We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay but a couple of issues to be aware of”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 70 Hotels in Faliraki
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent stay but a couple of issues to be aware of”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We booked the Alilia on a recommendation end of Sept. Beautiful, impressive hotel. But sadly upon arrival at around 23.30, we were informed that the hotel was over booked by 27 rooms, (this appears to be a regular occurrence) there were already people in the reception kicking off over this and refusing to be moved for the night, they offered us a room at an alternative hotel in nearby Faliraki. Assuring us it was a nice one, as we were tired we agreed, but not before finding out what compo they were offering. (we got a letter offering us a free room upgrade, guaranteed late check-out and one days free hire car, As we had planned on hiring a car we were happy). We were taken by one of the hotel security staff in a hotel car to the Apollo Blue (Sentido spa & resort), which was of an equal star rating and given their A/I band to use. Our room there large, clean, modern. Not a problem.
We were picked up the next day around 10am after having a champagne breakfast and taken back to the Alila, where we eventually got our room. Rest of the week we had no problems. Staff friendly, over worked but helpful. Facilities great, lovely restaurants, Bars etc. Downside, small pool area, pool freezing, stony beach and the usual problem of too many rude, arrogant, bad mannered Russians.
Would go again next year, but will be reading all reviews closely before making a decision as it appears that standards have slipped a bit since opening in May.
Rhodes is an amazing island, Would recommend hiring a car to see the full island. (Take your driving license)

Room Tip: Book a sea view on the higher floors,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Caldewtod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,142
    173
    72
    25
    6
See reviews for
586
550
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Had a 5 night break here from 26th October. Myself and my daughter (18) were originally booked into another Mitsis hotel but a few days before travel we were advised that we had been transferred to the Alila as our hotel was closing early. On arrival we were thrilled at the opulence of this beautiful hotel. The room was really large and gorgeous with a view overlooking the sea, a fully stocked fridge that was refilled every day, bath robes and slippers. The shower was really warm and powerful.
Everything about this hotel is stunning, its like something out of a magazine. The food is fabulous in the main restaurant and we tried the Italian which was lovely, special mention to the lovely waitress there Antonia. The young lady in the champagne bar made us feel welcome every night and was always smiling.
All the staff were lovely and eager to please, nothing seemed too much trouble. The grounds are immaculate with very comfy sun loungers with thick mattresses.
Only down side was the pool was absolutely freezing. We will definitely look at returning to this hotel early next year

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jane-c9bailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Mitsis Alila few in October. We were two families with 4 kids. The first dissapointment was that there were no aerobics, and lazy animation team that did basically nothing.

One day I went to back to the hotel room at noon and found two staff members in my room that were not suppose to be there. I asked reception manager explanation but she never bothered to give one.

The day we were leaving hotel, one guest got crazy at the reception and tried to throw phones, statues and everything around, and we tried to get our kids to safe. The staff could not guarantee the safety of the guests and kids got really scared. We were waiting for a airport transportation, and did not have anywhere that we could go to. After 40 minutes police came, but at that time we managed to go to the bus. Also ambulance arrived, do not know what happened.

I said to the staff member that you have severe security problem in the hotel, because of this incident and also that I found staff members in the room that were not suppose to be there ( man and a woman). She said, that they already fired those ones. No-one bothered to give me explanation. Even I asked hotel director to give me one.

I could not leave teenager kids unattended at any of the times, not even into our room. The hotel has severe security problem, and I recommend that families with kids should avoid this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
15 Thank FamilyA192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I made a short visit to Alila in August and I have to say I was impressed with the hotel. I know most of the Mitsis hotels, but this one is something totally different. It has a bit of Antalya's luxury and opulence, restrained in just black, white and silver. The rooms are Mitsis size (=very big to huge) and the decoration will truly satisfy those who look for a "shiny" stay and are not happy with a minimalist or traditional type of hotel.
The restaurants are amazing, as are the wines and champagne served in the included bars.
And the beach is very good, sandy, wide, with lots of sunbeds (enough for everyone). You can also stay on the grass , around the pool (also very big).

Room Tip: I would choose it for a couple only stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Serenity23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Just came back from ten days in the mitsis, I must say we were that impressed we have already booked to go back next may,from the minute we walked into the hotel everything had the wow factor, our rooms were beautiful, the food was excellent, the staff were outstanding, a special mention to the girls in the wine bar and the champagne bar, also like to mention the two boys who worked in the night bar, nothing was too much trouble for them, only downfall on the holiday was the pool was freezing, and the grumpy towel man

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view but most rooms do have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank faytherave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariehamn, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

When we were about to check in at Alila resort the hotel was overbooked. We booked the hotel seven months ago, but they told us that they had a large group and that they had to move us and several other families to another hotel nearby. We were moved to a nice hotel the Palladium, but that hotel did not have an all-inclusive concept. We could still use Alilas all-inclusive concept but we had to go there if we wanted something to drink for the children for example. The Alila hotel was new and fresh, but the sound-level in the main restaurant was too high, the pool-area was too tiny and some of the staff was not very nice. We tried several restaurants at the hotel and they were okay, not more than that. I will not book this hotel again and I can´t recommend it either because there is a risk that you might have to stay at another hotel if more important guests need your room. Our stay was great, thanks to the Palladium hotel, the staff there was very nice.

Room Tip: Book another hotel if you want to be sure to get what you have paid for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JonnaA73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baghdad, Iraq
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

On arival to this stunning hotel we couldnt belive our luck ! As the coach driver called out the name of the hotel most of the people on the coach looked at each other in total disbelive ! Due to my wife and he brothers disablilities we upgraded to the larger rooms but in fairness all the rooms were beautiful.
It was my Brother in laws first holiday and he said he wished he hadnt have gone as he will never find a hotel that compares with it !
The food was as others had said best in the Asian but the noraml buffet was right up there with the best Ive had. The staff couldnt do enough for the guests and they did it with smiles on their faces. I couldnt fault any of them.
Yes the beach is a bit stoney( cant blame the hotel for that ), but with a cheap pair of beach shoes it is ok.But other than that I have no complaints.( even the Russians werent too much of a pain which is a first )!.The highlight of the week was the wine and cava bar which hasnt a great deal to offer but it was a nice way to spend the evening. My wifes favourite was the Greek Gyros bar ( she mustve had at least two a day ) !!
They could do with using the space that the beautican has to a little better use as its a dead space, maybe open the gym up a little ?
With luck we will be going back next year for two weeks Well done to all the staff .

Room Tip: First floor rooms are slightly noisy as the seem to put the people with children there. You definate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faliraki
2.3 mi away
Mitsis Faliraki Beach Hotel
4.1 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 127 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,464 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elysium Resort & Spa
Elysium Resort & Spa
#1 of 15 in Kallithea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rodos Palladium
Rodos Palladium
#3 of 15 in Kallithea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
25.7 mi away
Princess Andriana Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Pegasos Beach Hotel
Pegasos Beach Hotel
#3 of 70 in Faliraki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa

Property: Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa
Address: 8th Km Rhodes-Faliraki, Faliraki 851 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Faliraki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Faliraki
#1 Spa Hotel in Faliraki
#1 Luxury Hotel in Faliraki
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Faliraki
#2 Romantic Hotel in Faliraki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The largest privately owned hotel chain in Greece, Mitsis Hotels is proud to present the MITSIS ALILA EXCLUSIVE RESORT and SPA, part of Premium Mitsis Collection. ALILA EXCLUSIVE RESORT and SPA offers true 5 star ultra all inclusive services on one of Greece s most popular islands, Rhodes. Rhodes (ro-dos in Greek) is the jewel in the Dodecanese crown. It combines all that is needed in a holiday island: beaches, nightlife, culture, scenery, greenery and comfort. Our approach is life style oriented, modern and fresh. We aspire to values such as genuine Mediterranean hospitality, an authentic Greek isle experience and exceptional cuisine focus on Mediterranean, International and Asian traditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa Faliraki, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing