We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Rodos Palladium(Kallithea)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Esperos Mare(Faliraki)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,783)
Filter reviews
1,783 results
Traveller rating
1,433
226
90
25
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,433
226
90
25
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschampagne barbeach barburger barmain restaurantpittapita cornernight barbeautiful hotelblue domesa la carte restaurantspizza ovensea viewgreek restaurantcold towelsprivate poolnext yearasian sushi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,029 - 1,034 of 1,783 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Here is my honest review - I dont understand some people's comments when they say they had a bad time and had to go home early - some people just cant be pleased! The hotel is brand new, beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. The rooms are very spacious with stunning sea views. The staff are the best i have ever come across on any holiday i have been on; they are always smiling and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The food is fantastic always something for everyone. I do agree that some of the themed restaurants may not serve the most authentic food that you may find in the respective cuisine's home countries but nevertheless the food is always of great quality and is very tasty! Agreed the a la carte booking system isnt the best but if you experiemce any problems you should take the time to speak nicely to a restaurant manager; they will always do their best to accommodate you. The alcohol is truly fantastic; perhaps some spirits are local but of course to be expected! The wine is excellent, not from a bag under the counter at all! There is a lot of variety and none of our party had any complaints with the beer! Perhaps the pool should have been a better layout so all sunbeds could be poolside but that really is only a minor fault. The beach is stony and personally i prefer a sandy beach but the water is perfect - beautifully clean and clear. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and if you have booked here you are in for a treat!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank tripadvicejs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Its all about what your expectations are with this hotel. If you are used to staying in v good 4 and 5 star hotels......you will be disappointed. Sorry but that's my honest opinion. I stayed for a week from 5 to 12 June. The pricing is good because this is the opening of the hotel but this brings disadvantages.....it's full of people who are easily impressed.

The clientele is predominantly eastern European, probably 50% plus but feels like more. Almost entirely Russian. Not a charming bunch I'm afraid and obviously not used to ethnic diversity. Be prepared to be pointed and stared at if you are not white (seriously).

As for the food and drink which is much hyped (mainly by the hotel), this is where the problems really lie. The restaurants are very similar in cooking style, we found the Asian best followed by Pitta Corner for lunch. The Italian and Mexican restaurants were not great. The booking system for the hotel restaurants is definitely the worst I have ever encountered. There is one screen in the basement where every guest has to try and book the restaurants. The user experience is awful. No idea what they are trying to do but it's not working and no wonder every guest complains about it.

The drinks were also really poor. The restaurant wine is bottled and Greek. It's drinkable but only just. In the bars the spirits are local (forget all this nonsense about "ask for Gordons"...they now don't have premium drinks). The only beer is the local Rodos lager. The wine is served from a wine box below the counter. You can guess how terrible this is!

The "champagne" bar and the wine bar are better than the other bars but unfortunately the quality of produce is terrible. This is not Champagne. It's Greek sparkling wine and it is shocking. When was the last time you bought Greek sparkling wine? Says it all.

The hotel is stunning to look at and the Greek staff are amazing. But as I said at the beginning it's all about expectations. I was incredibly disappointed by the hotel and I would never return. In fact we left early and booked a Ryanair flight just to get home.

Get a very cheap deal and leave your expectations at home would be my advice. Be very careful though if you are used to quality hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

The Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa is a brand new hotel set on the beach on the outskirts of Faliraki, Rhodes.
Upon entering the hotel it looks grand and modern as do the rooms and restaurants. We loved the comfort and elegant style of the rooms, the only down side was the balcony sliding door which was very stiff and after a week of opening caused a back strain. The staff were very helpful and the maintenance staff tried their best to correct the problem, however I think the problem was with the installation and the installers were to be called back to correct it! Speaking to other guests it would appear that this was a common problem.

The hotel has 8 restaurants/eating areas, the main restaurant does buffet style dining, however we mostly enjoyed a combination of the Asian & Sushi or the Greek/Ouzo & Meze restaurants as the food was great as were the staff.

The main pool was disappointing in as much that it was the same depth all over, at a depth of 1500mm it was great if you were a confident swimmer, however if you are only 5ft 4ins and a poor swimmer then the only option is the children’s pool as the sea gets deep very quickly!

The hotel has a policy of NOT reserving the sun beds, however we found that all the beds in the best areas were covered with towels from before breakfast and only a few were actually used before lunch time, unfortunately the hotel reception staff were unable to do anything about the situation and in fact encouraged us to do the same (my wife is in a wheelchair which makes it difficult to hunt down a sun bed with a parasol). I must say that the hotel staff did everything they could to assist and nothing was too much trouble.

Our overall comments are that this is a great hotel with loads of potential, it is disabled and family friendly and all the staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank techphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel after a tip off from a friend. It was amazing, in fact it was so good we have booked to go back again in September. The rooms were superb, and we got upgraded to a sea view room , as it was our wedding anniversary, which was a nice touch. We found all the restaurants very good, in particular the Mezze restaurant on the first floor , where the main waiter was attentive and welcoming each day (the petite waitress in the burger bar was also lovely) . The Italian restaurant was probably our favourite serving great food.

The staff at the beach bar made our holiday . Yannis, Mickaelis , and Maria were a joy, and they were so efficient and happy in their work. Nothing was too much trouble . We found that the staff around we're excellent, and the food and beverage manager , and the general manager of the hotel were constantly checking that standards were maintained , and made us feel that our opinion and stay we're important to them.

We have stayed in 5 and a 6 star hotel, and this ranked as a true 5 star. Just booked again for September, can't wait !

Room Tip: All sea views are fab
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sunlover097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I'm writing this in the hope management read this kind of honest feedback, and may possibly act upon it ??
Firstly, let me say we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Mitsis Alila, and have returned home after a 10-night break fully refreshed. However, it didn't start that way ......

We arrived at the Alila at 1430, after the usual energy sapping traveling and getting up at 0230 the same morning. First impressions were brilliant, a large, cool, well-appointed reception greets you and you begin to look forward to grabbing a cold drink, after the inevitable unpacking. Not so.
We were told that we were having to be moved to the hotel next door due to mis-bookings. No amount of debate changed the situation, so we had no choice but to go, but with the proviso we would have a room upgrade upon our return the following day. A shame this happened, as it put us on a bit of a downer for that evening (wondering if we were destined to spend the rest of the holiday in the 'other' hotel), but true to their word, we were checked in the next day and upgraded to a wonderful room. For those interested, it was 702. Well away from the noise, fantastic 180 degree views looking out to the sea. This did actually make up for the previous days faux-pas.

After unpacking, and our obligatory cold drink, we explored the hotel and all its splendour. You will not be disappointed at all, in my opinion. it has obviously been built and fitted out to a high standard, even the sun-beds appear to be made from solid wood and weigh the same of a small family car. The usual 'Towel hangers' are in operation, same wherever you go ???, but we never failed to find spare sunbeds when we ventured onto the complex front, or on to the beach.

The staff ?? As a few have already pointed out, this is a new hotel and I feel some of the staff are still 'finding their feet', but every single one of them are helpful and a pleasure to deal with. The dining room manager (forgot his name) stood out to us, as did Stamos and Suzi who work the restaurants and bars.

The restaurants, of which there are many and varied, are all pretty good. The Asian is particularly good. Try a glass or two of wine, or champagne, in the 2 bars (same bar really) that are on the same floor before you dine ?? My wife doesn't touch alcohol as a rule, but she fell in love with the 'Roberta' champagne on offer.

The evening entertainment is hit and miss, a couple of good acts, a couple of passable ones. But for some reason, there's not an act every night, as I might expect at a 5* dwelling ??

The problems that can, and should be addressed, are mainly regarding the children. The champagne and wine bars are supposed to be 'Adult only', but we found kids there every night. it is a thoroughfare to other parts of the hotel, and as such you will always get kids passing through, but these were sat in the area with their parents.
In the main restaurant, the children seem to be left to their own devices and on a good few occasions we noticed some eating a bit of food at the buffet stands, obviously not liking it and putting it back for some unwitting individual to possibly pick it up !! We saw one child just dip his 2 hands full into the jelly. Some of the young girls with long hair saw it going into the food as they reached over to grab something. Moaning ?? Maybe, but where food and hygiene is concerned you can't be too careful.

Unfortunately, over 95% of the occupancy when we were there, appeared to be either Russian or German, or from some other former USSR country. Wherever I have travelled in the world, the Russians still come across as rude and abrupt and this was no different. Nothing the hotel can do about this, I just felt sorry for the staff on the receiving end.

Please, do not avoid this hotel purely from what I have written above. It really is a beautiful place to relax and chill out. The points I mention, are in the hope that something may be done to ensure this particular Mitsis hotel maintains a great reputation. It deserves it.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior room.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank razpag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews