We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an unforgettable vacantion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 72 Hotels in Faliraki
Certificate of Excellence
Brasov, Romania
1 review
“an unforgettable vacantion”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

we stayed at this hotel during 11-18.06.2013
Iwas very pleasantly surprised the exceptional quality of the location and service
It's the third time as we come in Greece, but it was the best stay.
The entire staff was to a high standard, but I would like to highlight an exceptional employee of this resort: Mr. Julian Cretu.
We will definetly return.
Dan R.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,241
    191
    77
    25
    6
See reviews for
639
605
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Trip advisor makes you analyse hotels/trips/experiences to the nth degree - Back in the old days you had a few pics in a brochure and that was enough - now we want too much, expect too much and want to know what everyone thought of it - a few bad reviews and that seed of doubt is set - you move on to the next and the next ... This my TA friends is as true as it comes and before you read my blurb on the hotel - if you want a truly great hotel,wonderful staff, a great selection of food and if you think £160 per night for 2 people AI (not including flight) is a good deal then do not count this out. It prob wont be perfect, you may experience some issues but its how they are dealt with how it matters -

My girlfriend and I have just come back from 10 nights - we had high expectations its brand new (May 1) but also some reservations (due to TripAdvisor) but this seemed the best of the bunch - never been to Rhodes, a bit more expensive than we wished to spend but we bit the bullet - The flights were actually £500+

We arrived late at night, greeted by the hotel porter - The look on the faces of the other holiday makers on our bus as we got off told us this hotel looked impressive - A massive reception area - yet the smallest reception desk you will ever see in such an impressive place - No bother no fuss we checked in and were shown to room 80 - Ground floor - facing the front of the hotel - the road actually - we did have a balcony which was part of the offer - The room struck us a smaller than expected and looking in the bathroom we soon realised it was equipped for disabled people - No bath, no major issue - the biggest problem was the bathroom had nothing to put anything anywhere... in fact the whole room lacked any kind of places to place anything... The sink or the toilet was the only place to put anything - no shelves, no vanity unit nothing.

This wasn't what we were looking for, the room just wasn't practical for a 10 day stay for us at least... Without trying to drag this part out and with the help of the hotel we were relocated to room 246 sea view - This was the room we were expecting - You know the ones in the pictures with the sofas in - Bath with shower, sep shower and a sink with a vanity unit to place stuff on and in - amazing really... The room had air con, all worked fine but it created a pool of water between the hall and the lounge - I reported this but nothing was done about it - No great issue to us we just placed a towel down on the flooded area in the morning - My concern was where the water was going beyond our room...


I cannot fault the staff at all - The only thing I would say is the animation team should have a uniform of some sort so they are easily identified early in your stay. It would also be useful if the hotel gave you a leaflet with timetable of activities and who is who on that team.. Bottom line is go to the animation hut on the beach - there is yoga on the grass every day at 10 and some evening there was a body pump type activity at about 5. There is a tennis court - get your name down if you want a slot on the court... Every day they play volleyball in the morning and afternoon - Just rock up and join in if you want... There is a Brazilian dance party at the beach bar on Sunday from 4 - 6 - The watersports is dedicated to the hotel but not free - It looks like a well run setup tho and the guy running it knows his stuff and looks after his customers - we didn't try it but go on the beach safari on the banana thingy as it takes you to Anthony Quinn Bay which is one of the best coves on the island...

The sunbeds - when we got into the flow - we had zero issues getting one and they are the most comfy beds I've used on a beach/pool area - good quality wood with a thick cushion our gripe was the umbrellas didn't collapse so you had to keep moving the beds round and out of the shade - for others this was fine - yes some people will go down early and reserve beds with towels - it happens everywhere... but we would go down at 8:45 - back row last chairs on the right - you get more room to move around, it seems to be the last area to get populated cos its the furthest from the bar and toilet - but seriously its like a 2 minute walk on wooden path..

Talking of the beach - yep its stoney take some beach shoes and you will have no issues - walk down to water side in flips and remove - its no major concern...

The food options are good - we are not massive foodies but we aint everything with chips will do either - The main hall has a massive variety for breakfast, lunch and evening meal - Huge salad bar, some local kebabs and chips on one stand, main food selections with 20 options of various fish, meats, veg - 2 soups every night, bread, some basic cheese selections, and plenty of sweets and ice creams. Choice of eating inside and out too if you wish.

There are other food options too, a greek, Italian and Asian restaurant that you can book via an online system - it aint the best way, but it works, but generally allow to get space the day after next - The asian is very popular... Then you have more options, mexican and pita bar and to finish a savoury and sweet crepes bar that is open til 2am... I tried the pizza bar on the beach once - it very popular and standard was good enough but done expect to rock up and get a calzone - its a couple of base options like Cheese & Tomato and perhaps one with ham...

The drink - well some of the local spirits are well local - but as you get to know some of the staff you can eek out some other options - the wine is ok, the G/f couldnt drink it in the end - too much of a cab-sav type girl - Beer is fine and you can get it pretty much all day if you want - The beach bar is only open til 6 and your drinks are serviced up in plastic cups but all other bars are glass...

The champagne and the wine bar are fine also - open at 6 - the staff are very friendly - we never had to wait for a drink and all the reviews of not being able to get to the bar for the Russians didn't happen to us - Its not that kind of bar, you don't go and prop it up demanding service from the staff - you seat round the garden view at tables and they come to you... as you get to know the girls they know what you want - They will allow you to take the glasses upstairs but really try to take them back or it can cause grief for them and they appreciate you doing this. They also provide little nibbles whilst drinking at the bars too.. Its more like an expensive cava to be honest, brut, demi-sec, rose and sweet (goes well with a sweet crepe downstairs) - the other good thing for us is that kids aren't allowed at these bars...
Not even the Russian ones

Yep you have to pay a EUR20 deposit for a beach towel per person - if that's a big deal take your own... you do get it back - its just a deposit... just don't lose your receipt.

Get a hire car - the deal in the hotel aint that bad - we got a base car for EUR70 for 2 days all inclusive no hidden extras, no loaded fuel tank - go to Rhodes, Lindos, the temple of butterflies and the monastry at filerimos. The bottom tip parasoni we didnt get to but wish we had... If you want a cabriolet - allow more time for availability and expect £150 for days

There are some design faults with this hotel for sure but will it affect your stay - maybe but not overly - I do fear for its quality in a years or so time, the showers all seem to flood - our one in room 80 flooded into the corridor, the one in 246 flooded also - the grout is already turning yellow, some not all of the furniture wont take the battering of kids, drink, sun tan lotion - but not al for example the seats in the restaurant are all wipe easy...

The evening entertainment was generally good, Beatles tribute band and a guy playing a guitar and singing covers was very very good...

Would I go back ? - possibly yeah - Rhodes is a very nice island, the weather is amazing - we had a day of rain but that was unusual - It was just getting too hot for us at the end of our stay at the low 30's - it gets more like high 30's in July August so bear that in mind..If I could get a bungalow with its private little sun area and pool it would prob swing it

The gym is a let down for me - as others have said - it should be included - even for what is in there its not worth the charge - The spa is suffering - they keep offering deals to encourage people in for treatments - we didn't use it so cant comment - The shops aren't very exciting but someone saw the fur shop as a necessity..

Its not perfect but very little is these days - I stayed in Benidorm in a 4* hotel in April and it was nothing compared to this - not even on the Radar - As that saying goes you will never please all of the people all of the time but the staff will do everything they can to help and look after you..

I speak as I find and I hope you find this helpful in your quest to find a hotel and holiday..

Room Tip: Check you are getting a sea view.. ask how much extra for a Bungalow -
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 7Fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

So we normally stay at the secrets resorts in the Caribbean so have been used to all ins.
This hotel had good and bad points and it is simply a matter of what you are used too.
The food in the Asian, ouzari, Greek and Italian was nice not great but nice.
The Mexican, buffet and pitta not good.
Sometimes you had bottled wine with dinner but at the bar they did use box wine. The Champagne bar was a cava bar.
The drinks were local with the exception of the back lobby bar that had Bacardi and gordens gin.
The beach bar staff were very good they were snowed under as the was was packed.
They serve the drinks in little plastic cups during the day, if you are used to 5* this will shock you.
The pool was busy and loud, when we booked this hotel we thought there was multiple pools.... Wrong just a kids pool and a small main pool.
So would we go back.... No
is it a 5* ? not if you are used to The Caribbean or Dubai.
However the staff are lovely and we didn't pay 5* prices.If you are booked go and have fun .... Try not to let the Russians get to you they are really rude.... Queue what Queue.


  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank staceykayellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We too stayed at the alila 5-12 June and can only wonder if the previous chap was at the same hotel?
The hotel was 5 star plus, the furnishings were supurb, the food was much better than other 5 star we have stayed at - the variety was excellent with all the other restaurants you could choose from. We didn't actually make it to the champagne bar but it was always well attended. Re the NO 'Gordons' etc, the International drinks were served in the bar past Reception - limited choice, but they were there!
Have to agree about the Eastern Europeans, mainly the Russians, they are so rude and pushy, do not control their children - hence they are running riot everywhere!
All the staff were super friendly and helpful, when we arrived we were gutted to find we were in a tiny room with one window, which didn't even open (Room 801) - down to reception to request another room, as it was 2am the chap on desk couldn't do anything, we had to wait till morning. The hotel was full to overflowing but the reception staff could not have been more helpful, we ended up with a lovely room (bungalow) 965, we were the last one so only had people on one side and no-one above - perfect for us. Loungers right in front of our terrace which meant we could use our rooms facilities all day.
Rooms cleaned, fridge topped up every day. The beach was disappointing being so pebbly, but we knew this before we went, so we tended to stay on the terrace near the pool.
The staff in the restaurants and bars were absolutely brilliant, soon got to know your preferences, I.e. Hot, Hot water for tea every time we went in, bar staff pre-empted our drink requirements and always served us at our table. We could not fault anything and, believe me, we have stayed at a lot of 5 star hotels!

The cleaners are constantly on the go, the whole place is immaculate! They do a wonderful job!
The only downside was the return to the airport - took 1hr 50 minutes with Thomas Cook, for a half hour journey!!!
Would we go again? Most definitely - but we'd taxi to and from airport.

Room Tip: Insist on a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Here is my honest review - I dont understand some people's comments when they say they had a bad time and had to go home early - some people just cant be pleased! The hotel is brand new, beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. The rooms are very spacious with stunning sea views. The staff are the best i have ever come across on any holiday i have been on; they are always smiling and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The food is fantastic always something for everyone. I do agree that some of the themed restaurants may not serve the most authentic food that you may find in the respective cuisine's home countries but nevertheless the food is always of great quality and is very tasty! Agreed the a la carte booking system isnt the best but if you experiemce any problems you should take the time to speak nicely to a restaurant manager; they will always do their best to accommodate you. The alcohol is truly fantastic; perhaps some spirits are local but of course to be expected! The wine is excellent, not from a bag under the counter at all! There is a lot of variety and none of our party had any complaints with the beer! Perhaps the pool should have been a better layout so all sunbeds could be poolside but that really is only a minor fault. The beach is stony and personally i prefer a sandy beach but the water is perfect - beautifully clean and clear. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and if you have booked here you are in for a treat!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tripadvicejs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Its all about what your expectations are with this hotel. If you are used to staying in v good 4 and 5 star hotels......you will be disappointed. Sorry but that's my honest opinion. I stayed for a week from 5 to 12 June. The pricing is good because this is the opening of the hotel but this brings disadvantages.....it's full of people who are easily impressed.

The clientele is predominantly eastern European, probably 50% plus but feels like more. Almost entirely Russian. Not a charming bunch I'm afraid and obviously not used to ethnic diversity. Be prepared to be pointed and stared at if you are not white (seriously).

As for the food and drink which is much hyped (mainly by the hotel), this is where the problems really lie. The restaurants are very similar in cooking style, we found the Asian best followed by Pitta Corner for lunch. The Italian and Mexican restaurants were not great. The booking system for the hotel restaurants is definitely the worst I have ever encountered. There is one screen in the basement where every guest has to try and book the restaurants. The user experience is awful. No idea what they are trying to do but it's not working and no wonder every guest complains about it.

The drinks were also really poor. The restaurant wine is bottled and Greek. It's drinkable but only just. In the bars the spirits are local (forget all this nonsense about "ask for Gordons"...they now don't have premium drinks). The only beer is the local Rodos lager. The wine is served from a wine box below the counter. You can guess how terrible this is!

The "champagne" bar and the wine bar are better than the other bars but unfortunately the quality of produce is terrible. This is not Champagne. It's Greek sparkling wine and it is shocking. When was the last time you bought Greek sparkling wine? Says it all.

The hotel is stunning to look at and the Greek staff are amazing. But as I said at the beginning it's all about expectations. I was incredibly disappointed by the hotel and I would never return. In fact we left early and booked a Ryanair flight just to get home.

Get a very cheap deal and leave your expectations at home would be my advice. Be very careful though if you are used to quality hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Oak, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

The Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa is a brand new hotel set on the beach on the outskirts of Faliraki, Rhodes.
Upon entering the hotel it looks grand and modern as do the rooms and restaurants. We loved the comfort and elegant style of the rooms, the only down side was the balcony sliding door which was very stiff and after a week of opening caused a back strain. The staff were very helpful and the maintenance staff tried their best to correct the problem, however I think the problem was with the installation and the installers were to be called back to correct it! Speaking to other guests it would appear that this was a common problem.

The hotel has 8 restaurants/eating areas, the main restaurant does buffet style dining, however we mostly enjoyed a combination of the Asian & Sushi or the Greek/Ouzo & Meze restaurants as the food was great as were the staff.

The main pool was disappointing in as much that it was the same depth all over, at a depth of 1500mm it was great if you were a confident swimmer, however if you are only 5ft 4ins and a poor swimmer then the only option is the children’s pool as the sea gets deep very quickly!

The hotel has a policy of NOT reserving the sun beds, however we found that all the beds in the best areas were covered with towels from before breakfast and only a few were actually used before lunch time, unfortunately the hotel reception staff were unable to do anything about the situation and in fact encouraged us to do the same (my wife is in a wheelchair which makes it difficult to hunt down a sun bed with a parasol). I must say that the hotel staff did everything they could to assist and nothing was too much trouble.

Our overall comments are that this is a great hotel with loads of potential, it is disabled and family friendly and all the staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank techphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faliraki
0.1 mi away
Elysium Resort & Spa
Elysium Resort & Spa
#1 of 20 in Kallithea
1,586 reviews
4.1 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,663 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mitsis Faliraki Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.8 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
0.2 mi away
Rodos Palladium
Rodos Palladium
#3 of 20 in Kallithea
1,388 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pegasos Beach Hotel
Pegasos Beach Hotel
#3 of 72 in Faliraki
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa

Property: Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa
Address: 8th Km Rhodes-Faliraki, Faliraki 851 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Faliraki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Faliraki
#1 Luxury Hotel in Faliraki
#1 Spa Hotel in Faliraki
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Faliraki
#2 Romantic Hotel in Faliraki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alila Resort & Spa, Member of Mitsis Premium Collection, opened in May 2013, offering true 5* star services on one of Greece’s most popular islands, Rhodes. Rhodes, the jewel in the Dodecanese crown, combines all that is needed in a holiday island: beaches, nightlife, culture, scenery, greenery and comfort. Our approach is lifestyle oriented, modern and fresh. We aspire to values such as genuine Mediterranean hospitality, an authentic Greek isle experience and exceptional cuisine focus on Mediterranean, International and Asian traditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa Faliraki, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing