cash from us for an extra service), therefore it felt distinctly UNfriendly, not like the usual friendliness you come to expect from the Greek people. We arrived at about 5am to a stiflingly hot room. This was because the curtains had been left open, in our opinion, to ensure the room was very hot so we would purchase air conditioning. The air conditioning was 8 euros per day. She even charged us for the first night, even though we only arrived at 5am!! After having paid for this air conditioning, we wanted to ensure the room would be cool when we returned home after a day out. Therefore, we left the key fob in the slot so that it would remain cool. However, after we left the room, somebody would sneak in to our room and remove the fob so we couldnt have the air conditioning on!! We really did not appreciate the fact that the owners thought they could sneak in at any time, when we weren't there. We were shocked to find that the maid only visited our room ONCE in the whole week to change the sheets and towels, and most importantly, the bin by the toilet in which you have to put the soiled toilet paper. This is really unacceptable and extremely unhygienic. Luckily we had our own carrier bags and had to take the soiled toilet paper bags out to the skip ourselves, they didnt even think to provide us with bags. You can imagine that by the end of the week the floors needed mopping, the sheets really needed changing again as it was very hot and fresh towels would have been nice, NONE of this was done apart from once midweek.

The owner will charge for any extras, nothing is done by goodwill. Everything is chargable, you cannot even take your own drinks and food to the poolside (even though these apartments are self catering?) We were charged 18 euros to keep the room until 6pm so we could shower and change in comfort.... guess what... to cap it all off, someone sneaked into our room mid afternoon and took away the key to the airconditioning. She couldnt even allow us to have a cool room before our flight home. Yet we had paid for six nights, so obviously she charged us for the first 'night' (from 5am??)

The apartments are right by the extremely busy main road to Rhodes town, it is like being beside the M25. After a week it was too much. If you are a light sleeper, I suggest you take ear plugs, the noise from the road is relentless. Also, some of the windows and doors do not have curtains, so you are woken up in the early hours to bright sunlight and of course, the heat streaming into the rooms.

Apart from all the negatives regarding the apartments, we had a fantastic time, it is what you make it. If you come to Faliraki, make sure you visit MIKES BRITISH PUB. Funny as it sounds, it is actually run by a fantastic Greek family, Yanni is so friendly and always makes you feel really welcome. The pizzas are to die for, made by Italian chefs, I can guarantee you will return once you have tasted them!! He will give you a free cocktail on your first visit there, and if you dine there you will get a massive 'fishbowl' cocktail for FREE!! nothing is too much trouble for Yanni and they pull out all the stops to make sure you have a good night in their pub. Its a short walk out of Faliraki but WELL WORTH IT!!

We enjoyed the beach too, not too busy lovely and sandy. All in all a fantastic week but we really do not recommend these apartments.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank dibza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2009

Old Windmill Studios are run by a lovely woman called Irene, who takes pride in her business. The rooms are basic and typical of the apartments you would find in Rhodes, but are clean and well maintained. The air-con works well, though it does cost 8 Euros per day and you also have to pay for the safe (these rooms are SO cheap that they need to make the money somewhere).

The pool is lovely and clean and well maintained, which brings me onto the only downside to this review - the location. The studios are about 5-10 minutes walk from the town, directly facing onto the main road, which can get very busy. This means you have almost constant road noise. The music played around the pool drowns out most of it though. At night, if you've got your doors open you can hear traffic all night and even with the doors closed light sleepers might struggle. My solution - pay for the air-con which drowns out most of it or take ear plugs.

But don't let the noise/location put you off. This is a lovely place, well worth the money, just outside of the main hustle and bustle and great value for money.

Best bits of Faliraki - the waterpark, the beach life, the night life and the option of travelling around Rhodes to experience the culture.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DNGKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ilnii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldWindmill F, Owner at Old Windmill Studios Faliraki, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vipsunnysea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank _crazyelyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Luca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Paolo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faliraki
0.2 mi away
Achousa Hotel
Achousa Hotel
#40 of 70 in Faliraki
355 reviews
9.9 mi away
Meliton Hotel
Meliton Hotel
#1 of 2 in Theologos
594 reviews
0.7 mi away
Zoes Hotel
Zoes Hotel
#7 of 70 in Faliraki
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Panorama Hotel Apartments
Panorama Hotel Apartments
#112 of 126 in Rhodes Town
237 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hillside Studios and Apartments
1.6 mi away
Tivoli Hotel
Tivoli Hotel
#24 of 37 in Faliraki
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Windmill Studios Faliraki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Windmill Studios Faliraki

Address: 15km Rhodes-Lindos Avenue Main Road, Faliraki, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Faliraki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Faliraki
Price Range: £11 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Windmill Studios Faliraki 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Old Windmill Studios Faliraki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Windmill Studios Hotel Faliraki
Old Windmill Studios Faliraki Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing